We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue to start our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue to start our holiday”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

On arrival in New Zealand, we stayed at the Quay West Suites. A fantastic venue with great views and perfect central location. The apartment had everything we could have asked for and lots we would not have thought of, including a wonderful spa bath. Friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TracyAnn143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear TracyAnn143

Thank you for your great feedback and we are looking forward to accommodate you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    233
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
214
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This was an excellent apartment. Very well presented, immaculately clean and very helpful staff.

We stayed in a 2 bed suite with great views of the city and dock lands.

It had all the trimmings one expects these days and not only was the wifi signal excellent, it was free for members!

One thing to note though, it doesn't have a restaurant so room service is effectively microwave meals. Wasn't an issue, being so close to many lovely restaurants.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear John G

Thank you for your recent feedback
I am glad to learn that your overall experience was a positive one.
Thank you and we hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Difficult to beat the location of the Quay west Suits. Was great value for money, clean and comfortable. Would happily stay there again any time. Plenty of restaurants close by and with major public transport terminal with in a 2 minute walk makes it the perfect base for getting around Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_Tourist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Aussie_Tourist79

Thank you for your feedback.
It is great to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope your next stay will be as pleasant as previous one.
Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Quay West Suites are well appointed and very well located in downtown Auckland. Perfect when staying for several days be it business or pleasure. Suites have decent kitchen and space for working. Can't fault Quay West. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Greg W

Thank you for your recent comments in regards to Quay West Suites Auckland. It is always great to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at Quay West. Its location was superb and allowed us quick access to the restaurants at the waterfront area. The apartment itself was spacious and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and we appreciated the provision of laundry facility inside our room, particularly after a few days trip in Taupo and Rotorua. The balcony was big and offered a good view of the business area of Auckland. We parked our car at the underground carpark and felt secured.

Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear RonnieHongKong

Thanks for sharing your experience and it is always great to receive positive comments.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Location on Albert Street and Customs Quay in the CBD is essential if you wish to WALK around Auckland. It is 5 minutes from the Ferry Terminal, 10 minutes from the Viaduct Basin (of Americas Cup fame), 5 minutes from Britomart Train Station and Bus Terminals. The AIRPORT bus runs from the Ferry Building.
This is a part Residential-part Hotel furnished accommodation. It used to be managed by the MIRVAC GROUP and is now run by ACCOR.
The views from most of the apartments are spectacular over the harbour. It is SUNNY, as it faces NORTH with east and west aspects.
On the 5th floor there is a POOL, SPA and SAUNA. The GYM is good with a beautiful view NORTH over the harbour.
Although the rooms are well equipped with a Kitchen, Microwave, Dishwasher etc. SADLY there is now no ROOM SERVICE, RESTAURANT or BAR. But these facilities are available at a short distance walk.
The Rooms are in need of urgent upgrade as they are sadly now not up to ***** rating.

Room Tip: Quieter on the EAST SIDE GREAT VIEWS 18th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Peter T

Thank you for the knowledgeable information you provided on the tripadvisor and I am sure it will give lots of our guests some valuable insights of our property :)
In regards to the food service, we have found that lots of our guests tend to cook in their own room and as you mentioned, there are also lots of great restaurants and bars nearby
We are also talking to our partners to look at upgrading our rooms at the moment
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a disaster from start to finish... arrived at the hotel late at night, no help with luggage or anything to get to the room. Got to the room it was not very nice, bathroom very small and general maintenance of room was not good, as the attached pics show.
We contacted our booking agent the next day to try to move,but were told that we would lose all our money for the stay as this was the hotel policy... even after we offered to take a couple of days penalty just to move we were told no. So were were moved to another room,which was bigger and cleaner but the heating never worked the first night so we had little heaters to try to warm the place up... it was freezing.
Another problem is parking, there is never enough and mostly full so don't rely on parking at the hotel.
They also do not have a place for breakfast in the hotel,quite unusual but you are welcome to walk 5 to 10 minutes in the cold to Mercure if you want breakfast.
The final straw was the checkout where the over efficacious receptionist was rube and obnoxious and made me feel like I was not important at all to the hotel... this for me was the end of a very disappointing stay. For me this is a 3 star property at best in need of some overhaul and even the cleaners are substandard and for our entire sta they never even replaced the shower gels or amenities in the room,even after being assured by the manager this would be fixed.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leigh3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Leigh3051

Thank your for sharing your concern and I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay and please accept my sincerest apology
We have carefully read your comments from the beginning to the end and let me assure you that all the problems mentioned in the comments have been fixed.
The air con has been fixed and I really hope you liked the 2 bedroom apart from that issue and enjoyed your special occasion with your family.
I have also talked to the receptionist who checked you out and she would like to apologize to you as well if she did not make you feel comfortable and important.
Once again, thank you for giving us the feedback.

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing