We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$114
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$274
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$122
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$128
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
$190
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Hotel Parnell(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$110
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,694)
Filter reviews
2,694 results
Traveler rating
1,552
804
233
75
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,552
804
233
75
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky towerpremium luxurybaby grand packagemacaroonsfederal streetharbour view roomnew zealandpillow menustar hotelvalet parkinglobby barthe heart of the citycentral locationrestaurants and barsbuffet breakfastlong flightqueen street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,482 - 1,487 of 2,694 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We booked the "Baby Grand Package", we had our expectations set high for Skycity Grand, as we were forking out a little bit more luxury. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely concierge who helped assist us with our baggage and as we were using the valet parking service sorted that out as well. This was a magnificent welcome, and hoped this would continue throughout our stay. The reception was pretty crowded with people, so there was a bit of a wait before we could check-in. The receptionist who did check us in, was not as friendly and lacked the personality of the concierge, but still was very efficient and we were given key cards for the rooms. The lobby was quite impressive but felt the layout of it was a bit unusual. The rooms were of a very high quality, and exactly what you would expect of a 5-star hotel. We were still quite impressed. We decided to head down to use the facilities (Pool, Spa and Sauna). It was super crowded with kids and families although we had no problem with this! As they soon left. We found out that there should have been towels available to use by the pool, but there were none in sight! Another couple, told us that there are some in the gym... but there were smaller than hand towels!!! So no good for drying anything with! Eventually we managed to find some, which had probably been used before as they were left in a heap! We also found it bizarre the layout of the pool and spa etc and could have been designed much better!! Although, we later found the whole hotel layout, could have perhaps been designed much better.. With so many back entrances and hallways! The biggest let down of all was the breakfast the next day. Usually hotel breakfasts are amazing!!! But Skycity Grand, really ought to improve theirs! the continental breakfast was okay but nothing special. There was no hot buffet available, and the al-acarte was okay. Overall, I believe our stay was great, although felt a little in-personal at times, with being such a large hotel. Avoid paying for breakfast, and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liam404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear liam404,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that overall you didn't have an enjoyable stay with us.

I have passed on your feedback about the team, and will be sure to use your comments as a training tool with them. In regards to the pool area, we have in place regular checks of this area, and it appears that due to the busyness of the pool and gym area, we did indeed run out of towels between the checks. I have addressed this with the Housekeeping team and management.

Gusto Cucina and Bar is our newest restaurant, which is also the location of our breakfast restaurant. I do apologise if you felt that the continental breakfast selection was not up to your standard - we have received a lot of positive comments regarding this, so I do welcome you to comtact me direclty, so that we can further assess where the problems were.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay - we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon, where I can be sure that we will meet if not exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

As the main street outside the hotel was being renovated into a mall, there was construction everywhere and the airport shuttle bus could not access the front door, but they did have a process in place and the concierge took our luggage to the shuttle bus for us, which was only a minute away.

Check-in and check-out was good. Friendly staff.

Good-sized room which was quite nicely decorated with everything you would tend to need. (Later we discovered the TV kept flicking off to another “station” which was quite annoying but we couldn’t be bothered to see why it was doing it or to report it).

The shower door seemed to be “back to front” as you had to enter the shower and close the door, before you could turn the shower on. Other than that – no complaints.

We had a view of the SkyCity Tower and the Bay.

Wi-Fi in the rooms was free!

The Hotel is connected to the Casino next door by way of a sky bridge. (You'll need your room key card to return from the Casino back to the Hotel on the sky bridge)

The atmosphere of the lobby was dull and boring and the hotel overall was drab and depressing.

Upon looking for somewhere to eat, we were unable to find anything open or adequate within the hotel, so we went to the nearby Coffee Club (in Victoria Street) which served a great breakfast and a nice dinner. Recommend for a casual meal.

Overall, the hotel was satisfactory and would probably stay there again if we returned to Auckland as a stopover.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Brissy2,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that overall you only found the hotel OK. It appears you stayed with us while the redevelopment of Federal Street was taking place right out side the hotel. This work is now complete, with full access to the Grand Hotel now available. I do apologise for this inconvenience - the redevelopment of Federal Street is in to the final stages now, and should be completed in the next 7 weeks.

SKYCITY complex offers over 20 restaurants and bars, so I was disappointed to read that you felt there was nowhere for you to dine. The lobby has also been reveloped, and the opening of our newest all day dining restaurant, Gusto Cucina and bar, opened in early February, adding a lot of atmosphere to the lobby.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback -we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have just returned to the UK after spending 4 weeks in New Zealand and the last part was 4 days in the Skycity Grand Hotel.The service from all the staff was first class - especially the bar staff and waiting staff who were very attentive and pleasant. We had paid for a deluxe room with a harbour view however the harbour could just be seen beyond the many rooftops. the room was however very quiet which was great considering the size of the hotel and the many private functions that were held.The swimming pool is lovely albeit quite small and there could be an improvement as to the layout of the changing rooms as you have to go through the gym to get to the pool . I think the Skycity GRAND Hotel is much nicer than the Skycity hotel - across the road and adjoining however there are more restaurant choices in the Skycity hotel. The Fortuna restaurant is a buffet style and although its good value it lacked the quality and ambience of say, Gustos. We would def. stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are obviously quieter and you have the option of a harbour view but need to compare the additional cost with the fact the harbour is in the distance.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CURTIS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear CURTIS3,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and I will be sure to pass your comments on about the team to them - they love receiving feedback such as yours!

We have over 20 restaurant and bars within the SKYCITY complex, which can be accessed by all of our guests. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed Gusto Cucina and Bar - the newest addition to our food and beverage offerings at SKYCITY.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Sky City Grand Hotel; by far the best hotel in Australasia for business travellers! Staff are attentive and professional, the facilities are first class and I just love eating at The Depot; be it a late snack after a flight into town or an early breakfast before heading off to the office.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Nicholas R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read your great comments - I will be sure to pass your lovely comments about our team on to them.

Depot is a great spot to dine - there are so many choices at SKYCITY, with over 20 restaurant abd bars to choose from.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited Skycity Grand Hotel for the Easter long weekend break in Auckland CBD. The hotel is close to all main locations and activities in the CBD.

For best meal deals visit the Fortuna Buffet Restaurant at the Skycity hotel just across the road.

Pros:
- Walking distance to most CBD locations and short drive to tourist attractions
- Free WifI
- cheap valet parking. Only $35 per day unlimited access. (cheaper than self parking)
- Friendly and courteous staff
- Free TV and business desk

Cons:

- Less amenities and toiletries provided compared to other 5 Star hotel we've stated at.
- Poor housekeeping service. Rooms were not thoroughly cleaned
- Most of the items were refilled only on request
- Insufficient staff to manage guest in the evening, and after hours. (eg: valet parking, reception, concierge service etc..)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckid2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear ckid2006,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and courteous. I was however, disappointed to read your comments around the staffing levels and the amenities in the room - I will address both with our management team.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews