We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Grand enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed two nights in mid-February 2013 on business. Arrived in the morning well before normal check-in time but was in my room within minutes - excellent. Free internet is available in the foyer even before check-in and then at a higher speed once checked in as a guest - a hotel that understands that business people do want simple immediate wi-fi access and gives it to them - excellent.
My room was nothing special but I was hardly in it anyway, breakfast was good but again nothing above what I would expect in a hotel of this level.
The gym is very good and the lap pool the something special I was looking for. The other bonus for me was that being from a different timezone - 5 hours out - I was still able to dine on freshly cooked restaurant meals at say, 2am local time in the adjoining SkyCity Casino without leaving the building - excellent.
My only criticism would be that the place, being a Casino hotel, does service the needs of casino gamblers who I observed here to be intense, driven, single purpose type people who are unforgiving of anything that delays their pursuit of that big win - and the staff have to deal with this sort daily. If the staff despite their professionalism, seem to you a little on edge, tightly strung or even defensive I feel I know why.

Room Tip: Avoid the wheel-chair access rooms unless needed as they have a flat hosptial like bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nangfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Nangfah

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on TripAdvisor.

Our team strives to deliver great customer service and I am delighted that we were able to check you in upon your arrival.

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you took advantage of our excellent facilities during your stay and thank you also for your feedback providing us with the opportunity to improve our service and standards.

The team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    722
    211
    69
    26
See reviews for
225
1,326
137
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed there 3 times part of a 16 days on the north island trip in NZ. The place is clean, modern, well located and price range is OK. People are nice, breakfast is amazing. There is just something missing I can't really explain though... A touch of glamour for example...
Anyways I would recommend this place as a good starting point of a trip in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Arnaud

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand Hotel following your visit to New Zealand.

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our breakfast buffet at The Terrace. I will pass your positive feedback onto the team, who will be delighted to read your comments.

Thank you for recommending The Grand Hotel to our TripAdvisor readers, we do hope you have the opportunity to return.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel following a cruise. On arrival (well before registration time) we were given a time when our room would be ready and our bags were kept for us. We arrived back at the time mentioned and our key was available and our suitcases were already in the room. A friendly welcome was given each time we returned to the hotel. The room was of an excellent standard and with a view over the city. We didn't eat in the hotel as the hotel is very centrally placed to visit many local establishments (including a number of cafes for breakfast). Our package included transfer to the airport which was provided early at our request. The driver was very well informed and gave us an interesting commentary as we traveled to the airport

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Visitor71

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

Our team aim daily to deliver excellent customer service and I am delighted that your room was ready when promised and bags in your room upon your arrival.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay following your cruise and trust you had a safe journey back to the UK.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were very happy from forecourt to Hotel room with the service, and thanks for the comp upgrade, very nice.

To enjoy an afternoon in a lovely room , great view and fantastic facilities , was top notch.

The Grill was booked and thoroughly enjoyed

Def be back again

Room Tip: Corner suite 1410 had a great view of the harbour and sky tower , nice watching people jump off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear david1072

Happy Anniversary!

The team are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel and enjoyed your upgrade to a one bedroom suite.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed your meal at The Grill and will pass your feedback onto team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night after arriving from our trip from Amsterdam.
I asked for a room on a high floor for a good night sleep ( was worried about street noise as the hotel is in the middle of the city ) We recieved a room on the 16th floor and had a very good night sleep. Altough the hotel is in the middle of the city there is no noise at all.
The personnel at the reception was very friendly and we used the valet parking ( well arranged ) as well.
The room was very big with a nice bathroom ( large tub ) Comfortable big bed and a little lounge area as well. We loved this hotel and would definately return !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear MarijkeGeoffrey

Thank you for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay at The Grand Hotel and had a restful sleep following your flight.

The Front Office Team will be delighted to read your feedback and I hope you enjoyed your holiday.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel when it first opened years ago and it was really good, however you can definitely see the hotel room is getting tired. Was given a room on the 20th floor so that was really good because I did want a room on a high floor, everything was just average there but the check out time is surprisingly early (usually 12pm in most hotels but it’s 11am here).

Went to check out the swimming pool but there were no changing rooms and the lockers were all locked (only 3 people in the pool) while there were no staff members to assist you with. Not sure how I was going to get changed or use the facility, instead I headed back to the room. Definitely not a 5 star hotel like they claimed to be.

Also one of the worst thing was I got a phone call from the in-room dining at 5am when I didn’t order any breakfast myself, the guy has obviously dialled the wrong number but he keeps on yapping about the breakfast. Luckily I was up to go to the toilet otherwise I would be really really p***ed off, but still this should not have happened.

When I mentioned this to the staff at the check out time it was a very dull reaction, not like they were extremely sorry about it. This could ruin someone’s day!!

The most annoying thing is the credit card fee that you have to pay on top of the bill. I was not aware of it but the staff member mentioned it just like it’s going to be charged whether you like it or not so I had to pay. Since I went and got a spa treatment on the day I have arrived so I ended up paying quite a bit of the credit card service charge. I can understand if smaller hotels and shops need to charge a credit card charge to keep their cost down but for a big hotel like Sky City Grand I believe it should have been included in the rates, it’s just another way to make revenue really.

Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel to others because it’s getting old and every was just average really, and until they have removed the credit card charges I would rather stay at somewhere else when I am in Auckland next time.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Walkman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Walkman 88

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I was disappointed to your comments apologise that we did not meet your expectations. Feedback is of great importance to us The Grand Hotel providing us an opportunity to assess and improve and service and standards.

Please be assured that our management team has received your comments and should you wish to discuss any aspect of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our stay here over the Christmas-New Year period was relaxing and enjoyable, to say the least!
The doormen were exceptional, especially one of them who normally took the weekday morning shift. It's a pity we have forgotten his name! (He's the big guy with glasses and always has a smile on his face.) they are friendly and always eager to help, be it suitcases or a guide to the city's attractions.
It was easy to move around the city from the Skycity Grand.
The rooms were always tidied and cleaned well.
We ordered room service a couple of times and were impressed by the quality of the food served (in fact, we enjoyed the food at the hotel a lot-there aren't many good restaurants and cafes in Auckland, unfortunately!
Their spa (East Day Spa) is also worth a visit. I found the staff to be caring and experienced, and the ambience, a perfect combination of relaxation and comfort.
I would highly recommend staying here to anyone who is planning a trip to Auckland!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggsGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear shawt

Thank you for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor following your stay at The Grand Hotel over Christmas and New Year.

I was delighted to read your feedback and will take great pleasure in sharing your comments with the team, in particular In-Room Dining, East Day Spa and Kevin our Commissionaire.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing