We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing place...a lot of activities under one roof!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pune, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An amazing place...a lot of activities under one roof!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at Skycity for over a week with a break of a couple of days when I travelled to Bay of Islands.
SkyCity is in the middle of the business centre and is surrounded by other top notch properties. The hotel has more variety of cuisines that you can handle and a great casino..you can easily spend days within the premises and realize there is still more to do..there is a skywalk, skyjump activity from their rooftop apart from gym,spa,pools....
It is easily accessible as the auckland city round trip bus stops right outside, it is on a lane which has a great choice of pubs, coffee shops, retaurants.
There was some construction going on for a couple of days...which added to some noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamta-mmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear mamta-mmr

Thank you for posting your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and your visit to New Zealand.

The Grand is certainly in a prime location and I agree that there is so much to do in and around the area.

I do apologise that we were staying with us whilst there was some improvements being made to the property and can assure you that these have long since been completed.

I trust you had a safe journey home.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,359
    716
    208
    68
    25
See reviews for
221
1,309
136
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I think this hotel is fab, the location is great. The rooms are huge clean and tidy. The pool area would be great in summer ( i was there in winter ) Gym is also good. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUSSIEAGENT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear AUSSIEAGENT84

Thank you for posting your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and managed to take time to visit our gym and pool.

We look forward to your return in the very near future

Kind Regards


Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

First of all " thanks Kevin " the first peron welcoming me at the hotel - the friendliest person ever
Great staff, ready to make you feel relaxed and good
Perfect location- easy to scroll around even without car
Great restaurants - buy frankly speaking i soon became a regular to Depot Eatery just nearby
Even. Room service food was good
I d recommend them to use more light in the lobby , or lighter colours on the chairs- lookd like midnight at any time of the day

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank experiencematter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear experiencematter

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel and I have passed your lovely comments onto the team and in particular to Kevin our Commissionaire.

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to visit Depot and also sampled and enjoyed our In Room Dining options.

Please be assured that our management team have received your feedback regarding the Lobby lighting. This will be reviewed by the team.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Decided to spalsh out on our second to last night in New Zealand, got a great rate on booking.com that included breakfast - same rate on the hotels own site was room only.

Fantastic location and facilities (pool etc), a limited amount of free wifi was included. valet parking was a little steep at $35 but then it is in the city centre.

Suprised some of the bars in the casino complex themselves were closed/not serving food but it was a Sunday night and thats of no fault of the hotel.

Highly recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,348 reviews
376 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,977 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Skycity Grand Hotel.

The Skycity Hotel is located across the road from the Skycity Casino in the heart of Auckland in Federal Street. Its approx 45mins from the Airport & 5min walk down to the shops.

We were attending a conference in the hotel for a week so we shopped around & got an excellent deal on a superior suite.

Room – Our superior suite 1921 was extremely spacious with a separate lounge/ dining & small kitchenette. The bedroom was again roomy with a king size bed & walk-in wardrobe. The bedroom & lounge room had separate plasma TV’s & free internet.

Our room had city views which did look directly onto the Crowne Plaza Hotel. Make sure you ask for rooms on the other side facing the Casino as they offer fab waterviews.

Bathroom – Massive with walk-in shower & separate bath & good size vanity units. Bathroom robes were also supplied.

Facilities – An excellent Gymnasium with 25 metre heated lap pool, sauna and spa pool.

Breakfast – Make sure you get a deal with brekky included into your room rate as unfortunately we didn’t & had to pay the extremely expensive rate.

The breakfast selection was okay but if you ordered a cappuccino another $5.00NZ was added onto your bill.

Restaurants – We dined at Dine… which is located on the lobby level. The restaurant offered a lovely moody atmosphere and the décor was chic & elegant. The staff were very efficient & friendly. We thought the food to be super although on the pricey side.

We also had lunch in The Grill by Sean Connolly which was terrific as they offered a 2 or 3 course menu for a reasonable rate. The food was delicious & definitely worth visiting again.

In Room Service – We rang every night for a bucket of ice & it was delivered with speedy efficiency.

Overall: A large, busy business style hotel with many wonderful facilities & excellent restaurants.

Our only gripes were with the price of breakfast & not being able to access Level 5 via the lifts for our conference meetings. We had to go downstairs to the lobby & backup the escalators.

Room Tip: Ask for Casino side rooms with water views not city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I brought my partner to the Sky City Grand Hotel for a romantic getaway from our home city of Christchurch. From the moment we walked in the door it was eyes wide open! We literally felt like royalty and treated that way even though we were in jeans and hoodies! The reception staff were friendly and accommodating, upgrading us to the 20th floor for a harbour view for a small fee of $40.! When we got in the lift we were met with marble hand rails and a rapid lift that took us to the top floor (nearly) super quick. Our room was out of this world!! Our view was over the harbour with the sky tower to the right. We could watch the bunjy jumpers take their leap of faith whilst sipping wine on our super comfy L shaped sofa. The bed was massive and like a cloud and the attention to detail was as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was a welcome treat in the morning. I would recommend upgrading to the breakfast package! So much food to choose from and as much as you like. The wait staff could have been more attentive as our plates were mounting up (could have eaten less/not as fast) but its not every day you get to feast on such quality fair! My coffee cup kept becoming empty also which was because I was drinking it quickly (obviously) but it wasnt easy to just get up and re fill as it was waiter service and they didnt keep up with my inhaling! ha. Other than that though it was amazing. Read the complementary papers and munched down course after course. YUM.
To sum up.. I would highly recommend the SkyCity Grand Hotel for those couples who want a special weekend away in luxury. The price may seem a lot at first but they let us check in at 12 instead of 3 as there was a room ready plus we had late check out as part of the $40 upgrade meaning we had 24h in the room. FAB. Anyway. If you are looking for a romantic place to take your mrs or if you have truck loads of money and expect nothing but the best from a hotel then you will not be disappointed. End of war n peace. :)

Room Tip: Upgrade to harbour view... 20th floor does wonders for the mood if you know what i mean. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevenbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for business and found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful from the greeting upon arrival to check out in the early hours of the morning. Room was immaculate and cleaned perfectly each day. Tried room service a few times and while I found the club sandwiches soggy and burnt, the spag bol was good, Angus steak was great and the Create-Your-Own-Sundae was AMAZING! Great idea, rolled out really well! I also loved the scented candles in the lobby - smelt like T2! Beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicnacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing