We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - great style, service and facilities”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Recently travelled around NZ and stayed in c. 20 hotels / motels, which I think provided me with a good idea and cross section of accommodation available in the country. In Auckland we stayed in 3 different hotels including the Pullman, and when we returned, out of the three I chose to go back to Pullman. This was an easy choice and overall, Pullman makes it easy to explore Auckland.

The Pullman is a large, well-run hotel, but service quality is not sacrificed. All staff from the front desk to housekeeping were very friendly. We arrived a bit before check-in time, but were swiftly checked in and given our room. Luggage also arrived quickly. Common areas of the hotel are well maintained. The lobby, lobby bar and restaurant are very chic - reminded me of hotels in New York.

The room was spacious and functional, with a bit of a seaview to boot. The bed was large and comfortable with high quality linen and good choice of different types of pillows. Good darkening blinds as well guaranteed an excellent night's sleep, which for me is a key point in any hotel. To respond to some of the previous reviews about rooms being dated, I didn't really think this was the case. It's a question of style and whilst there is a grey carpet in the room, it's light and clean. Furniture is wooden and not modern slick black, but nothing in our room was scuffed or dusty. Bathroom again not necessarily the most modern, but furnished with high quality materials, nice towels and robes and impeccably clean.

The hotel seems to be quite environmentally conscious as well - plus points for the recycling bin in the room and use of local products.

Moving onto the other facilities in the hotel - very nice indoor pool, sauna and steam room. Small outdoor terrace area next to the pool. Well-equipped gym as well. Spa area is simple and stylish, very relaxing. Wasn't the best massage of my life but decent value for a capital city hotel spa.

We got a very good deal online in my view for both our stays, with breakfast included. Breakfast was a vast spread of cooked items, fresh fruit, youghurts, mueslis and bread. Also a great selection of juices. Highly recommend.

Overall, would not hesitate to stay again at the Pullman. I think some of the reviews about 'funny toilet sound' etc are a bit unfair.

Room Tip: HIgher floors might have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear EmiliaS,

What a great review – we are truly humbled for all your positive comments on our hotel and also because we were your preference of hotel for your return visit to Auckland.

I have sent your review around the team and everyone is truly appreciative of your kind words and constructive feedback you have provided for other tripadvisor users.

It is unfortunate that the massage you experienced was not up to your standards as this is the one area of the hotel that we get consistent high praise for, especially from our international travelers. I hope that during your next stay you will provide us with another chance so our 5 star therapists can show you their skills.

Although a long way away from London, I hope that you will stay with us again sometime in the future.

All the best for the New Year!

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,788 - 1,794 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haifromhay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed again over the New Year period, almost empty....had the pool almost to ourselves for the three days we stayed....total bliss. Can fully recommend. Plus the front desk were very accommodating and helpful in sorting out what could have been a very tricky problem. The porters and concierge...great! Helpful hints about parking for free (during public holidays) And the cleaning staff....very efficient too. Will stay again.

Room Tip: If you are their during an NZ public holiday parking on the street if free (be sure to find alternat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rokucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear rokucho,

Thank you for providing another great review on our hotel. We value your return visit and I am glad the kids got to enjoy the pool again. Love your Tripadvisor profile picture of them by the way.

The Pullman team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Auckland Region, New Zealand
63
Reviewed January 7, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Pullman for New Years. We have stayed here before (for the Rugby World Cup opening night), and once again we found this Hotel to be excellent. We also enjoyed our breakfast the next morning, and found staff to be very attentive

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeezS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear LeezS2,

Thank you for staying in and reviewing our hotel again. It is great that you have again experienced the same high level of service as you encountered during your first stay. We are very grateful for your repeat stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your next stay.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The thing that made our stay really great was the service from the staff. From the very first greeting from the valets right through to the check in. The service from each individual was outstanding and made us feel very welcome. Well done to all the team...excellent service all round!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeffnDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear MeffnDiv,

Thank you for your truly great review on our hotel, especially with regards to our friendly staff. Our team work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their time with us and I am so glad that you experienced this dedication during your stay.

I have passed your comments on to the team and they truly appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family stayed here for one night at the end of a three-week trip to New Zealand. We were ready for an exceptional hotel stay and the Pullman did not disappoint! Attention to detail and service, exceptional. The Concierge was most helpful with bag storage, directions to attractions and recommendations for restaurants in the area, and arranging for transport to the airport. Waterfront and Sky Tower are a pleasant ten minute walk passing the Albert Park. Room quality, also exceptional. One of the reasons I chose the Pullman was because of the two-bedroom suite. Our two children had their own room with a nice lounge area and kitchenette in between the two rooms. Room was very comfortable and quiet - very little street noise as the hotel is located a couple of blocks off of the main street through town. The bathrooms were spotless and and soaking tub a dream after 3 weeks of holiday park showers. Good quality bed and bath linens, the robes are a nice touch. Food quality in the cafe for both lunch and breakfast was very good but a bit pricey. We weren't able to take advantage of the pool or spa facilities because of our short stay but they looked very clean and welcoming. Definately would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor if you are worried about street noise. We were on the 11th floor and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebud59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Rosebud59,

Thank you for your glowing review and for choosing to stay with us. It is great that the whole family was able to have a Pullman experience, but what a shame you did not make it down to the pool and spa facilities. Hopefully your next visit will allow for more time to enjoy this hotel offering.

Our two bedroom suites are the best room types for families, as us parents can have some independence from the kids with the separate rooms, but still come together in the linked lounge area. But I am sure you discovered that whilst staying!

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to stay with us on your next visit to New Zealand.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $140 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing