We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok for a 5 star”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Not a bad hotel but nothing special. Certainly not up to the grade if this is meant to be one of the top hotels in the city. In a reasonible location for Auckland given everything is fairly close by. Staff were pleasent enough. Foyer much more impressive than the rooms which were really a bit soulness carbon copies of a Novotel.

They offered 30min of free wifi internet, which condiering the prices they charge is a bit offensive, if you wanted to keep on the internet you had to pay - I just find this unacceptable for a business hotel in 2013. Also the internet was not very fast and kept dropping out.

I dont really see any reason to have any loyalty to this place as it was just somewhere to stay, nothing special and will check out other options in Auckland the next time I am there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Cfan41

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your feedback, we value our guests feedback and appreciate you have highlighted areas on which we could improve.

I am disappointed you experienced some problems with our internet service. Your comments have been received by our management team and will be reviewed to ensure we can improve the service we offer.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and invite you to contact me directly prior to your next visit and I certain we will exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards
Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    730
    211
    70
    27
See reviews for
226
1,341
139
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a great place to stay! I was already impressed even before we arrived. I had been dealing via email with hotel staff (John Monks and Samith) regarding the room reservations, private car hires and restaurant reservations. They were so efficient in their responses that I felt very well taken care of.

I was further impressed on arrival. All of the staff, from the doorman, to the bellman, to the check in staff, were so friendly and made check in so efficient.

I loved our room. We had a harbor view that was a delight to wake up to. The room had plenty of space, was very efficiently laid out and had a very comfortable bed. I also appreciated the free coffee service in the room. Our rate included breakfast which I definitely recommend. Breakfast included an excellent variety of choices, plus you could also have chef prepare custom items.

The location of the Sky City Grand is perfect. It was very easy to get anywhere and is within walking distance of lots of restaurants and attractions.

We stayed for 3 nights and during out entire stay the service we received was amazing. Plus I really appreciated the advance dinner reservations in Orbits and Jade Dragon (separate reviews on these). Also a special thanks to the breakfast staff for being so helpful when I spilled my coffee all over our table.

If you plan to be in Auckland whether for 1 night or a more lengthy stay, I definitely recommend that you make the Sky City Grand your home away from home. It offers everything you could possible want and more.

Room Tip: We loved our Harbor View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Kathleen R

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read your feedback and have passed your review onto all of the team at The Grand Hotel and SKYCITY and in particular to John and Samith. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope you have the chance to stay with us again and hope you enjoyed your vacation.

Kind Regards
Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved the rooms with great amenities, friendly helpful staff, easy valet parking, breakfast at the restaurant was tasty. Would definitely recommend staying here. Facility is so close to the casino (but away from all the main casino foot traffic which is great) it is still central to downtown Auckland and Viaduct Harbour/Maritime Musem so overall the location is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear kkbarclay

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review.

I was delighted to read your feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team take great pride in delivering a 5 star service and I look forward to sharing your review with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertLondon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

In an unexpected last minute visit to Auckland, the only accommodation available for one night in Auckland was a harbour view room here for 650 NZ dollars for the night or a suite at 2,300 NZ dollars. I kid you not. Apparently a famous singer Neil Young was in town and everything was sold hence the hotel massively raising their prices of rooms left.

Rather than travel out of the city at 5pm looking for a room, my wife and I decided to treat ourselves to the harbour view room and looked forward to a 5 star experience.

In my opinion, our room was not of the quality to todays 5 star standard. The room was in need of refurbishment. Furniture was old, well used and tired. The clock/ipod connector was broken but still sat on the bed unit. Clouds of dust came from the sofa, to get the shower head directed to your body we needed to carefully wedge it in the holder. The gem of the room should have been the harbour view through the massive window. So why was the window filthy dirty. The fridge was turned down so we had no ice and so little point of a fridge. In the cupboard by the bed was an electrical box that emitted a loud buzzing all night that kept us awake. I did try to put extra pillows over the box secured with the ironing board but it made no difference.

On checkout, I raised these points with the duty manager and he gave us a 10% reduction, waived our parking fee and told me rooms are due to be refurbished.

In my view, this 5 star hotel is let down by the quality of its rooms and the sooner they refurbish the better. Having the time now to look on the web, there are waterfront hotels much better than The Grand.

My TA rating is for the room as advertised and how we found it only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear RobertLondon

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I was very disappointed to read your feedback and can confirm that we are in the final decision making process and will soon be carrying out a full refurbishment of our rooms. Once we have finished our rooms, I am certain that you will be impressed.

I apologise that we did meet your expectations and invite you to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I took a night off for ourselves. The Skycity wa the Hotel of choice this month.
We found the stay comfortable and clean with all the trimmings expected of a Z5 star hotel. The complimentary bubbles left in our room topped it off.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Cyril M

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that enjoyed your night away and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Islands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was checked into this hotel by a company I mentor so I turned up without pre-conception.
Reception easy and fast, very amiable staff who asked me about my car park requirements.
Access to room easy with swipe security to both lifts and bedroom.
Room although standard, was large and well equipped. very quiet and (for once in Auckland) a reasonable view.
Bathroom clean and bright with a good wet-floor shower.
I didn't use any of the restaurants or bar areas.
Nothing to whinge about...Sky City Grand provides exactly what you want for an overnight stay in Auckland with the added benefit of being right on top of all the amenities and facilities of the CBD.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not to be confused with Sky City hotel which shares Sky Tower building, the Sky City Grand is next door. The room was large and light with contemporary decor. The location is very central and there is access to casino and Sky Tower via a bridge. Although everything is of a high standard the room lacks personality.

Pluses
Comfy sofa
Full size desk plus table
Firmish mattress
Central location
Comfy bed
Points over desk
Full sized bath
Good selection of teas

Minuses
Room was overlooked by rooms in Next door Crowne Plaza hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Theo C

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to advise that we are in the final decision making process and will be refurbishing our rooms in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel; on your next visit may I suggest one of our Harbour View rooms with stunning views of which full details are found on our website.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing