We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and location”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights with our two kids, the location and the views are the best features of this hotel. We stayed in a 2 beds apartment with great views to the harbour, walking distance to all amenities and best restaurants in the harbour. The beds were quite comfy and decent, room service was exceptional, and so customer service as well. The only but is the price, the apartment looks in need of renovation or painting, looks tired and worn out, otherwise it would have been perfect! Overall a great experience in Auckland with all restaurants, shopping at the tip ofyour fingers, fantastic location and service.Do not miss the Auckland museum, the domain gardens are fantastic cultural experiences and the Harbourside restaurant, best seafood in town!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jani73Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    231
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
212
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Quay West for 3 weeks in December 2009 and returned for 2 nights in Feb, 2010. Both experiences were excellent!

The hotel is in a nice part of Auckland and is superbly located close to everything! Sky City, the waterfront wharf, the bus/train station, and popular Queen street are all within a couple of blocks. The views from our stays on both the 11th floor in December and on the 17th floor in Feb were incredible!......(I would recommend the highest floor possible for Friday and Saturday night stays as there are a considerable number of partygoers out and about on the weekend. The higher floors are more insulated from the merriment on the street level)

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and the rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious. The furniture and decor were also modern, comfortable and very up-to-date! The bed was wonderful and the pillows comfy! The curtains are thick and can be drawn so as to keep all light out!....We loved our sleep-ins!!

The apartments are well equipped with good quality dishes, wine glasses, cookware, and utensils. Everything you need to feel at home away from home. The towels, linens, robes, ect were all upper quality and luxurious.

The rooms were very clean and are serviced each day. The daily servicing staff were very friendly, always respecting our requests for late servicing of the room while we slept in, and then lounged around in our robes (provided by the hotel) and sipped our tea & coffee (provided by the hotel) and read the morning newspaper (delivered to the room each morning) Our room faced the waterfront and had a very large covered patio which was excellent for both mornings and afternoon relaxation while soaking in the fresh air and the amazing views!

The hotel has a very nice indoor pool and hottub area as well as a nice sauna. It also has a gym (somewhat small) which we used frequently.

From our booking, til arrival to departure the service from the staff at Quay West was outstanding! Everyone always greeting us with a warm cheerful smile and always ready to help us in anyway possible. Adam and Donald were both especially helpful throughout our stay. We had accidentally left a bag at the airport and Donald was all over it!....He took charge to make all of the phone calls tracking down its location. When We checked out after our first stay in December to trek down to the South Island Adam offerred to allow us to keep our two extra bags (filled with dive gear) at the hotel until we returned weeks later. This proved to be exceptionally helpful in our mobility throughout the Southland! Adam was always asking us how our stay was going and was genuinely interested to know if there was anything that could be done to improve our experience.

The only area that I would say could be improved is the lunch and dinner choices. The hotel does not have a traditional styly cafe/restaurant, but does have a nice area for breakfast, coffee. tea, and even afternoon drinks. Although the lunch and dinner selections for room service were somewhat limited we found the restaurant next door at the Stamford to be supperb! ....for both dine in or carry-out to our room.

We have stayed in many fine hotels all over Australia and New Zealand and Quay West Suites in Auckland rates at the very top!....We highly recommend it for both business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jab995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We booked and paid well in advance for cheapest rates on a one bedroom superior suite with city views for two Auckland stays. We found our suite comfortable and very nicely furnished. Internet was $5 NZ for 15 minutes, something like $11 for an hour or $25 for 24 hrs. We used room service a couple of times for meals and everything we ordered was very good.
We didn't spend much time in the public areas, we never do, but they are quite grand in style. Though I thought they, and the corridors smelt a bit stale. The room was fine in this regard though.
The location is a very easy walk to the ferry terminals or viaduct harbour, or the saturday farmers market. We thought it was a great location and were very happy with the choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

After being away from NZ for 3 years we treated ourselves to the Quay West for 3 nights on our return. The suite was excellent, well appointed, clean, spacious and with a super view to the west of the city. The location is also excellent with the Viaduct Basin a few minutes walk as well as the other attractions of downtown Auckland. Front desk staff were professional and helpful. Only discordant note was the noisy exhaust fan from the Asian food court on Albert Street - still, the food was very good! Seriously, it needs a silencer. A top spot and certainly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We (4 adults) arrived at Quay West at 1.00am after a 24hr flight. The reception staff were excellent in giving us a fast check-in and faxed a car rental form for us without hesitation. Our luggage was taken to our suite very promptly and we were amazed at the suite. Lovely comfy lounge and kitchen - two spacious bedrooms both with bathrooms- laundry room and balcony overlooking the harbour. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and very polite. The Hotel is very central for all amenities of Auckland - restaurants, shops, bus station, all attractions within easy walking distance. My only minus would be the expensive carparking charges but as there is nowhere else to park nearby I am afraid you just have to pay!. However everything else was perfect and thank you for a lovely welcome to NZ

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed in a "high-floor" 2-bedroom suite. It was clean, though the furnishings were a bit tired. Great, great location, lovely lobby. However, we were severely disappointed in the level of service. My twin daughters had a birthday while we were in Auckland, so my husband asked the front desk if there was a bakery nearby where we could find a cake. They assured us that their "chef" could whip up a chocolate cake for us, and we asked for the traditional "Happy Birthday" icing on top. Well, they delivered it an hour late, and it was a sad little beige-ish unfrosted madeira cake "decorated" with sliced almonds (my daughters don't like nuts) with chocolate syrup drizzled on the cake plate around the cake. There were 4 little birthday candles stuck randomly on top, not especially festive, to say the least. What's worse is that we booked a wake up call the next morning so we wouldn't miss our early flight to Tokyo, and THEY NEVER CALLED! But upon check out, they did remind us of the small print which requires a %1.5 fee for using a credit card, so be forewarned. And if you intend to arrive by car, make sure you call for instructions on parking. We didn't, and only located their parking garage because we accidentally took a wrong turn down the alley and spied their TINY little sign on a side wall.
I have to believe there are better hotels offering better value than this place in Auckland!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSue79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Quay West was the perfect place! It's a 5 minute walk from the viaduct, and one block away from the main street in the city, Queen St. The room was very nice and comfortable, kitchen, laundry, 2 tv's, air conditioning, great pool area.. so much to be pleased with. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I definately reccommend staying here to others, and I would stay here again next time. Fantastic place.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VS-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing