We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, centrally located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have stayed here many times mainly for a 1 night stop before heading back tot he airport. The SkyCity hotel is good quality and has a number of nice restaurants located around it. The hotel is centrally located and easy to get to places I need for work. The rooms are modern and nice with comfy beds and good quality bathrooms. Internet still isn't free. I had a small problem with the TV as it wouldn't turn off so I just unplugged it from the wall--problem solved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Ant W,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. Wifi has been complimentary since April 2013, so I am unsure as to why you did not have free internet. The team are more than willing to assist with the log in process.

We trust you will visit us again soon - please get in touch with me directly so that I can arrange your reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    713
    208
    68
    25
See reviews for
221
1,306
136
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

As we entered there was some heavy work going on in the street and the welcome was a low key affair and we were like UM!! but as we moved into the room the comfort levels were good,completely noise insulated, the room service was really great and menu excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and stay very comfortable. The room bar was a big big surprise, for first time i felt that i was not being scalped.The Casino next door was soul comforting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asutosh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Asutosh G

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

The work taking place on Federal Street is not ideal but the space will look wonderful when it is completed in May of this year and I am pleased it did not impact on your stay.

We have recently made changes to our mini bar selection and I am glad you liked we had on offer.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

While we checked in, what should have been a routine greeting from staff "how are you? and what brought you here with us" became a very pleasant surprise. We preferred low profile so we only lightly answered that we were in honeymoon. In return, we received sincere blessing from staffs. Not even fifteen mins pass by after we settled down in our spacious room, a knock on the door and a bottle of chilled sparkling wine and a card signed by manager were delivered. We were blown away because we certainly did not expect this.
Location of the hotel is also perfect. It is situated right above local favorite eatery Depot and across from SKYcity Hotel and its casino. Our room was very spacious and with updated/newly refurbished decoration. They also have something called the pillow menu which you can ask for a specific type of pillow, just think that's very thoughtful and cool.
We had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend SKYcity Grand to everyone who is visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yushan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Yushan M

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel – what a pleasure to read.

We love looking after our guests especially when it is a special occasion and I am so pleased the team looked after you during your stay and you enjoyed your night at The Grand.

I look forward to passing your feedback on and we hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Really nice room very upmarket modern and clean - great location next to SkyCity casino and in the central city. I found the pillow too big and had a bad sleep but that's only me. A lot of food options close by

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzsteve1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear nzsteve 1234

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel.

I have to agree with you that we are ideally located within Auckland with an abundance of restaurants and bars on our doorstep.

I am sorry that you did not have a restful sleep - we do have a pillow menu in each room with a selection of pillows to suit every need and I welcome you to contact me before your next stay and I will be more than happy to arrange your preferred pillow and note it on your profile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed again very recently and as usual the hotel was perfect. Some works going on at the moment but doesn't affect you once inside. In the times we have stayed the service in all areas has always been outstanding. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms which was very nice, the beds large and bedding luxurious..The only thing I would suggest in the new rooms is a few more luggage racks or places to put bags as we only had one.The rooms are great with big flatscreen tvs and movie options, all other room amenities are as you would expect in 5 star but everything is brand new.The harbour views are fantastic and the rooms have large,almost wall length windows which is nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Andrew S

Thank you for reviewing The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our newly refurbished rooms. The decor is just wonderful and the views over Auckland Harbour literally breathtaking.

Thank you also for your suggestion which I will pass on to our management team to review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Sky City Grand Hotel in Auckland is perfectly situated but the rooms are small, ours had no view and the service was abysmal. You are issued 1 bar of soap to share between the basin and the shower and five calls to housekeeping for another bar went unheeded. The front desk clerk had never heard of a luggage stand and despite lots of pleas no newspaper ever arrived in the four days we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lensmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Lensmania

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read your feedback. We have clearly not met your expectations by not responding to your needs. This is most unlike the feedback we love to hear and rest assured I will be addressing your comments with the teams and my apologies to you.

I welcome you to contact me directly to make your next booking should you have the opportunity to return to The Grand Hotel.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday).. Excellent location in the city center, in front of the Sky Tower. Good size room with comfortable bed. Good size bathroom with bath tub and shower - excellent water pressure. Room amenities include coffee maker, fridge, safe that fits laptop. Complimentary WiFi. 24-hour gym (did not use). Good breakfast buffet, although one would expect a larger selection in a high end hotel.
On the minus side, there's often a long wait for the elevator. The stairwells are very dirty, littered with cigarette butts and empty cigarette packs.
Didn't experience construction noise as reported by other reviewers, probably because of the weekend. However, on Saturday night there was loud music played at the hotel bar (or club).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear cfqp 123

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand Hotel and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us.

Since your stay our breakfast buffet has relocated to the lobby area of the hotel. Gusto Cucina and Bar is our latest addition to our extensive selection of restaurants and Sean Connelly’s team will be serving breakfast, lunch and dinner with an Italian feel.

I do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your New Zealand visit and have the opportunity to return in the future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing