We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed one night. Apartment was spacious and comfortable. Great view from balcony (22nd floor) but...
Bar/ restaurant not open and no mini bar
Could do with double glazing as Saturday Night street noise is quite loud. I think the hotel must be due for a refit as parts are very tired.
However I would still stay here again as the pros far out way the cons.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Carl S

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to know that you enjoyed the harbour view on our high floor room
I will let our Maintanence know about your street noise concern and see what they can do
Quay West Suites is in a prime location with lots great restaurants and bars around us, also our room is fully equipped with kitchen facilities and we have found that lots of guests choose to cook in the room.
Thank you again for your time and hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    196
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
156
186
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Brilliant place to stay, gigantic rooms. We were on the 5th floor, with the garden and pool on the same floor.

Garden needs to fix the rotunda, but otherwise was a great area. The indoor pool was excellent, loved the greek style to it.

Only disappointment was the exorbitant $28 parking per night - bit steep yeah?

Otherwise, perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear BMColeman

Thank you for sharing your experience and it is great to receive such wonderful comments
In regards to the Rotunda in our garden, it was damaged due to the extreme weather and it is being fixed by our contractor at the moment
For the parking fees, we offer the most competitive rate of $26 per night.
Once again, thank you and we hope to welcoming you again to the Quay West Suites Auckland

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a one bed apartment with sofa bed, perfect for kids but maybe not for adults , though the bed in the main room was lovely.
The apartment had everything you need and you could easily cook a meal there.
The private balcony was lovely overlooking the harbour.
The pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were a welcome addition after some city walking.,
We would love to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Ali-Henrik

It is great to know that you stayed in one of amazing one bedroom apartments and had such a lovely stay.
Thank you again and we will welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment on the 16th floor which had lovely views of Auckland CBD and of the harbour. They were nice spacious suites with 1 queen size bed and 2 single beds. The kitchen was a good size with basic needs included. The laundry appliances were all good quality. We did have some problems with the electricals but they were very quick to come and replace the toaster and also solve the problem with the power outage. The front desk staff were very helpful and it was handy having the free wi-fi (would be nice to have in the rooms though). Great location near shops, supermarkets and public transport. Great for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear cjjadelaide

Thanks for your comments and it is great to receive such a great comment
The in room internet has become free for all our Le Club members and it has also doubled its speed. And the membership is free to join and you will receive lots of great benefits along the way
Thank you again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
587 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed a few nights on business on the 18th floor and had a good experience. Nice girl at check in was very accommodating as room wasn't available but helped me to find another. 18th floor apartment was very quiet and had great views (as all apartments do) over the harbour. Comfy bed, nice bathroom and kitchenette - sofa bed if needed in the lounge room. Very big apartment which made a comfortable stay. Great location to city and viaduct. Cheaper serviced apartments exist in Auckland but for views, size and convenience this is a good option if your budget extends to mid $250's.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor as city location could be busy lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear StuckinBangers

It is great to receive positive feedback and also we offer very competitive price in this particular market
Thank you and hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've stayed here quite a few times and its been good. The rooms are apartment style and are large! with balconies. Two bedroom apartments are spacious and some have wrap around balconies with a nice view of the harbour. Location is great, with a short walk to Queen Street and the Viaduct. Like most people I think that the rooms are a little outdated and need some upgrading.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kattymae26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear kattymae26

Thanks for your feedback
It is great to know you have enjoyed the prime location of the hotel and its room size and the view
Room upgrade is certainly in our agenda in the near future
Thank you again for the positive comments

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in a 2 bedroom apartment and can't fault this place. The service straight from check in was brilliant. We were lucky enough to have an apartment on the 23rd floor and the views were amazing! The apartment was spacious and well equipped. Everything in the CBD is in walking distance, including the Britomart, harbour/viaduct area and Sky City.
Would well recommend for groups/families especially if you can split the cost a few ways it makes it worth paying the bit extra for the space.
Only thing it was lacking was a decent room service menu and bar/restaurant on site but there are plenty of great places to eat close by.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucylincoln86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear lucylincoln86

It is fantastic to know that you have really enjoyed your stay and it was wonderful
It is always great to receive positive feedback and I will share this with the team
Thank you again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#17 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#17 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing