We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first in New Zealand” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
uk vulcan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“first in New Zealand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

this was our first stop in new Zealand and we came back later in the trip. the hotel was functional but a bit tired. the rooms could do with a makeover - especially the disabled access ones. For example the carpets in the rooms were somewhat stained. Breakfasts were great with lots of selection and the rest of the food was good. the best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were so friendly and helpful they made the stay so much more pleasant. Beware of Auckland if using a wheelchair - very hilly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear tcauUkVulcan,

Thank you for your review especially the great comments you provided on our friendly staff. I would suggest during your next stay that you upgrade to one of our residence suites. These are our newer room types that offer more space with your own private balcony, lounge, and kitchen facilities as well as larger bathrooms which are appreciated by less mobile guests.

I am glad you agree with the consensus on our buffet breakfast. We try to ensure that we offer a range of options and I am happy that you experienced this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    800
    289
    76
    39
See reviews for
324
853
154
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
324 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I must admit to having had a few reservations when I saw that I had been booked into the Pullman in Auckland, having had some issues with other Accor hotels this year.

Well, my concerns proved to be completely unfounded at the Pullman (in a prior life it was the Hyatt). The staff were very friendly and obliging, the check in procedure smooth and efficient. The room had been renovated and was functional as well as comfortable. The hotel is at least 25 years old, but works as you would expect for a renovated 5 star hotel of that age. I used the Valet parking and was pleased with the speed with which the car arrived out front. The breakfast was excellent. The only downside being the behaviour of a tour group who ascended on the buffet with behaviour suggesting that hadn't eaten for a week ! Too often people travelling en masse seems to forget that there might be others staying at the hotel and common civility can, and did evaporate. This was the only downside but having raised this it wasn't the fault of the hotel.

The hotel is well located to the city centre - about 600 metres away. The walk back up the hill may prove a little challenging for those with mobility issues.

I was well pleased with the Pullman - it worked well and for me the ultimate test is whether I would be happy to return - and yes I will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Geddes_7,

As a Top Tripadvisor Contributor we value your feedback and praise of our hotel. I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that our team worked together to provide you with the high level of service that you experienced.

We would love to see you again at the hotel from across the ditch in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was the first stop of our trip. The location is excellent, next to a great Art Museum and the beautiful Albert Park. The rooms are refurbished and quite nice. The breakfast is really excellent and the service very good overall. The gym is very well equipped and the 25 m swimming pool way above your usual hotel pool. It is also at walking distance if you want to catch a train for the National Park. We recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik_from_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Bonjour Eric C,

Thank you for your positive feedback – it sounds like you have had a great time walking around Auckland and seeing some of the sites surrounding the hotel.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand trip and look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The Pullman staff gave us a warm welcome and our room had a good view, comfortable bed and tasteful furnishings.
The indoor heated pool was brilliant. The cafe staff at breakfast were very attentive - overall one of the best one night's stay we have encountered in New Zealand.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flagstaff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Flagstaff8,

Thank you for your positive review – especially your comments on our tasteful furnishings, staff and Spa at the Pullman facilities. We are very happy that you have experienced one of your best stays in New Zealand whilst at our hotel – we are truly humbled by your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's a relatively expensive hotel in a good location.
All staff were friendly & attentive but the rooms are tired, very tired.
The carpet is faded and worn, the furniture is marked, the TV's are very old & the airconditioner made a loud screeching noise after 10 minutes.
Small windows add to an uneasy cramped feeling.

I was there on business & found there was no light bulb in the desk lamp, no paper in the stationery draw....

Try somewhere else

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear MurrayBSydney,

Thank you for providing a review on our hotel. Thank you also for your kind comments on our friendly staff.

It is unfortunate that you encountered a few minor issues with your room. My apologies on this - I have addressed this with the team as a result. I wish you had bought your concerns to the attention of our friendly reception staff as they would have been more than happy to rectify your concerns or in the event that they could not be fixed, have happily moved you to another room.

I hope you have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were in Auckland for one night to see a show.

We found the front desk staff extremely helpful and keen to do all the running around for us.

The facility was in a good location for us, but we do tend to walk a lot. It's at the top of a small hill so might not appeal to all.

Our room was fantastic with a view over the park. Would definately recommend you ask for this. It was clean and all the amenities met our expectations.

Has a nice bar in the sun also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Stuart W,

Thank you for your review of our property including your positive comments on our front desk team, location and your room.

I hope you have a fantastic Christmas and we hope to see you again in the New Year.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Level Contributor
186 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and wanted to check out immediately. We paid top dollar for something very average. When I rang to complain I was told I am in one of the better rooms. For AUD 300 a night you what towels larger than an A3 sheet of paper, and thicker! The toilet flush sounds like there is a freight train in the bathroom.
It’s a 3 star room with a 4 star lobby and somehow a 5 star rating...go figure!
The location is also not so good. The hotel is on top of a hill. Its all right leaving but returning can be a killer if you’re on foot.
There are much better hotels in town at a lower costs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear justcruizen,

Thank you for review on our hotel. We receive many positive comments on our hotel but it appears in this instance unfortunately you did not experience an enjoyable stay, my apologies for this.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Pullman Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing