We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sid, Your The Man!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sid, Your The Man!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here four nights and were very happy with this hotel. Sid, at the reception desk was ever so helpful and knew first hand about everywhere we wanted to experience. The hotel was clean, bed was very comfortable, rooms are well equipped with all you need. Minutes to the beautiful harbour, restaurants, night life, car rentals etc. Thumbs up for the Park Regis!

Room Tip: The higher up the better for a quieter sleep. Gets a bit wild late at night with all the night life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagittariusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your great review. Our planned (and very trendy) refurbishment plans will further improve the property. Hope to see you back soon

Kind regards

Mike Davies
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    125
    129
    86
    75
See reviews for
52
185
64
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

When booking on line it's always a gamble when you arrive, but the minute we arrived at the Park Regis in Auckland I knew we made the right choice. Perfect location in the heart of downtown and within walking distance of nearly everything. The staff was amazing, Sid and Matilde at the front desk are overwhelming what made the hotel shine. They went over and above when we needed help, directions, pointing out places of interest or a rental car. The room was clean although it does get a little noisey on Fri and Sat nights. We had the room over Queen St on the front of the bldg. The outside noise made it difficult to sleep, we like the window open so it was our own decision, instead of turning on the A/C unit.
Before arriving I had read some reviews and read about one of the elevators that shakes, rattles and vibrates. I thought it might be and old review and would be fixed by the time we arrived, but it was not. I did not mind it, even when it took to the seventh floor when I pushed the fourth floor button, in fact I thought it just added to our experience and it is now just a fond memory.
I do not have a bad word to say about the hotel, in fact I recommend the Park Regis highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpeditiousEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, particularly the service and location.

Mike Davies
General Manager- Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is located within minutes of walking distance from the ferry terminal and Queens Street shopping. There is also a New World supermarket nearby to get any groceries.One of the best hotels to stay for people without a car in central Auckland. Coming to the hotel, the room had kitchen facilities which made it easy to make quick meals. Free wifi is available only at the lobby for 100MB/30 min per day. Many people in TripAdvisor complained that the nightclub was noisy, however it didn't affect me on the 6th floor. In fact, we had a wonderful sleep on the comfortable and clean bed.

In short, a wonderful hotel for its location, service (thanks, Sid @ reception), cleanliness and worth our money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GokulSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, particularly the service and location. Our new beds are proving a hit and our planned refurbishment means even more reason to return. The team looks forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike Davies
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

the staff at the front desk were top notch and very helpful. Sid and the french girl that work the front counter need some well deserved praise. Their service and genuine care for the customer were exemplary and some of the best I have experienced at any hotel (even 5 star resorts). The rooms were a bit noisy, but should be expected for the excellent location in the center of the city. The TV only has about 8 channels and the movies for rent are very expensive. There is broadband in the room, but one would expect wifi service throughout this day in age. Wifi was only available for a 1/2 period once a day. Been traveling a ton and still don't understand why wifi is not free in these hotels. My allergies kicked in as a result of the dust in the room. THe room was not dirty really, but needed a good dusting (walls, vents desk top, etc). My advice to this hotel is pay attention to detail when cleaning. I think it would be easy and routine when cleaning so many rooms. Detail also as in a comforter with stains on it really should not be overlooked. With this said I do believe the new management is trying to make a difference. More time will hopefully be in their favor. Although I write a critique I don't agree with another review saying "look somewhere else". The location is what you are paying for and the rates if you compare are not bad. If you are in town for a couple of days I think it is fine. I stayed for a week and still was content. There is onsite laundry which I do not recall reading about and a "gym". The TV and ventilation in gym do not work and the equipment is old, but you could get a basic workout in. The les Mills and the city gym are about $25/day so free should be functional enough. oh…there is also a sauna which was a nice additive if you like them. If I am back in town I'll swing by and say hi to the staff there as they made my stay pleasant. I hope you enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marazzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
I sincerely appreciate your detailed insights into our hotel, particularly the points on central location and nightlife. Fort street precinct is fast becoming the trendiest part of town with some exceptionally good options for restaurants, cafes and clubs. With venues like Everybody's Izakaya, Roxy Night Club and Fort Street Union amongst others our location really is a spot on. I take on board your comments on dusting and will ensure that no room is overlooked when it comes to this. You will be delighted to hear that we are undergoing a major refurbishment in the very near future which involves a total overhaul of rooms , lobby and restaurant.
PS: The front office team thank you for their special mention :)

Kind regards

Mike Davies - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hotel right in the main area, can walk to everything. Bit costly and not much food selection, Rooms need upgrading, carpets particulary, badly stained don' know what with but advise not to walk barefoot on them. No porters to help with luggage and there is a flight of steps from main street to lobby area which you struggle to carry heavy cases up. Most bedrooms look out onto walls approx 3 ft away, no light or sun.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
You will be delighted to hear that after our recent takeover we, like you, have recognised the need for a major refurbishment and are embarking on a major project to uplift all aspects of this grand old building. My only regret is that we could not complete this before your stay. I must correct you however regarding the views, the majority of our room face queen street and the harbour.


Best regards,

Mike Davies
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

6 of us booked in August for a stay in March for a concert. Booking was confirmed .In February we were contacted and asked to pay in full within the next 24 hours or our booking would be cancelled.We negotiated another 48 hours and contacted others Decision was made that we had no choice but to pay as Auckland accommodation was at a premium and we would not find anywhere else.Most unusual to be asked for payment in full before we had stayed.On arrival all our credit cards were debited $100 to be refunded after our stay. Had great difficulty then in getting confirmation of our internet payment being received by the hotel. Not easy to access the hotel and we ended parking some distance away and walking back.
Rooms were varied. One couple had wet carpet from leaky bathroom and room didn't smell great either.The lifts were scary as they shook and creaked . Hotel is badly in need of refurbishment. Too many hassles encountered to mention.Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

You will be delighted to hear that we are undergoing a major refurbishment in the very near future which involves a total overhaul of rooms , lobby and restaurant. We hope to exceed you expectations the next time you visit.

Mike Davies
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
2,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland

Property: Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Address: 58-60 Queen Street | Next to Louis Vuitton Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment, the photos you can see are our now completed rooms. The Restaurant and reception are currently being renovated. Surrounded by the shopping and entertainment streets of the waterfront. Grand Windsor Hotel blends a protected historic building with chic, contemporary interior design. It boasts a great location in amongst the smart boutiques of Queen Street, right in the heart of Auckland and just off the scenic harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Windsor Auckland
Mercure Hotel Windsor Auckland
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing