We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a comfortable Hotel. I had a suite very high up looking over the harbour and the view was stunning - but the noise really travels upwards in Auckland on a Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday night. It was quite loud at 3am! Another oddity is that there is only a coffee shop in the hotel, and the breakfast offering the morning I was there was only chocolate cake and coffee - not what I had in mind. No room service at all, but the usual minibar offerings and a small kitchen. Central and quite well appointed, it was reasonable. but if it is to be a useful base for a business traveller they need to sort out the wifi which was expensive and did not work propoerly.

Room Tip: I think they will all be noisy if the revellers are out in the streets below.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Quay West Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 594 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ok, I travel a lot and stay in good hotels and this is one of my regulars but, things change.
I stayed there on the 19th Feb 2014
You should be aware that their kitchen is under refurbishment so after a late check in was offered a microwave dish..which i passed on and for breakfast all there was is coffee and cake.
Room was OK, furniture is way outside its use by date, bed was aged and uncomfortable, TV control played up the whole time, volume was non existent even though they saw to it after i complained.
I hung a don't disturb on my door and went for a sleep... so they rang me instead to see if i wanted my room made up!
Ok, the lift broke down...again... full lobby of guests waited for over 40 minutes being told every 5 minutes the problem would be solved in 5 minutes, then we all walked up, i was on the 23rd floor, others were higher than me.
Still no apology forthcoming from anyone involved in management.
routinely only ever one person on the desk who also had to answer the incoming calls which took priority over someone they were already talking to.
wifi $25 for 24 hours... really...yes really
They claim to be 4 1/2 star, i would rate them 3...3 1/2 tops
Much better off in the Sebel or Stamford.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadic202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Nomadic202,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip advisor and providing us the opportunity to respond. I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations and to address your concerns.

Due to the Quay West being an apartment product over time many of our guests choose to provide their own food and beverage a decision was made early last year to close the restaurant. We found that with many great restaurants opening up in the area within short walking distance guests where choosing to experience the variety the CBD had to offer. We do open the Cafe in the morning for that first ‘coffee fix’ of the day and we do run a limited offering.

With regards to the lifts this was totally unexpected and while there were no safety concerns it is something that we have followed up with the lift company.

With the service you experienced on the desk this is of concern and something that I will follow up with the reception team. Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

After a mistake through a third party booking site, we were generously upgraded to a lovely 2 bed apartment. No free WiFi in room but available in common areas - we didn't use this so no idea how good it is. Very spacious, clean and centrally located. We had yet to hire a car for the rest of the trip but easily walked to all the places we wanted to see - all with a great view as well. We could see the harbour out of one window and then we discovered we could watch (at a far distance) people doing the Sky Tower leap from another window. The pool and spa were very welcome, worth just looking at the murals. We were lucky enough to have it to ourselves as well. Highly recommended, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour,
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unsamunsa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear unsamunsa5

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to read such positive and encouraging feedback!

It is unfortunate that you initially experienced some reservation difficulties; however I am pleased that the manager on duty was able to effectively identify the issue and find you a solution that exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your praises.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a one bedroom apartment. It was spotlessly clean and very we'll equipped. We actually did use the cooking facilities to have dinner and we're impressed by the utensils and facilities.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was within easy walking distance of shops and harbour/ ferry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Auswalkers,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a review on your recent stay at our hotel.

I am thrilled that we were able to fulfil your needs and expectations – made clear by your flawless review.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you both back to the hotel when you are next in New Zealand

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Staying for the first time in Auckland this apartment complex met all the requirements we had as a family of four. We could easily visit all the tourist points from this location, as well as make breakfast and other food in the well stocked kitchen. The pool was a definite favourite with the kids with its classical style frieze above the spa and the pool ceiling. There were also lovely glimpses of the water and lots of natural light. The staff were so friendly that when I asked about a bakery for a cake for my daughter's birthday, they brought up a cake with their compliments and sang happy birthday to her, she was thrilled!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosebudRosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear RosebudRosebud,

I would like to begin by thanking you for providing us with your feedback. I was delighted to read about how thrilled your daughter was on her birthday and that we were able to make her special day even more memorable. I will be sure to pass on your praise to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice, at the beginning and end of a 3 week trip. Our first stay was in a 2-bedroom harbour view apartment (floor 24) - great for 2 adults and 2 kids. The final few nights in a 1-bedroom apartment (floor 19) with the kids sharing a sofa bed in the living room. Whilst the first room was bigger and had better views, both were very good and I would definitely recommend this place. Rooms were of a pretty decent quality, nice front lobby, excellent service from counter staff and housekeeping.

The highlights -- nice big, usable balconies with frameless glass barrier, great for sitting out in the evening enjoying the view with a glass of wine! Harbour views were fantastic. Separate laundry with washer and dryer, good kitchenette facilities, comfortable beds. Rooms were quite spacious. Excellent location, walking distance to viaduct and restaurants, ferry terminal etc.

There is no on-site restaurant, just a small cafe-type area with a few pre-made items and coffees. But lots of good eateries nearby. On-site parking available at a cost, but very convenient.

Overall, very comfortable apartments in a great location.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albykurky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Albyskurky,

Thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel, its facilities and our staff. I am delighted that we could provide your family with accommodation & service that was able to fulfill all of your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Babs729
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#16 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#23 of 67 in Auckland Central
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $157 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing