We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We booked this through Expedia and thought we we're staying in the Skycity hotel, but when we arrived we were upgraded to the Grand.
Hotel is centrally located and is a good base. We only stayed the one night before flying out to Canada, so didn't get to use all the facilities. But the hotel is very modern and all the rooms of an excellent quality.
We had planned on getting the Airbus express back to the airport, but it is quite a long walk downhill to the bus stop, so we booked a shuttle service through the concierge which was only $5 more expensive than the bus and it was door to door, so much more convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippy7606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Trippy7606

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Grand Hotel.

I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and delighted to hear that our concierge team looked after you, saving you an unnecessary walk to the bus stop!

I trust you had a safe flight home and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    723
    211
    69
    26
See reviews for
225
1,331
137
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appledore, Devon, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Many facilities on site or across street, including two funky restaurants - the Federal street Deli and the Depot. Many other restaurants not visited. Very well appointed rooms with space, very comfortable mattresses and thick towels

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Chris36

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

We are very fortunate to have such a wide selection of eateries surrounding us with another due to open in the near future – there is definitely something to suit everyone.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand in the future and trust you had a safe flight home.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were not expecting that much from the hotel due to previous impressions gained from SkyCity. They did not used to have much of a dress standard there and it really made the place look cheap and nasty. Now they have imposed some standards for the guests and the new grand Hotel is great. The breakfast was truly exceptional (we stay at 5 star a lot and this was one of the best we have come across). The room was a good size but I would recommend paying the extra for the harbour views if you want something to look at other than the hotel across the street.

Service was very good and the room was spotless. Access to the SKyCity casino and restaurants gave us so many options for food and entertainment and the proximity to the city centre gave us all the shopping we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Stuart P

Thank you for reviewing The Grand Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your positive comments about our breakfast onto The Terrace team – they love to hear feedback from our guests.

We have just completed renovating our first floor. The rooms look spectacular and can be viewed on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here with my partner for a weekend and simply could not fault this venue.

In the heart of the CBD - only a 5 minute walk to Viaduct Harbour and the shopping precincts, the king luxury room was an absolute pleasure. Nice roomy bathroom, comfortable bed, a good lounge and just a very nice, modern and relaxing room.

The building facilities (gym, pool, spa) were amongst the best I've seen and the two restaurants we tried - Masu (sushi) and The Grill were just absolutely brilliant - the food and service was of the highest quality.

A brilliant stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Matt S

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend away with us and I look forward to passing on your comments to the team and in particular to Masu, our new Japanese Restaurant and The Grill.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very close to everything in Auckland, great location. Room was very clean and modern. Used valet parking-very quick and reliable. Staff were all happy and helpful. Will defiantly stay here again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kylie_Renz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Front Office Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Kylie_Renz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay! I will pass your feedback on to our team.

We have recently commenced refurbishment of our hotel rooms, and the first floor is available to be booked now, with stays from the 18th of November.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard I Front Office Manager I SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a night in Auckland last week very very nice hotel. Loved everything about it. Location, staff, rooms, breakfast in the resturant. Could not believe the prices in the minibar, a stella was only $5.50 so of course had to have one. A definate return for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Front Office Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear blackie011,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us - I will pass your comments on to our team.

We have recently commenced refurbishment of our hotel rooms, and the first floor is available to be booked now, with stays from the 18th of November.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard I Front Office Manager I SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect place to stay! Walk across the street to the tower. Lots of stores, restaurants. Go up to floor 51 of the tower and have a drink while looking down at
A beautiful sight-- the entire city! And the rooms are lovely with free wifi to boot! What more could you ask for?

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tucsonfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Front Office Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Maria F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

We have recently commenced refurbishment of our hotel rooms, and the first floor is available to be booked now, for stays from 18th November.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard I Front Office Manager I SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing