We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,142)
Filter reviews
2,142 results
Traveler rating
991
776
251
82
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
991
776
251
82
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool tower wing hectors restaurant department store raw food deluxe suite valet parking sliding door harbour bridge room was large new zealand comfortable bed central location cooking facilities buffet breakfast washing machine great room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,142 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019

They gave me a west facing room overlooking the rooftop pool (a rarity in Auckland, and only useful on one day of my mid-winter stay), but I moved to a north facing room with a bath. The room they initially gave me had less road noise I worked out later, which was good of them, but my new room had sun all day (when it showed itself). Both rooms were dated, as the hotel-wing seems to be (there is a "newer" tower wing). But after 3 days I've grown to love the place. It's got character, and not like the majority of hotels you get around the world that all seem the same. Nice one.

I struggled with the rating for sleep. The bed is super comfy, the only complaint is the road noise, but it wouldn't have been as bad if I hadn't moved rooms. I'd gladly return.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChickenBokBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear ChickenBokBok,

What an interesting review title, but I really did enjoy reading your review.

It seems that we kind of managed to give you a good stay experience, spread over a couple of rooms. Firstly with the west facing pool deck view room, and then into a sunny north facing room, but with a little too much traffic noise for your liking. This is a challenge that we face in a CBD hotel, and especially one that is set within a 100+ year old building, with a strong focus on remaining true to the style and feel of the building. I was pleased to read that that when you highlighted to our team that you would like a room move, they were able to make this happen for you without any fuss, we do always strive to meet our guests room preferences, when we can.

Really nice to see that you found the bed to be super comfy, which helped with the sleep experience, we're just sorry the road noise had you wavering on the overall sleep rating.

The best we can ask for is when our valued guests indicate that they would gladly return, and/or recommend us to their friends and family.

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience.


Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Love staying at the Heritage in Auckland. Friendly helpful and knowledgeable staff, as well as great food and a decent wine list. Really easy location to get anywhere in Auckland. Short downhill walk to the lovely Viaduct Basin - lots of decent eateries; both casual and fine-dining.
If you're into Art Deco architecture go no further. During the renovations they've managed to retain some of the original features and have matched the room furniture to the period. Smart move.
One of the best beds I've ever sleep in - great comfort.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaM249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear TrishaM249,

It is really rewarding to read your review and see that you love staying with us here at Heritage Auckland. I'm pleased to see that you find our food & beverage offering to be on point, and that our team are friendly and knowledgeable.

Our location is certainly a bonus, being located centrally and within easy walking distance to Queen Street and the Viaduct Harbour area.

we do love our Art Deco features, we're currently looking into a room refresh program and have a focus on maintaining what we have set in place while looking to highlight the Art Deco aspects further, where we can.

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience.



Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

Stayed for five nights to recover from jet lag, explore Auckland and go on a couple of day trips before our 30 day tour of New Zealand. Room was located on 3rd floor and overlooked a service lane. Clean with a comfortable bed but the room was in desperate need of dragging out of the 19th century. The hallway and room door locked dirty. I have to admit to being disappointed when we first arrived and could not understand why our UK travel agent thought so highly of this place. It was clean but it looked very sad and in desperate need of paint. I have never experienced a hotel room with a combined hob, oven and dishwasher outside the bathroom!
We were in Auckland to see the sights so spent very little time in the room. Breakfast was excellent and the egg station was very efficient. A wide and varied selection of food is offered in the excellent buffet. Most evenings we ate out but once we were late back so popped into the restaurant for meal. The food was not a good experience so we avoided their restaurant for the rest of our stay. Whenever we engaged with staff we found them helpful, courteous and exceptionally polite even down to personally guiding us to the roof top pool!
This hotel was among a handful we encountered that charged a fee to pay your account using a credit card. New Zealand is almost alone in the world in allowing this charge. It was only in larger hotels that we experienced it and it leaves an unpleasant memory of a money grabbing organisation. In Europe, China and the United States it is not found necessary so why in New Zealand?
We did not experience such 'sad' accommodation during the rest of our stay in New Zealand so Heritage - get the paint brush out. At the moment you are offering very poor value.

Room tip: until it is refurbished stay elsewhere.......
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JERIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear JERIH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your quite mixed review of Heritage Auckland.

Firstly, I would like to say that that I would have been very happy to have met with you at any stage during your 5 night stay at Heritage Auckland to discuss your experience and feedback, it is such a shame that you didn't ask to speak with me personally. I would always recommend asking to speak with the General Manager if you are not satisfied with your stay experience.

While we do have a minimal (1.5%) credit card fee when paying by credit card, New Zealand does not have bed tax's, resort fees, occupancy taxes etc. that are on-charged to guests/visitors, as the other countries you have mentioned do; I also believe that it is somewhat disingenuous of you to say that we are a money grabbing organisation, we are after-all a business and this forms a part of our costs.

I am very pleased to report that we are starting a full repaint of all guest corridors later this month, to that end our paint brush is at the ready and primed to go. We are also in the final stages of bringing a room refresh program together, with a mock room planned in the very near future; this will then be rolled out to all guest rooms in the Hotel wing.

It is rewarding to read that you enjoyed our central location, breakfast offering and that you found our team were helpful, courteous and polite throughout your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community.



Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

Great, spacious rooms, very clean, very quiet, great location, great access.

Very, very outdated bathrooms, no towels in the pool/sauna area, very confusing layout of the building. Staff wasn't sure of the facilities available.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Dear CKNZ,

It's nice to read that you found your room to be spacious, very clean and quiet and overall great. However I'm slightly confused about your comment with regards to our team not knowing about the facilities that we have available to guests; they are all 100% aware that we have a restaurant, an indoor & outdoor pool, 2 spa pools, 2 gyms, a tennis court and sauna, located across the hotel and available for all guests to use, it would be great to understand who you talked with.

We do have a small map available to all guests that shows the connection between our wings, our team are also very happy to walk our guests between wings to assist with directions when requested . We offer pool towels from both receptions for the pools, we will also deliver these to your room.

Thank for thanking the time to share your experience.


Kindest regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

First time staying at the hotel and we will definitely be back. We stayed in a deluxe suite with 2 queen beds and we were so impressed with the size of the room. The sliding doors gave us separation from the kids.
We loved the heritage features like the dash windows.
The service was amazing from the valet parking to housekeeping who brought extra towels to our room within 5 minutes of calling.
The children swam in rooftop pool and indoor pool and spa and loved both.
The breakfast range was outstanding. So many choices. Hot items and cold. I specially loved the onion relish scones and chill press coffee.
It’s the little touches that we appreciated. A card and chocolate bar acknowledging our anniversary.
We really enjoyed staying in this historic building that we remembered from our youth.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 608tinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Dear 608tinat,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review after your stay to celebrate your 19th wedding anniversary at Heritage Auckland. It is nice to see that you liked the size of your room, and that the bed configuration worked really well for your family, with the the sliding door giving you your own space.

I'm pleased to read that your family was able to take advantage of our resort like facilities, with your kids having a chance to to swim in both of our pools.

We receive a lot of great comments about our breakfast offering and the the wide range of different options available, the cold drip coffee is something just a little different and brings in a different taste experience to your daily coffee.

We love to help people celebrate their special occasions, if we're aware that a stay is for a special occasion, or a birthday etc. is happening while staying with us, we will always do our best to acknowledge the occasion.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.



Kindest Regards
Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews