We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Two things make this hotel stand out! Location and the outstanding young man who managed the valet parking, unfortunately I can't remember his name. The location is perfect, it is close to the Viaduct and all other amenities. The valet guys in General were immensely helpful, courteous and very efficient. The rooms were ok.... Decor is a little dated, however roomy and comfortable. We really enjoyed our two nights in Auckland!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DiverTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear DiverTina

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,444 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived ready to rest up but didn't really expect the first hour or so to be spent in the lobby. Apparently housekeeping didn't have our room ready.
After a bit of persistence from my wife we were finally given 'another' room.
Good facilities with a gym ( not used) but the pool was good. Room service good but we never got hooked up for on demand movies.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitsiraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Mitsiraider,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

Sincere apologies for the time it took to prepare your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were welcomed and helped inside the moment we arrived by a smiling pair of concierge staff. (kelly and Arie) They even waited patiently while we stared at the hub-bub of the Lobby, Lobby bar, two restaurants, and reception, all nestled amongst columns and Christmas decorations. Very impressive.
We dined in K.o.A, the Lobby restaurant, for dinner, after bubbles at the lobby bar. The food was delightful, and between Hanish, from the restaurant, and Sean at the bar, the service was so great that my partner splurted out, and quite loudly too, 'I love the people here!' A little embarrassing, but it summed up our stay pretty well.
Our bedroom was large and comfortable, though some of the furniture had seen better days. The mini bar was a little pricey for us and we laughed at the ten dollar bottle of water next to the bed. (there is free bottled water in the bathroom however.)
All up, a lovely stay with everything we could hope for including a pool, spa, and gym. However it was the smiling staff and great service that made this such a treat for us.

Room Tip: We had a room on the tenth floor and we couldn't hear a thing from outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Eillam,

Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor, I am delighted you and your partner had a lovely stay made even more special by our team's service.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked a package that included breakfast. Our stay was brilliant, the room, service and breakfast were just great. The location is great as well.The Stanford Plaza is now on our list of places to stay in Auckland

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunstruck53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Sunstruck53,

Thank you for the fantastic review on TripAdvisor, I am pleased you had a brilliant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon especially now that we are on your list.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We two days off in Auckland a couple of weeks before the Christmas rush and our holiday to North Queensland!
What a fantastic hotel. Our staff hotel is usually different and this was a great surprise for us! Loved it.

Room Tip: everything is so good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihailboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Mihailboy89,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and in particular you enjoyed the service of our staff.

I trust you had a safe trip back home to Melbourne.

Stamford Plaza team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Just got back from Christmas Eve / Christmas Day at the Stamford Plaza. We got a deal for the two nights that included free breakfast and WiFi. The superior room was great - nice big comfy King bed and bathroom was big with a bath and shower. Quality of the towels in the bathroom was great - big, soft white and very fluffy !! The buffet breakfast on Christmas morning was great - the room was nicely decorated and added Christmas treats to eat. The buffet breakfast is one of the best you will get in Auckland. The service was excellent, it was quite busy but the chefs managed with extra orders etc. Staff at this hotel are always polished professionals - very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The Concierge service for valet parking is top notch - I got gently guided out of the car with a helping hand for our bags. I would highly recommend any package deal here that includes the free breakfast and WiFi. All in All a fabulous Christmas stay and we will certainly consider it again for another year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHuttleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Happy Huttleys,

Thank you for the fantastic review on TripAdvisor, I am delighted you had an excellent stay and enjoyed the Christmas treats we had prepared for the occasion.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I recently booked their romance package as it was our anniversary and I wanted to give my wife a treat.

The package included a superior room, and lots of little romantic touches, such as rose petals scattered in the bath and on the bed in a heart shape, 2 big fluffy bathrobes, a bottle of Moet on ice, a boxed bottle of wine with a personalised message on the lable, 2 plates of petit fours, and lots of candles to set a romantic atmosphere.

The real icing on the cake, was that they gave us a complimentary room upgrade to a one bedroom suite. This would normally have been twice the price. it was a lovely gesture, presumably because they had picked up that it was our 10th anniversary from the message I asked them to put on the wine bottle.

The package included breakfast and also had the benefit of a 3pm checkout and complimentary valet parking.

All in all our stay was very enjoyable and I may be a bit biased, given our star treatment, but I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Their thoughtful service and quality was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Steve E,

Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor, I am delighted we acknowledged your 10th wedding anniversary and helped to make this moment a little more special for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $151 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing