We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The last time I stayed in this hotel was about 15 years ago when it was a Regent Hotel-in those days relatively new and very smart.This time it had lost some of its allure but was still very comfortable with a large marble bathroom with bath and shower and a separate toilet-a relative rarity even in 5 star hotels.We also appreciated the magnifying glass next to the basin.
However we were not so impressed with the restaurant-breakfast was a very crowded time with a number of items not being replenished quickly enough and selection only being average for this standard of hotel.Our evening meal was even more disappointing-not many diners but very slow service and only average food.The speciality restaurants were not open that night but hopefully are much better.
Unfortunately the valet parking attendant managed to scrape the front right hand side of my car against an unforgiving wall but I was most impressed with the way this was handled by the assistant manager.
We enjoyed our stay especially the easter package deal but wouln't be prepared to pay the usual room rate for a hotel that is nearing the time when refurbishment will need to happen.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better,preferably facing Albert St. looking down towards the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Robert

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.

You will be happy to hear that we currently run a free in room wi-fi campaign and that the hotel will be under going refurbishment shorty to iron out those parts of the hotel that could do with an upgrade.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast which I have escalated to our executive chef and management team for review. I am saddened to read your car was damaged but happy it was dealt with in a manner that met your expectation.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 2,235 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last year. An appalling experience, food was terrible, Special Asian Singapore Buffet evening. Breakfast was a disaster. I asked for poached eggs which I do in every hotel I stay at. They arrived looking like bullets!! My husband cut into his and the yoke shot across the table and all over his black trousers. Fortunately I was prepared!! The wait staff were not very helpful, patted him down with a napkin and that was it. First time ever had poached eggs cooked in microwave in any hotel let alone supposedly 5 star. We paid extra for an upgrade room, very tired and T.V. and other facilties very poor. Couldn't get out quick enough, and a couple of days later an email asking how our stay was, wasn't going to complain, just don't go back. This time I sent an email to the Manager and gave them the lowdown on the treatment we had received - didn't even have the courtesy of a reply, think that says it all!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Gill B

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

You will be happy to hear the we will be undergoing an extensive refurbishment of the hotel to upgrade a number of areas of our property including the guests rooms.
Your comments regarding service have been escalated to our Head of Operations to review our and make procedural changes if necessary and see where improvements can be made to ensure all of our guests receive 5 star service.
I would warmly welcome you back to experience our new and improved property.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Stamford Plaza Auckland has plenty going for it: a central location, friendly service, and decent bathrooms (slippers provided; L'Occitane amenities). However, its strengths don't cover its fundamental issue, which is that its age is showing. The whole aesthetic - old carpets, tired rooms with ancient cupboards, traditional sheets rather than thick duvets - shouts out that its time for a refurbishment. It's a decent place to stay, especially if on business, but not more beyond that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear William_N

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.

You will be happy to hear that the hotel will be undergoing an extensive refurbishment starting in July, so hopefully those issues regarding the aesthetic are vanished in tome for your nest stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location, walking distance to most good scenes in Auckland, great service, we checked out at around 9 am, but they still offer us free luggage keeping till 5pm, that is really thoughtful for tourists. The decor inside is kind of old but very tidy and clean, all facilities are nice and convenience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leederomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear leederomeo

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.


Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is value for money, centrally located, abt 3 blocks from Quay St. It is an uphill walk to Sky City area and double the walking time of everything the concierge tells you, 5 mins would be 10 mins. Check in was fast and concierges was friendly. The hotel rooms have been updated, large room and bathroom. Love the auto bathroom lights and bulletin board in the room. They give you complimentary bottled water which was nice. We got a street/office building view room, while you can hear the cars outside it’s not so noisy you can’t sleep. When we came back late after dinner there were a few bums around the area and a few abandoned buildings across the street. Complimentary 30mins wifi in the lobby. The airport is about 30mins to the hotel. The hotel also has set fares with cooptaxi for NZD62 (to airport) and NZD67 (fr airport) which is really nice, otherwise it was about NZD80.

If you are looking for breakfast, check out Else on Imperial Lane for great coffee (small lane perpendicular to Queen St) and they have free wifi, or Federal and Wolfe across the street by the alley from the hotel (closed Sundays).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amazingrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear amazingrice.

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.


Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Stamford after leaving a cruise. It is well located, easy to get to from Princes' Pier, close to downtown and close to the ferries. The hotel is spotless, service excellent (they have wi-fi in the business center), and the staff very courteous. Good restaurants and coffee shops nearby.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellercanada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear travellercanada2

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.


Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Only spent one night here but we'll be back next time we're in Auckland for a longer stay.
Friendy and efficient valet parking. Really nice, clean room.
Reception staff welcoming and efficient. No trouble for them to keep our bags for a couple of hours while we went out for a brunch around check out time.
Didn't eat in the hotel other than to have a coffee and cake in the hotel lobby - both very good.
There was a "Mad Hatters" tea party over the Easter weekend when we stayed and that offered some fun and colour to the lobby area.
Location is great - close to Viaduct as well as Britomart precint - 5 minute walk.
Recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordontravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Gordontravel_13

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.

Our Mad hatters Tea Party was a very busy weekend, and it is great to hear that this was not a hindrance to your stay and actually gave you something to smile about.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $142 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing