We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the moment we checked-in the hotel was on call for us. Great job by porters. Definitely coming back again. Impressed as always. Stayed and received a free breakfast buffet. Quality was excellent. Free parking was given to us on the day and the room service was super quick. It is alot cheaper than many hotels in Auckland even though it is 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi Pilmer,

We're very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We're particularly happy to hear that our Concierge team and Room Service team was able to provide such efficient and friendly service to you and your friends throughout your stay.

Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    688
    269
    101
    62
See reviews for
236
881
119
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was really sad after staying many times at the hotel that I found that the stay this time round was really disappointing.
The room wasn't clean,there was dirt on most surfaces,and there was no bathtub which I assume that we were put in a disability room for which we did not request.
The breakfast service was among the worst I have ever experienced on this stay.The breakfast waitress "Laura" bypassed our table numerous times without offering coffee.I repeatedly had to ask her for one cup of coffee,and then had to chase her up for a second which never arrived.The breakfast area at that time was not busy(around 8am)so I would assume that service would be attentive.Her casual and dismissive attitude left alot to be desired.
The tall island man at the concierge desk "Nu" was the only saving grace being most helpful when asking for dining options around the area ..

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that isnt disabilty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for offering such honest feedback on your most recent stay with us.

We are very concerned to learn that after coming back to stay with us regularly, you found your most recent stay so disappointing, especially when compared to your many previous visits.

There is no excuse for this and I would assure you that the issues raised are being addressed most seriously so as to prevent a repetition.

I do hope that you will view these as isolated lapses and that we will have the opportunity to redeem ourselves on a future occasion.

Should you decide to give us another chance, please contact me personally on (09) 309 888 so that I can ensure we make the appropriate arrangements.

On a positive note, we appreciate the comments made about Nu and he has been commended for the service that he gave.

Best regards,
Peter Gee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here just for 1 night as part of a lastminute 'mystery' 5-star city hotel stay in Auckland. Room rate was NZD149. In general, an unimpressive hotel that is in need of a facelift. Booked elsewhere for the following night (see my review of Hotel DeBrett).

PROS:
- Central location perfect for exploring the Viaduct and Britomart areas of Auckland.

CONS:
- No assistance offered by staff when approaching hotel foyer with large amount of luggage.
- Dated room furniture and carpet.
- Poor sound insulation on windows (could easily hear noise from the street in the middle of the night).
- Shower head not suitable for people taller than 6 foot.
- Cracked mirror in bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi neb,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

We're glad that our location allowed you to explore the Viaduct and Britomart areas easily and we hope that you enjoyed yourself sampling the sights and sounds of downtown Auckland city.

We are disappointed that our Concierge staff were not more attentive in assisting with your luggage when you arrived and assure you that this issue has been taken very seriously by our Rooms Division Manager and Chief Concierge.

As you may have read in previous responses, our hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment plans in our accommodation rooms and we will strive to take all of your feedback into consideration when finalising our plans.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again after our refurbishment is complete in order to fully experience what our hotel is able to offer.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I stayed there this year and I was more impressed this time. I have a feeling they are reading these reviews.
The staff as always are always very friendly and helpful. As soon as I arrived until I left they were always available and courteous. The room service food was very good and so was breakfast with a great selection each morning.
The room although a little dated in some cases were very clean and tidy and comfortable. I wasn't asked if I would like the morning paper which might have been an over sight but there were always plenty available at breakfast.

Overall a great experience and would recommend this hotel to others.

Special note. Love the organic, natural French soap and shampoos. Good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMIR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi SAMIR74,

It's always lovely to hear from return guests - even more so when the feedback you have provided is of such an enjoyable experience with us again.

We definitely do read each and every review posted and take it upon ourselves to either use them to encourage our staff to continue the good work and their passion for work at our hotel or to improve on the areas that our guests have so carefully pointed out to us.

Thank you for your great comments about our team's service and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the food on offer for our in-room dining and at buffet breakfast in Knights On Albert as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for your third stay with us.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a three night 'child free' getaway. We arrived very late at night and were not greeted at all. We carried our own bags into the hotel only to find the desk deserted. A young porter saw us and went and found someone to book us in. We were on the 6th floor on the Skytower side. It was quite noisy the first night with lots of young people out on the street, when we asked about moving up to a higher floor we were refused.

The room was nice and the bed comfy. We took advantage of the pillow menu but unfortunately house keeping took them back when they made up the room.

Breakfast was nice with everything you'd expect. i watched one of the cooks take two poached eggs out of the boiling water and place them on a tea towel, he gently placed them onto a plate and then tucked the tea towel back into the top of his trousers...eww!

We came and went from the hotel for three days and felt as though they didn't even know we were there. On the last day we asked about our options to get from the hotel to the airport - the concierge recommended a budget taxi that would only charge us $25 which we thought sounded great so we booked that in. When we got to the airport we were charged $35 (which was still a good deal) - apparently the hotel have their info wrong.

The hotel's location is great, very close to the waterfront, although there is no waterview. The only view is up the street to the skytower.

All in all the hotel provided all we required but just lacked any feel of 'special'.

Room Tip: Sky tower side of the building - higher floors better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gettingaroundyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi gettingaroundyay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us.

We're pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's location and had a comfortable stay in our accommodation room. Great to hear that you took advantage of our Pillow Menu as well!

We are disappointed to learn of our lack of service excellence during your stay. At all of our Stamford Hotels & Resorts properties, our commitment to the highest level of guest service is of utmost importance. We have addressed the issues you have raised with our various departments and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon to experience a far more special atmosphere and stay.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Would not stay there again as the hotel rooms are tired and the building of the apartments above the hotel has ruined what could have been a great hotel once. Desperately needs a facelift.
We used the spa and our swimsuits faded in a 30 mins session in the spa. The hotel denied all liability. Appalling attitude for a 5 star.

Room Tip: Rooms are tired and need upgrading. Also views on the lower floors are terrible . Maybe try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Shyam M,

Thank you for your review as well as for responding to our follow up email and for also bringing your swimming attire into the hotel for inspection.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

As mentioned in our correspondence, both our spa and main pool water are tested twice daily to ensue chemical balance and water quality to be maintained to the New Zealand Standards. Checking our records for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd of October, test results are all well within the recommended levels for Public Swimming Pools.

We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction during your stay with us and again, appreciate your assistance to come to an amicable conclusion to this issue.

Should you decide to give us another chance, please contact me personally on (09) 309 888 so that I can ensure we make the appropriate arrangements.

Best regards,
Peter Gee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Rooms were nice size and very clean. Was lovely to have a separate shower and bath but unfortunate that the water in shower was going from hot to cold. Staff at breakfast were amazing and also the staff we spoke to when we arrived. Unfortunately when checking out the gentleman at reception seemed very hungover (if not still drunk!) which was totally unprofessional. Since everything else went so lovely it would seem unfair to rate the hotel poorly as it was just this one thing that let them down but it was definitely a massive let down and I hope nobody else has to experience this when staying. Otherwise I would recommend the hotel as it was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Sophia C,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our accommodation rooms a comfortable size and clean.

We are however, deeply disturbed about your comments regarding the conduct of the Receptionist that you encountered when you checked out. We have a strict policy regarding staff conduct and are very surprised and disappointed to hear of such a lack in professionalism and service. We would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly on (09) 309 8888 at your earliest convenience so that we can obtain more details to investigate this situation further internally.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we assure you that we will be taking up this matter very seriously.

We appreciate that you have reviewed the rest of your stay accordingly and that you have focused on the positive aspects of your experience with us. We hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Peter Gee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing