We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and care”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quality and care”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent a few days here on business. Friendly and efficient staff, who seem ever ready to help out with your requests. Used the very well equipped gym, and wish I had more time to spend in the spa. Rooms, meals, etc everything you would expect from 5 star hotel. Very good location near the university and couple of blocks from Queen Street. Feels a bit like a residential area, with many good cafes and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariner59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mariner59,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel especially your comments on our friendly, efficient staff and location. I am glad you were able to enjoy our Spa at the Pullman facilities during your stay. We are just in the process of updating our Fitness machines and our guests are responding well to the new high tech equipment.

I hope you will visit us again from across the ditch in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    859
    318
    79
    43
See reviews for
342
928
165
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Pullman Auckland before, but this was my first stay in a Superior Residence room. I arrived in the early evening after a day of driving over Northland and although the room and experience wasnt awful, it did leave something to be desired of.

The toilet didnt flush (thankfully I hadnt needed to use it). I contacted reception, who sent a repair man, and the toilet was fixed after 40mins.

While taking a shower and the shower tap came off in my hand. On closer inspection I could see that it wasnt attached, and looked like it hadnt been attached for sometime But it didnt affect my shower and I was able to put it back on and turn the water off. (I told reception about this the next morning).

The door on a cabinet would catch on the carpet, when you tried to open it. So you had pull it bit by bit to get into it.

Like I say the experience wasnt awful, but there were some basic things you wouldnt expect to have to deal with in a 4.5 star hotel, and especially have a day of travelling. I assume it was just a one-off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

Please accept my apologies on your experience in our Residence Superior room. Thank you, however, for relaying your room concerns to our friendly reception team so they were able to rectify the problem.

With regards to carpet and cabinet, we have recently laid down new carpet in these room types and they are still settling at present which is causing the cabinet to catch a little. We have looked into these rooms as a result of your review to address all your concerns.

Thank you again for choosing Pullman Auckland for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and love the spa and the service. The rooms are comfortable and of god quality if a little tired in some. The bathrooms are very cool. Breakfast in the room is a lovely addition and you must use the spa facilities as they are very luxurious. If you can have a massage it is paradise.
It is at the top of a very steep hill but still very convenient to the city. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moaiisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear moaiisle,

Thank you for your review of our property. I have passed your positive comments on to our spa team and they are very appreciative of your kind remarks. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and am very grateful that you would recommend our hotel to others.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Pullman (for a Business trip) for 17 nights in May/June, and have just booked a further 12 nights in July. I would highly recommend this hotel. I stayed in one of the residences and it met or exceeded all of my expectations. A big thank you to the staff that took care of myself and my guests on the public holiday where we used the informal wi-fi room on the ground floor for business the entire day. And same to all staff in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDA305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear SDA305,

Thank you for your most welcomed feedback on our hotel and for choosing Pullman for your repeat visit. I am truly humbled that you would highly recommend our hotel to others, and am so glad that the team managed to work together to exceed all of your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in July where we hope to impress you with our professional service once again.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and i checked into the Pullman for our anniversary. From the valet to Sevag, the front office manager, from Joan in the restaurant to Christine at the spa, the level of service provided was par excellence. Staff do the establishment proud. Room was top notch. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Wayne A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such glowing feedback. Happy Anniversary! I am so glad my team made your stay such an enjoyable and memorable one. I have passed your feedback on to the team and they are truly appreciative of your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights and overall I would have to say that we enjoyed our first stay at the Pullman. Clean but actually smelt clean too not just looked clean. The staff were great, smart in appearance, friendly and very professional. Nothing seemed too small for their attention. We asked for a room with a view in advance and when we arrived the front staff assured me that we had one. 12th floor was as good as we could get and was a view that looked out towards the viaduct area. Just beautiful waking up to the sunrise over the water. The complimentary wifi worked well enough for what it was. Free pool, health gym and spa. Parking during the day was expensive but at night no problem parking outside on the road and that was free till 8am.

Room Tip: Phone and ask for a room with a view in advance so you don't get a sorry we fully booked excuse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Josywales,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel, especially your kind comments on our great staff, clean surroundings and room with a view. Thank you also for advising us on what your preferred room type was in advance of your arrival at the hotel so we could make our best efforts to provide you with this.

I hope you managed to squeeze in a spa treatment in addition to enjoying our Spa at the Pullman facilities. It’s a truly unique (and very relaxing) experience, so if you didn’t manage to enjoy one on this visit I would definitely advise you to put it on the “to do” list for you next visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide this review.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing