We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waihi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay for one night.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza for one night after a trip to Sydney. The hotel staff were very warm in their greeting and very helpful with the luggage. The room was spotless, very large and included a separate bath, excellent shower and a separate toilet room. The room was spotless and was exceptionally well presented. The bed was very comfortable and huge!!!!! There was a good supply of TV channels to watch and the storage was more than adequate. Breakfast was included in our deal and was excellent. There were lots of choices and the food was fresh and well presented - breakfast staff were efficient and greeted us with a smile. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: This hotel is well positioned to the Viaduct and the bottom of Queen Street and is easily accessed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear rosscooper

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and your recommendation to other users of our property.

Here at Stamford Plaza Auckland, we take great pride in delivering expetional guest experience so I am very pleased to read you have found our team helpful, warm in their greeting, efficient and with a smile.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    691
    269
    101
    62
See reviews for
236
881
119
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Stamford is only a block up from the Quay and has easy access to everything central. Britomart (for transport), ferry services, Sky City Casino, the Viaduct Basin - all are only a 5 to 10 minute stroll in varying directions to get to. We made the most of the proximity and strolled the Viaduct basin.
We stayed for only one night on a coupon special. I wish I had stayed longer now!
The standard of accommodation was very high, the room was immaculate, the bathroom was impeccably clean and there was a mini bar available if required. We didn't utilise this as the prices were rather 'top end' however if you are looking for something urgently and can't be bothered going out to find it then it is available.
There was a great 'Auckland info' booklet on the table in the room and we used some of the recommendations from this during our stay. There is restaurant/bar/room service available in-house and although we didn't use these they are easily accessible.
The staff at the Stamford were fabulous, friendly, professional and very obliging. The concierge, Kelly the bellhop and the young, blonde valet man especially. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Kerry C,

Many thanks for your recent Trip Advisor review of Stamford Plaza Auckland

I am delighted to read you found the location of our property handy to Auckland's main tourist attractions and also very pleased our team looked after you in particular Kelly from our Concierge team. I have ensured your feedback has been passed on.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon, and hopefully next time you can stay longer indeed.

Best regards

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We saw a package advertised in the NZ Herald and booked.
The service at the reception and door area was very friendly and professional, all the staff were smiling and greeted us when we walked past.
While we stayed we used the pool and sauna, the pool and spa had a nice view and was very relaxing. We had a cocktail Singapore Sling in the lobby bar before dinner, was so good we had another.
Our room was very comfortable, bathroom was very nice all marble large size and had a separate bath and shower.
Cleanliness was excellant.
Last but not least was the buffet breakfast, great selection here, best breakfast I have had in a long time. Will be on the look out for future packages, a great getaway in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Yvie50,

Thank you for taking your time to review Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I am pleased you were looked after by our professional staff and enjoyed the facilities we have to offer.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wonderful kiwiana hospitality. Turning up early was no problem as room was ready. Clean spacious room. Very handy to shopping and other amenities. Conference room was great and the Thai Restaurant I would totally recommend.
By

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Wenda P,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. I appreciate you taking your time to review our property.

I am delighted to read your had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the kiwiana hospitality of our team.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
352 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Our experience from valet parking to concierge to reception was exceptional. We had no problems whatsoever. Did have an issue with a wallet left in the taxi that dropped us off, and the support and assistance extended to us was fantastic. If the hotel wants to a true 5 star establishment, there is some work to be done in the rooms. They are getting tired and the little things are getting noticeable. I see from another review that there is an indication of a refurbishment, which would be welcome. Great location, great service. Overall, not bad at all.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assitant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Pedro NP,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. I appreciate you taking your time to review our property.

I have shared your wonderful feedback about service you received with the rest of our team, in particular the Concierge team who assisted you with the item left behind in a taxi.

As we embark in the refurbishment of our hotel rooms, Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfield, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My Daughter and I stayed at the Stamford Plaza last weekend. We arrived really early and it was really good to have our room ready as soon as we arrived. Our room was plenty big enough for us, and we had a really big bathroom with a separate bath and shower, we also had a separate toilet. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Value for money was excellent as we had a mystery Wotif deal. We were on the 4th floor which did mean we did hear a little bit of street noise. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assitant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Vanessa929

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. We appreciate you taking your time to review our property.

I am delighted to read your had a wonderful mother daughted weekend, the Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Where do I start ? It is the middle of winter aircon does not heat up , no electric blanket on bed, two semi white towels for two adults - stingy, cupboard doors falling off , and iron leaks water everywhere. Buffet breakfast absolute rubbish - scambled eggs out of a bag, cold food - should have stayed at home

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plummerlouise40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear 'plummerluise'

I am deeply disappointed to read your recent review and I welcome you to contact me directly with your stay details so I can have the opportunity to investigate further and provide you a detailed response.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing