We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I booked a ‘2 bedroom grand corner suite on the high floor’ as friends of ours had booked this before and had a spacious apartment style room with 180 degree views of the harbour/city. However, when we arrived we were given room 704 (on the 7th floor).
I asked why we were on the 7th floor and was told that it was the best room and had great views – this was not the case. We couldn’t leave the doors open due to the traffic noise and the views were blocked by surrounding office buildings. The room was dated, couches ripped and the beds were uncomfortable and lumpy.
I went back down to reception and asked the staff member to put us in the room we originally booked and paid for however she said she had already spoken to the manager and that the high floor rooms (which we had booked) were already full and that they couldn't’t do anything.
The manager did not come out to apologise and we were told that there was nothing that they could do. I asked if they could follow up with the manger and let me know why we didn’t get the room however no-one got back to me.
Parking is expensive ($27.00) and the service is substandard.
I definitely won’t be using this property again. On a positive note, the hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danlAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear danlAKl,

I am sorry to hear of your recent experience at the hotel, I will follow up with my team to investigate what has happened this week. I would appreciate if you could call me at your earliest convenience on 09 309 6000 to discuss further.

Thank you for your feedback as it is important that we can meet and ideally exceed our guest expectations.


Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 606 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

IT was a very lovely stay, I loved the view and the suite's, my only let downs is that I didn't realise that there was no bar premises to enjoy a relaxing beverage before our event.
Also I did not realise that there was no room service.

Kind regards
Callum Rawlins

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Callum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Callum R,

Thank you for your recent feedback and providing us with the opportunity to respond. With regards to food and beverage offering we open our Cafe in the mornings for coffee and light snacks, unfortunately I know this doesn't assist with a beverage before heading out for the night. Due to our location many of our guests tend to visit many of the quality bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was delightful but was let down by the suedo restaurant with in the complex? Has the odd hours of 8 am to 1 pm??? We went down for breakfast at 9 but nothing was set no menu's available? And as far as it being called a bar? I don't know many people who drink before 1 and they usually have a problem

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank katesy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great inner city location apartments suitable for families. Staff are very receptive. Good clean rooms, not the biggest, but comfortable. We had the 1 bedroom apartments and with a sofa bed configuration things got a bit cramped.
Is well within walking distance to Viaduct harbour, Britomart and Sky Tower.

Room Tip: Higher floor apartments - great views of Viaduct harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnSBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Check in staff and reception staff are first rate and very hospitable. We stayed in room 2207 - a two bedroom apartment facing east. Very spacious rooms - two bathroom and a decent kitchen to cook in. Main bedroom had a television so all round a good deal.

Internet is able to be purchased with vouchers - you take the router to your room and plug it in - $24 NZ for 24 hours so reasonable. Internet is available from the foyer as well and there are plenty of comfortable lounges there. The pool, Gym and Sauna on the 5th floor is good. Single treadmill, single spin cycle but all modern and well maintained. A multi station weight system is available. Pool is a little warm but that is only my taste - preferring cold to hot.

overall the only thing that I would have liked to see is a small restaurant catering to those people not liking to cook - but I suppose if that was the case you go to a hotel chain not an apartment chain hey. (The café on the first floor is open 7 days a week from 0800 - 1300 hrs and serves coffee and cakes etc).

Room Tip: East facing room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank african_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Quay West Suites for five days after booking out of the Sky City Grand Hotel due to the annoyance of renovations happening in the hotel.

Location: Quay West suites is ideally located just a few minutes walk to the waterfront & to the centre of town for shopping.The cafes & restaurants situated on the edge of the Viaduct Harbour is also at your fingertips.

Apartment: Our superior one bedroom apartment 2005 had stunning views of the harbour & distant islands. The apartment consisted of a separate lounge / dining room & good quality fully equipped kitchen. Sliding doors opened up from the lounge room to a large balcony.

The bedroom was spacious with doors leading out to the balcony. The bathroom definitely needs an update however it was spacious & adequate. A separate laundry room with dyer was also helpful for doing the laundry.

Facilities:
There was a good size indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. On the first floor was a café which sold cappuccino's & small snacks for lunch & breakfast. Secure parking is also available for a fee.

Staff: All very helpful & efficient. I loved how our apartment was always cleaned early without any fuss.

Overall:
We loved our spacious apartment with stunning views & fabulous location. We were feeling very happy moving to Quay West & would highly recommend it to others who are seeking a "home away from home" with all the modern facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for superior apartment with harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#17 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $190 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing