We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Good Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in June on a Wotif deal. Found it quite a good hotel, one we might return to, but not an excellent hotel. Reception staff were efficient, but not really warm or welcoming. The facilities are good. The restaurant is adequate and the restaurant staff excellent, but the Japanese restaurant next door is very noisy. Prices are high. The lobby bar and staff are very good, but care needs to be taken in choosing a seat as the lobby isn't the warmest. Our rooms were of good size and all we expected. No problems with housekeeping. All in all yes, we will return, it is a good property, but wouldn't want to pay full prices and wouldn't stay if no deals available.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barney320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Barney320

Thank you for your fair and balanced review of our property after your recent stay.

I am happy to read you had a pleasant stay, and that we are a property you would return too. I understand your comment about the Japanese Restaurant however given the nature of the venue it does lend itself to being a little raucous, especially when chef's are shooting cooked egg into guests mouths, check it out next time it a fantastic way to eat.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back some time in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    688
    269
    100
    62
See reviews for
236
881
119
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My partner and I have just had a lovely night away and stayed at The Stamford Plaza in Auckland. We were upgraded to a superior room on the 10th floor and it was lovely. Everything was nice and clean and views of the Harbour Bridge. The bed was soooo comfortable and the shower was great. A handy location and only a 5min walk to the Viaduct. The concierge was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for them. Had an awesome buffet breakfast as well, everything nice and hot. We used the pool facilities, sauna and spa, all very nice. Will stay here again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Blondy40

I am so very happy to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us.

Your lovely positive feedback is greatly appreciate and I have passed on congratulations to the concierge team who obviously went above and beyond for you.

out location is second to none in Auckland and pride ourselves on being able to back that up with a fantastic inner city experience.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed a Night on the Town package recently. I was impressed by the friendly yet appropriately formal welcome we received from the valet parking attendants and the check-in staff. This was reinforced by good service from the concierge when I called about a party in the room next to us about 3am! I wish I had called earlier because there was 'silence' within five minutes of my call!
Our room was on the tenth floor, with a glimpse of the harbour, spacious with a luxurious bed and bathroom. Breakfast time was busy and the service a little slow, but there was a good selection of food to choose from. This hotel is in easy walking distance to movies, restaurants or the Viaduct precinct and harbour. All in all a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Elad24

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I am happy to read you had such a pleasant experience, other than the party next door, happy to read took care of that forthwith. Next time please feel free to make contact straight away, we like ALL of our guests to have a relaxed stay and always shut down anything that may effect another guests stay with us.

Our hotels location is second to none in Auckland and I am glad to read you obviously took advantage of the fact it is so close to the cities major attractions.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The third time we have stayed here this year and it will be the last ever, even though we had a nicer room on the 9th floor all night you hear revellers going up down the street outside, until 7am....
No paper when requested, no spare toilet paper, thin towels, ( and only one each....) the staff seem uninterested and the wait to be served in the bar was slow. Plenty of other nicer ones around, check them out before booking here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Kiwiguests,

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

Your concerns have been noted, the areas concerned are being looked into to ensure we can make improvements and continue to raise the level of both service and product for the property.

Regarding noise, we are in contact with the local council regarding some of the rowdier guests from some of the bars and clubs nearby, this will enable all of our guests to have a relaxed & peaceful stay in the heart of the bustling city.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We found this hotel to be set up for large tour groups or conferences and did not enjoy our stay there. There was only one person working the desk at all times, no concierge help and most importantly there really isn't a lobby in this hotel. The only real lobby is the bar/restaurant - which does make for any inviting place to sit and wait for someone or just relax.

The bathroom in our room really needed some care (even though it may have been recently updated).. the sink was dirty when we checked in and there was rust on some fixtures.

The map of the city center provided to us by the hotel was totally useless - we finally had to go to iSite to get a useful map.

We would not choose this hotel again, when there are many competing hotels in this downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Nola404

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

In regards to the bathroom you will be happy to hear that we are doing an extensive refreshments of the hotel this year as we are aware that it's time for some improvements.

In regards to the map, I am a little confused as the one I have from our front desk is very informative, both in regards to the CBD and the wider Auckland area, it points out all the major city attractions, I find it very extensive in its level of information.

It would be great to see you back to experience our new refurbished hotel in the future sometime.

Thank you again
Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great hotel with an excellent location for theatres, the harbour, central Auckland, Vector arena etc.
Try the upgrade option room..nice!
Both restaurants in the Hotel are excellent, especially the Grasshopper.
Highly recommended Auckland hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulwell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Bulwell13

I am so happy to read that your stay with us was so enjoyable.

It's great to read you took advantage of our fantastic room upgrade and obviously took advantage of our one of a kind city location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

this deal was great value for money, but at the hotel's standard rate it would be expensive; rooms, especially bathrooms (separate toilet and shower, marble) are well equipped., Older style timber furniture set a nice ambience, which I like personally; an additional wardrobe at the entrance, with umbrellas, lighting inside wardrobes was appreciated. bed was comfortable. the furniture had some wear and tear but was acceptable and I would not change it! The lobby bar was comfortable , and seemed to have a few patrons. Breakfast was very overpriced so we did not partake. Why do large hotels charge so much for breakfast? I notice they had very few people there the 2 mornings I looked. The grasshopper restaurant within the establishment was very good food, nice atmosphere. Pity no free wifi in rooms. Reception staff were helpful, booked shuttle for us to airport.

Room Tip: street side toward harbour end best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Piptrip

Thank you for your fantastic feedback.

You will be happy to hear the we will be undergoing a refurbishment of our rooms this year so that wear and tear you mention will be taken care of, however we will maintaining that comfortable warm sense you get at the Stamford Plaza.

I have taken your comments regarding the breakfast to the F&B Manager and we will look into pricing and make sure we are competitive within in our market.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback.

kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing