We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Adequate accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Location close to the city is good. Service satisfactory but they mixed up my departure date with my request for a shuttle bus booking to the airport. Don't eat in the restaurant - there are plenty of good cafes etc nearby at better prices. Beware rooms on the far (eastern?) side of the hotel in Waterloo Quadrant, as you'll be awoken at 5am with the sound of what seems like rubbish trucks revving, crunching & grinding!! I requested a replacement room which was addressed promptly & was a much better room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear “Siobhan G”,

First of all I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing the Pullman Auckland when travelling to the ‘City of Sails’. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to promptly move you to a more suitable and quiet room. Please accept my sincere apologies that an error was made regarding your shuttle bus booking. I trust this was resolved immediately.

As I am unable to tell from TripAdvisor which guest has left a review, I would be grateful if you would kindly send me an email with the date and name of your recent reservation. I would like to ensure that on all future stays, we reserve a quieter room for you, and make a note of any other preferences you may have in order to make your stays extra comfortable. (c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz)

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    819
    296
    78
    40
See reviews for
329
885
154
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here on the 21st December for one night. Got a 30% off accor special including breakfast, for a superior room.

Friendly and helpful reception. Got upgraded to an Executive Suite in the Pullman Tower which was a nice surprise, room was a great size being the size of two standard rooms. Super comfy beds.

Perhaps the rooms in this original wing are getting a little on the tired side. Carpets reasonably worn, marks on the walls, nice furniture in the room but maybe lacking in a bit of 'luxury' touches in the room and for example there was an entrance glass small table that had nothing on it and looked quite sparse (surely a glass sculpture or something similar?) Also a few magazines would be a nice touch.

I guess what I'm touching on here is with a 5 star property it is lacking those extra little luxury touches that you might expect and make the difference between a 4 and 5 star property, however for the price paid on this booking I can't really fault.

Pool/Spa facilities are superb this is a great area of the property.

Breakfast was included in the café this was of a pretty good standard however it would be nice if coffee was offered rather than having to ask for it.

Overall an enjoyable stay - just a few points to improve on but once again for the price paid was very happy with the value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floor for a better view. Residence Tower would be the pick for rooms if you can afford the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auckguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear “auckguy1”,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and the team took extra special care of you and your family. The Spa at the Pullman is one of my favourite areas of the hotel – fantastic that you had an opportunity to experience this tranquil and relaxing urban oasis.

I am pleased to let you know that while the bedrooms were refurbished in 2010, we are in the planning stages of a refurbishment to the hotel tower. In the meantime, I will share some of your points with the team so we can better serve you in the future.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was about my 5th time staying at this hotel and unless there is a serious makeover and upgrade to the rooms, restaurant and overall appearance then I'm afraid that it will be my last. While the staff are friendly enough and as accomodating as they can be the bottom line is that overall the entire place has been ridden hard and put away wet.
Location is OK, just a short walk to town but beware walking back up the hill if you have been out all day, it's a hike back up there.
Cannot recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthurkemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Director of Operations at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear "ArthurKemish",

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on our hotel. While I am pleased that you find our team friendly and accommodating, I was disappointed to read that certain facilities in the hotel are not up to your expectations. Our Café Restaurant, Omni Bar and Lobby have recently been refurbished and we often receive positive feedback regarding the service and style of these areas. While the hotel bedrooms were refurbished in 2010, I am delighted to let you know that we are in the planning stages of a refurbishment to the rooms in the hotel tower.

As you know, we cannot tell from TripAdvisor which guest has left a review. If you do not mind, I would be most appreciative if you could send me a quick e-mail (z.lumsden@pullmanauckland.co.nz) so we can liaise direct. We would very much like to welcome you back to the Pullman Auckland and perhaps one of our rooms in the Residence Tower will be more suitable for future stays.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,


Zac Lumsden
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Fantastic location and hotel, service was a little disappointing, I returned to my room at 4pm and it still hadn't been made up, and both mornings at breakfast I had to prove i'd prepaid and wasn't served coffee on the second morning, despite reminding the waiter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank David John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Director of Operations at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear "David John T",

Thank you for choosing the Pullman Auckland for your recent stay in the city. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your room was serviced later than you expected and that you were not offered coffee during breakfast. Please be rest assured that this is not of our usual standard in The Cafe Restaurant.

As you know, we cannot tell from TripAdvisor which guest has left a review. If you do not mind, I would be most appreciative if you could send me a quick e-mail on z.lumsden@pullmanauckland.co.nz so I may investigate further your breakfast experience and ensure that on future stays, our Housekeeping team arrange to service your room in the morning.

In the meantime, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Zac Lumsden
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Is not the first time I've used Pullman Hotel for business. In this occasion, the VFX artist and website designer that works for my company stayed for one week.
We had several business meetings over breakfasts and dinners. He was appointed a beautiful suite with fantastic views of the city and the Gardens of the Old Government House. Sometimes we had to work straight through in his suite with no chance to go to The Cafe Restaurant on the Lobby level. We didn't have to worry because Room Service was great, delicious food delivered in no time. Buffet breakfast at the restaurant is well presented, good selection of delicious cold and hot food and my compliments to the Chef... the Bircher Muesli absolutely fantastic ! The same recognition for the Caesar Salad that I've enjoyed during dinner and the other delicious meals we had, top of the top.
In the same way, the fantastic service from the staff. They've looked after us in a formidable way, the Front Office Manager Sevag outstanding and his entire team, Reception and Concierge, first-class !
Everyone looked after us in a professional and caring way, they were very helpful when in need; they all deserve a star.
My guest didn't stop raving about his stay at the Pullman Hotel and he is looking forward for his next visit. I can't blame him.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear "Alexander D",

Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. The team and I are truly humbled by your kind words and are delighted that you very much enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you look to book your next stay, as I will be pleased to ensure that you and your colleagues are comfortable and have everything you need to ensure another successful visit. (c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz)

In the meantime, the team and I wish you a fantastic, festive season!

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing