We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on new years eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, new years eve and new years day...excellent choice.

Being that sky city tower is right next door you barely have to go anywhere, there are plenty of restaurants, clubs/bars, activities(sky jump), spa and even a casino.
On new years eve there was special events/entertainment at sky city which created a fun atmosphere. And despite everything going on around the hotel, once up in our room we couldnt really hear any noise form the street which was great!

Our room was on level 19, no.4 (Luxury King room) and we had an awesome view of the fireworks which came from the sky tower, as well as a great view over the city of firworks from the harbour and other random places.

The room was beautiful, very clean and classy...lovely bathroom - except the toilet seat was a strange shape which was a little uncomfortable.

Buffet breakfast was great, staff were lovely, room service quick.
Definitely recommend! And ask for a high level room...

DO NOT dine at the Peter Gordon restaurant, unless you enjoy paying $50+ for a main the size of your palm. Very snobby waiters.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDEAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,525)
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed two nights at SkyCity Grand and enjoyed it very much. The room was clean, modern and comfy. The bathroom was spotless and well maintained with quality toileteries provided.

The breakfast was excellent with lots of quality options. The service was great too. Being in central Auckland, it was very handy to go around and the valet parking was a bonus.

The only downside was that we were given a room with 2 beds (1 queen & 1 single) which we didn't need. As a result the room felt too crampy for 2 people.

Overall it was a very nice place to stay and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carefree82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed for two nights in November and again for two nights in December. Both stays were with out fault. Meals on site were good and reasonably priced, security between floors was good and incorporated your room key card with the elevator controls. The roof top pool and exercise area were topped off with a large sauna . Al staff were polite and eager to help out with any thing we needed. Location is well suited if you want to shop or use the harbor but this hotel is a distance from the airport if you are just using it for a stop over. The only negative would be the cost of using the internet. Hotels such as this must understand that not everyone is on an expense account and should provide limited free WI FI so that guests can check E Mail etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kincardinepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

First things first - the location is excellent. Its right in the heart of the city, and one could walk to the bay area as well (10 mins). Its easy to find your way back to the hotel, as you only have to track the sky city tower!

The rooms were nice, and the amenities were great. If I remember right, it was cheaper than most other hotels in its star category, and so was value for money as well. We didnt eat at any of the restaurants, but did order from room service once. The food was ok (nothing great) but the surprising part was that they levied a 5% service charge.

The Casino is right in the complex, so it was a positive from that perspective. however, the service was nothing great. We realize that it was peak season and the hotel was full, so the staff may have been quite busy. However, we had made the mistake of not booking a car for our onward journey to Rotoroa and asked the concierge for help. He could not help us much, and finally we had to venture out into the city and book ourselves.

All in all, the hotel was quite nice. Good rooms, good ambiance and excellent location

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We arrived at the sky city Grand on Thursday afternoon. On first impression it was just that - very grand. The service was immaculate from the start to the end. The girls on the desk i found a bit short though they were polite and very busy.

The room was fabulous. Very clean, tidy and the bed was huge. Everything we needed was catered for - and some.

Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Hotel itself was amazing. Our room was clean and tidy with beautiful views. We booked a $209.00 package that included breakfast for two, which was delicious.
Unfortunately upon arrival at the hotel (which was just over an hour later than we had first intended) we had to wait for our room to be cleaned at 4.15pm in the afternoon when we had advised we would be arriving at 3.00pm. I also booked the room online with a debit card (eftpos) which caused so much hassle when it came to paying the bond on the room when we arrived. The man on reception gave the card back to me after a while and proceeded to click through the computer. I stood at reception for 10minutes while he clicked away. My partner then came up to reception and asked if there was a problem and the receptionist said "No I'm just waiting for the deposit," when he had just given my card back to me. Very stressful situation for 4.15pm in the afternoon. When checking out of the hotel, the woman receptionist then gave me my $500.00 bond back in $20.00 notes. That's 25 notes I had to try fit into my wallet. I was glad to get out of there. The staff were very helpful and efficient when we left a bag behind in our room. We phoned the hotel and they retrieved the bag straight away for us to pick up. The Hotel overall was superb, the best location. I would recommend to others for the quality of the hotel not the service of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalatattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Dear 'natalatattack'

Thank you for your feedback on SKYCITY Grand Hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed 'The Terrace' Breakfast Buffet at the hotel.

In regards to your debit card (eftpos being used for check-in), requirement for proof of identity and credit card or cash guarantee/bond is standard practice within the industry and has always been a requirement at SKYCITY Hotel and Grand Hotel.

This would have communicated to you at the time of your reservation confirmation and is as per our standard process and a requirement for everyone staying in our hotels. I apologise if this was not communicated to you at the time of making the reservation.

The Visa Debit Card can only used for online, phone or mail-order purchases, as it utilises your bank account funds as opposed to using credit (please refer back to you bank for further information). Unfortunately it is unable to be used as a credit card and therefore your reservation required a cash guarantee/bond, which we used your Visa Debit Plus Card via EFTPOS for and reimbursed back to you upon checkout.

I have passed on your positive feedback regarding the staff being "helpful and efficient" in retrieving your luggage.

Kind regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

SKYCITY GRAND .. is the best hotel in auckland .. its casino was the best , the sky jump was one the best adventurous activity .. it got a very huge car parking and the best of the holiday goers stay there .. enjoy the breathe taking views from your room and try to stay on the highest floors .. at the end experience the best holiday ever

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santoshkumar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $166 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing