We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2009

This hotel ended our holiday in New Zealand and we had 3 nights there. Unfortunately it was a very bad end to an otherwise good accommodation experience throughout both North and South Islands.
To start when we arrived at 3.45 in the afternoon we were told that only 1 room was ready. There was no apology for this or explanation and we were also told that one of the rooms had a really good view as it was higher and the other one didn't. This was obviously a real disappointment and we asked why we couldn't have both with a good view but were told there were no more rooms. We booked both rooms at the same time about 3 weeks before so it was hard to believe.
The Location is pretty good although they didn't explain that it has 2 entrances on completely different streets which would have been helpful as when our friend came to meet us she went to the other entrance!
When we got back about 5.30pm to collect the other key the girl on the desk said she had to go and see a supervisor and disappeared for about 10 minutes. Again no explanation of why or apology?
The room was very large although we had upgraded to a suite so it was no better than it should have been. The view was rubbish - there was a balcony but it overlooked a multistorey carpark.
The room did have everything so I can't particularly fault it - even a washing machine but once again the service let it down as the first morning the alarm on the room's clock radio went off at 7am. No one had turned it off!!
The swimming pool in the main hotel is pretty poor - OK if you are in it on your own but it is so narrow that if there were more than 1 person in there it would be a problem and it is too narrow to swim widths! Also you have to collec the towels from reception. Reception is really busy and on the main street so there is no way you want to go down there in your dressing gown to get a towel. Why can't they be at the poolside??
The lifts are a nightmare. Each person in the lift has to use their own key card to swipe for the lift to work but that often doesn't work so you end up missing your floor. I was only 1 flight up so I asked a member of staff where the stairs were so I could walk up and he told me that there weren't any - only for staff!
When we came to check out surprise surprise there was a problem. It had been paid for on Expedia but the man on the desk insisted I gave him my card to "release" it as he had taken an imprint of it when I arrived. I thought this was strange but he was insistent and before I knew it he had put 2 nights for 2 of us through on my credit card even though it had quite clearly been paid. When I questioned it he was most rude and it was only when another member of the front desk put him straight that he realised his mistake. There was no apology and when I mentioned this he argued back.
The final thing was that the front desk had ordered us a taxi for the airport telling us it was a special rate. Of course when we got to the airport there was no such special rate and the taxi company couldn't understand why they had told us that.
There are plenty of hotels in Auckland so whatever you do don't stay here. We stayed in a very good Hertiage hotel in Nelson so it isn't Heritage which is a problem but this particular one was really poor from start to finish.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2009

Wow what a huge room for a city centre hotel, we were in a double deluxe. It is a bit confusing as the hotel in two parts; there is an older building which we were in and the more contemporary towers. The older one is accessed on Hobson St and the more contemporary on Nelson St. We initially went to the reception of the wrong one so had to be redirected. The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to the harbour front or 5 minutes to the Skytower.

The building is lovely and the décor wonderful, with a combination of lush carpeting or original wooden flooring. The rooms have 2 huge double beds separated by a divide and sliding screen and a galley style kitchen (with a cute little dishwasher).

The roof top outdoor swimming pool was very cold but the adjacent Jacuzzi was very warm. It is a lovely setting as you can see the harbour or gaze up at the Skytower. Open late too so you can relax under the stars. By sharp contrast the indoor pool was only a lap pool and in a depressing room, so didn’t even bother making use of it just turned around and left.

Tip – if you book on the internet keep checking the prices as they go up/down and even though we’d already booked they honoured the lower price when I emailed them. Superb service!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed here for a couple of days at the end of a long camper van holiday in NZ. There are essentially two hotels, the towers and the main hotel. We stayed in the towers, the room had a fully equipped kitchen and the bathroom also had a washer/dryer. The room was spacious and fairly new with all modern conveniences. The tv channels didn't work very well but we weren't around long enough to get it checked out. Staff were exceptionally helpful in faciliating us with our motor home. In advance of the booking they confirmed that as it wouldn't fit in the multi-storey car park they would arrange alternative parking which worked out perfectly. There was also no extra charge for this. The towers has a nice pool/gym/sauna area and the other building has a lovely rooftop pool area which the weather unfortunately did not permit us to use. There are also tennis courts. For two nights we paid about NZ$320 and the kitchen allowed us to make our own breakfast etc. The hotel is a couple of minutes to Queen Street. Two small negative comments I would make are that despite the friendly staff, good location, good value and very acceptable rooms, the place was atmosphere-less. This didn't concern us as we were looking for someplace functional but it may not suit every occasion. Secondly, I had a laptop and nobody really seemed to be able to tell me how much the internet connection cost and it wasn't clear on the web log-on either. I was quoted an astounding 68c per minute by one member of staff, I can only hope that was incorrect! Still, if my circumstances were the same again I would happily book the Heritage again/recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

The Heritage at Auckland is most suitably located for tourists and business travellers alike. It is placed in the heart of Auckland within walking distance of Auckland's casinos and attractions. The hotel was warm, very comfortable, large rooms, with outdoor seating and the staff were well prepared to serve your business and tourist needs alike. The hotel itself is less of the attraction compared with the Casino and the attached Auckland Tower (from which you can bungee jump), where the slots and bar are open all night for your amusement. We walked everywhere and were excellently guided by the concierge who were very well informed about tourist sights and gave excellent advise and tips on the same. Additionally, for all the comforts provided, the room was huge and the rates very reasonable even in peak season

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank utkarshmorarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I recently spent three nights at this hotel. With the exception of taking a bus to the Auckland War Memorial Museum (we returned on foot), we walked everywhere we wanted to go including the harbor, restaurants, shopping areas, National Maritime Museum, Sky City, etc. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. It had a mini-bar (didn't use) and supplies for making coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Our room overlooked the courtyard dining area. There were sitting areas outside the elevators on each floor. Breakfasts were fabulous and included just about anything you could possibly desire for your morning meal. The staff was friendly and courteous. We did not use the pool or fitness center but both appered very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

The location was perfect! You could walk to the marina where there are tons of restaurants, pubs, shops, and the Sky Tower. The hotel was an excellent price and it was very nice and comfortable. The staff was very nice, they have a great roof top pool, and tennis courts. Our rooms even had fabulous views of the harbor! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms.NatalieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Spent our wedding night here. Based our choice on the fantastic reputation it has and it didnt disappoint. Was a brilliant place to end our special day.

Great modern spacious room and bathroom. Excellent room service.

Will definitely come back here - for our 25th anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VitzWainui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $127 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing