We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at the Stamford Plaza in Auckland on 14 July 2012. Great deal - $139.00 included valet parking and beautiful buffet breakfast. Upgraded by lovely staff at front desk to deluxe room. Asked for a quiet room and felt like we had the whole floor to ourselves. Beautiful comfy huge bed and pillows. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Good location. Memorable stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: If you have special requirements then ask. If they don't know they can't provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Hi Sheryl T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We're glad that you were able to take advantage of our recent accommodation deals and that you enjoyed your time staying at our hotel.

It's great that you asked for a quiet room and we were able to ensure that you received the peace and quiet to have a comfortable rest during your stay.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us again very soon Sheryl T.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,759 - 1,765 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for a single night. We have stayed at the Stamford before and found it to be excellent. However this last stay was marred by being on the 6th floor facing the road and hearing the all night revellers fighting and yelling most of the night. It finally stopped about 4.30. We found the bed to be a bit on the firm side for our liking and the choice of 2 pillows was either too high or paper thin.
Our last stay was on the other side of the corridor not facing the road and we found that much better for noise (or lack of it).
The room was clean, tidy and well furnished and the staff pleasant.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing, with the hot food being soggy and overcooked.
Would we stay again - not decided. If we did we would pick our room and go out for breakfast.
We would

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Hi TandaP,

We are disappointed to hear that your most recent stay with us did not reflect the excellent stay that you have had with us in the past.

We definitely hope that you will still come back to stay and if you just mention upon booking or upon check in that you require a quiet room during your stay, we will do our utmost to ensure that you are allocated one to ensure a more comfortable, quiet stay.

We are very glad to hear that you had some positives during your stay though and that our staff were able to make your stay special.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you will allow us to create a more enjoyable experience for you next time.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed at the Stamford Auckland in July 2012 for 3 days for work and I was very happy overall. When I first arrived the conceierge were very helpful in helping to get my luggage out of the taxi and taking them up to my room. Check in was painless and I stayed on the 8th floor. The room was in excellent condition and nothing I cold fault really with the only complaint was the pillows being very soft. I didnt complain thou and then I noticed there was an option for requesting harder pillows but wasn't too concerned. The reason for the 3 stars instead of 5 was for a few points. Firstly there is no free wireless Internet. In 2012 I believe every hotel should be offering this. I have been to many hotels that do offer free Internet and to pay $9 hour or $27 per day is just way too much for something that should be free. The other point was that on one day I returned at 4:30pm and the room was not serviced as yet. This might be an over sight for my room and they did end up providing this service by 5:30 but this is not really good enough. Finally the tv stations available is not really adequate for an international hotel. The are a couple of local tv stations and a couple of cable tv stations but not much to watch really. The positives, they do offer a free bottle of water which all hotels should do, would like to see two but 1 is good. The breakfast being served was very good and for one that only has light breakfasts anyway it was more then sufficient. I never had room service but i did eat once at the restaurant downstairs and it was good. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and although some points above were a little disappointing I would still stay again, so it depends how important the negatives are would determine if you would also stay there.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank SAMIR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hi SAMIR74,

Thank you for leaving such detailled feedback about your most recent stay with us.

We do appreciate that you had a good experience overall and we're very glad to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and our staff friendly, efficient and helpful.

Please note that we do offer free wireless internet in our public areas, such as our Knights Lobby Bar and Knights On Albert Restaurant. We also offer free wireless internet in our Deluxe Rooms, which are located on the 9th and 10th floor.

We do apologise for the lateness in your turndown service on the one day out of your three day stay but our hotel occupancy has been at a record high level especially for the normally quiet month of July, thus our Housekeeping staff have been striving to complete all of the turndown services in our hotel's many rooms as quickly as possible each day.

Lastly, our hotel offers all of the free-to-air channels available on New Zealand television and a selection of cable tv channels that are suitable for younger viewers as well, considering the number of families that often stay with us. We understand that it will always be hard to please all of our guest's subjective tastes in television viewing but we do our best to offer a wide range of sport, movies, news and international channels.

We're very happy that you were able to experience a meal at our Knights On Albert restaurant as well as try out our buffet breakfast and we are encouraged by all of your positive comments regarding your meals with us.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I recently stayed at the Stamford Plaza, whilst up in Auckland on a business trip, and was impressed with the building as I entered the reception/ foyer area. It is well laid out with bar and restaurant facilities close at hand. This was my favourite area as it was modern, clean and inviting, an excellent meeting area before heading out on the town.

The rooms are a slightly different story (I stayed in room 940, I think) and on entering the room was confronted with a notice board on the right wall littered with adverts, menus and other information which was useful, I suppose, but it diluted the grand reception area impression I had of the hotel on first arrival. The room is adequate but in dire need of modernising. The decor is dated and the layout of the room isn't fantastic. In particular, I noted that the leading edge of the in-room desk is very close to the one end of the bed. I discovered how close when bruising my hip during the night when en-route to the bathroom.

The room boasts a large king size bed which was comfortable with plenty of pillows. It has a 32? inch flat screen tv, desk, tea/coffee, mini bar fridge (which is quiet) and all the usual bits and pieces you would expect from a hotel in this price range.

The bathroom in its day would have been rather grand but again it is now a little dated. Having said this it was clean, bright and had both a separate shower and bath (no spa) which was great.

Overall, the customer service was good, the bar area was great, the rooms average (due to dated decor) but couldn't really complain about anything major apart from the length of time it took to check out. If you are in Auckland on business and you need to get away promptly in the morning, I recommend taking care of check out as a priority because the wait can be a long one. It took nearly 25 minuted for check out.

Overall verdict: this is a good hotel that offers good value but some of the rooms are in need of updating. Good central location means great access to waterfront and many of the touristy attractions.

Room Tip: avoid room 940 (it is dated) can't speak for the other rooms though but it may be an idea to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hi stannas,

We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Knights Lobby Bar and Knights On Albert Restaurant area located in our Lobby. This was the last section that we've renovated in the hotel and if you had seen what the area had looked like before, would understand what a huge refurbishment task this had been.

As you may have already read in past reviews, we are currently putting in place plans to refurbish our accommodation rooms to match the modern, elegant public areas in our hotel.

We hope that the next time you come to visit us, you will be able to experience the difference in our hotel.

We would also like to apologise for the wait in your check out service and encourage you to use our express check out service next time you stay with us to speed up the process.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are encouraged that overall, you enjoyed your time with us.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

In Auckland there are limited options for high end accommodation. Stamford Plaza is probably the best all round option. By AKL standards 5 star. By global standards 4 star. Excellent down town location. Good sized rooms and facilities. Service is polite, friendly and informal. Good dining options in the hotel with large thai restaurant, bistro, lobby lounge and japanese teppenyaki. Plenty of cafes and casual dining options nearby including great late night Japanese noodle bar across the road and right near Food Alley which is a Hawker style food centre. 1 minute walk and your on the main street of Auckland. Comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Hi Aussie_traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location in particular and hope that you got a chance to explore the waterfront area that's only five minutes away from our front door as well.

Great to hear that you enjoyed all of the dining options in and around our hotel and that our staff were friendly and polite too.

We hope that you return to stay with us again soon Aussie_traveller.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have a one week break between business in Australia and decided to fly over to Auckland and rent a motorcycle and go zoom zoom. I checked into the Stamford based on a great rate of $132. Checking in was fantastic, super friendly and efficient. They upgraded my room $40 bucks and I got a deluxe room with internet on the top floor.

Everything was great. The internet was super fast, the hotel is beyond clean and everything happens on time. We Americans must have ice and it showed up in less than 5 minutes with a big smile. Elevators were fast, internet was fast, smiles were fast and overall this hotel delivered perfectly; not something that happens often enough. Great value and price. I will recheck in after my hugely wet, stormy nasty trip...it is winter and I hit the brunt of that for sure. Oh, and location is fantastic too..minutes from everything.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and they will make every effort to get it for you. The internet is expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dg3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Hi dg3225,

It's always so uplifting to hear such fantastic comments about our hotel - both product and service and we are incredibly pleased that you enjoyed yourself and were so comfortable staying with us.

Here's hoping we see you again very soon after your adventure!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Booked on Wotif. Have stayed in excellent hotels in USA, Europe, Japan and Asia. This was the best value- not the best hotel but definitely the best value.
The staff was wonderful- the restaurant and bar staff rate with the best of Hong Kong for friendliness and efficiency. The car parking staff was also terrific. Our rental car was parked and waiting for us in the driveway when we signed out.
The two-for-one Tuesday dinner and happy hour in the hotel restaurant and bar were unbelievably good value for money. The standard of the food, particularly, was significantly higher than I expected for hotel food.
Stayed in a deluxe room. Yep - could do with a "freshen up" as the hotel is planning but the bathroom was certainly of excellent standard.
The king bed was two singles pushed together as others have observed. This is the case in many hotels. However, it was very comfortable.
The position of the hotel could not have been better.
We loved it and have no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe rooms which other reviewers have pointed out, and the hotel has agreed, can do wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hi olderfolks,

Your around-the-world trip sounds amazing and we are so pleased that you found our hotel the best value!

We pride ourselves on exceeding our guests expectations and it is very encouraging to hear that we exceeded yours in terms of both service and product, especially in our Knights On Albert restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $147 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing