We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Class and Style”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All Class and Style”
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We were blown away with our stay at the Heritage. All the staff were extremely friendly, relaxed and helpful. From what I can tell, of our short trip to Auckland, the hotel is quite centrally located and 2 blocks from the main drag.

The room was stunning, so much more than we expected and so big. It's obviously been recently refurbished. We had a courtyard view, which suited us fine we weren't staying in our room much, unfortunately. I loved the common areas on the floors, they kept the tradition of the hotel - art deco - stylish and classy. Definitely felt like you were getting away from it all...

The breakfast was great too. Had my fair share of hotel food and this was quite a decent breakfast. I had Miso soup for breakfast! Delicious!

Highly recommend it, lovely place to relax and unwind from a hard days business, travel or shopping!

  • Liked — The stylish decor of the room and the hotel in general
  • Disliked — ...uummmm nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Have a bath, they're so deep and relaxing, aaaahhhh!!!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZQN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    663
    186
    57
    27
See reviews for
350
726
82
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

The reception staff and valets here are arrogant, rude and unhelpful. I have stayed here a number of times because the location is good and you are able to get an apartment rather than a hotel room. It is OK if you are prepared to be ignored or insulted by the staff who are above actually serving you with a smile. The Tower wing is new and I recommend you stay here rather than the old building next door which is old and noisey. The hotel has been furnished by someone who has incredibly bad taste as it is a mixture of styles as if they couldn't decide which style to go with or else there was a sale at the second hand furniture store. The Hectors restaurant is always air conditioned to be very cold so be sure to wear a coat to dinner.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Reception Staff and Valets
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2006

We stayed here for one night on our way south to Rotorua. As we were travelling by coach, we wanted a hotel close to the Bus Station and this certainly was. Just a short walk up the road. We arrived about 11am and were really pleased to be able to check in early. The staff were efficient, friendly and courteous. The room, in the older part, was more than adequate for the night and we liked the older style decor. We had asked for a no-smoking room and were given one, but unfortunately the previous occupant must have smoked in the room, as the smell lingered. I mentioned this to reception and asked for the room to be deodorised, but this did not happen. As an overnight stay this hotel was good value; convenient, clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — Convenient to centre of town
  • Disliked — Smell of smoke in non-smoking room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank scliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

Stayed here for two nights after landing in NZ, got sent to te Towers, their new wing, raining when we arrived and got wet moving to this ajacent new wing. Room was poky, the shower was huge and the washing machine was a bonus, great idea for travellers who are staying awhile in NZ.
Can't be faulted really, but had heard better things, very much a no nonsense business hotel. Stayed there because it was recommended by a friend, good location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not aware we were staying in a new wing, assumed main hotel...
  • Tips/Secrets — Check which part you are staying in.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for two nights March 2006. The staff was courteous and eager to help with anything. I had booked the hotel online and requested a room with harbor view. When we got to the hotel (at 9 am, after a 12 hour flight from LA), they had a room for us, but without the view. They told us that a room with the view of the harbor will be available around 2 pm. So, my husband and I decide to leave the luggage with the hotel staff (which they gladly tagged and stored), and strolled out to do some sight seeing. The Concierge gave us a map of the city and some tips on what to do, and best places to see/eat. By the time we got back to the hotel after breakfast, harbor, and sailing, our room was ready. We checked in, they brought all of our luggage up. The room was very clean, well decorated with a living area, a kitchenette, and off course, a nice bed. Although in the morning, if you didn’t have your windows shut, you could definitely hear the city hustling and bustling.

I think the best part about the hotel is it’s convenient location. It’s located just a few blocks from the harbor, the shopping district, the Sky Tower, the ferry terminal, good restaurants of all varieties, and bus stops. We took one of the buses to the Museum. I think it was called the Link, can’t remember now for sure.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ahmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2006

Arrived at the Heritage Auckland after a13 hour flight around about lunch time, craving a dip and a laze by the pool. Heaved cases from taxi into hotel only to be told that we would be staying round the corner - there are 2 parts to this hotel apparently. Reception staff on arrival not particularly welcoming. When we asked where the pool was so we could go relax we were told it was being refurbished but we could use the lap pool if we wanted. I think not. No mention of this when we booked on the website so were quite miffed - only booked this hotel for the "luxury" of the jacuzzi and pool following a long flight and if had known would not have booked to be honest. Room was attractive - very contemporary with nice furniture and colour scheme of red, brown and cream. Had view of Sky Tower which was quite nice (view of office block opposite not so much, but there you go). Bathroom was very luxurious with lovely separate big shower cubicle and very very clean. Did not eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment on that. Check out at reception was quick and simple (receptionist far cheerier than on arrival). To sum, lovely room and bathroom - just very disappointing that we couldn't use the pool at the end of NZ's summer. Tut.......

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CSET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

We arrived very early and very tired and found it difficult to find the correct entrance in the one way system. The car parking is valet parking only, and no-one was about, which meant that we had to leave the car in the road in order to find out what to do. Our room was unavailable so we had to drive away again. However, once we did get in the room was excellent - extremely well equipped with full kitchen facilities and 2 double rooms! If I visit Auckland again I will probably stay further out as actually there is not much to do in the central area - just the waterfront and the Sky Tower really, so there is not much point in negotiating all the traffic.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing