We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wee break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful wee break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We were shouted a night there by our son, a very special treat.
The staff at reception were so pleasant and helpful...
We had a lovely large room overlooking the harbour bridge...stunning.
I do feel the rooms could use a refurbishment , but the bed was very comfortable, so not too much to complain about.
Be warned...no movies .
Dinner a
Was divine...steak and veg cooked to perfection

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Debbie C,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay earlier this month.

What a nice son shouting you a night away; I was pleased to read that our reception team were pleasant & helpful and that you enjoyed the large room with views across to the harbour bridge. We have been getting great comments about our beds and understand that having a great sleep is a key part to any hotel stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    646
    178
    56
    24
See reviews for
337
705
80
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We came to Auckland to visit our daughter studying at the University. Our suite room was ideal and the service was great all around from the valet parking to the housekeeping and front desk. Breakfasts had good spread of food and amazingly they offered excellent vegan / vegetarian meals for dinner. Location was very convenient to town and the wharf. As we spent the middle 2 weeks of a month trip here, we booked a Tower room including a clothes washer-dryer. Our package deal also included wifi, although the free limit was only 500 MB per day, sufficient for typical email, Facebook and our travel blog, but not for films etc.

Room Tip: Look for a Suite deal, and consider the Tower block if you want a clothes washer-dryer in your bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Nadel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Don_Nadel2014,

Thank you for your positive review after your stay in July.

It is really nice to read that you found that our service was great across all of our team. I’m pleased that you enjoyed Hectors Restaurant, both our breakfast and dinner receive a lot of positive comments. Our focus on healthy eating is very well received, with our RAW breakfast offering and also our well thought out dinner menu, which includes a wide range of meal options to suit all tastes requirements; including a strong focus on both vegetarian and vegan dishes, as you have commented on.

The Tower suites are well equipped with cooking facilities, fridge/freezer and washer/dryer; this makes both short and long stays very comfortable.

We hope to see you stay again if you return to Auckland to visit your daughter at university.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed at The Heritage for three nights. The first two nights we were allocated a room on the 7th floor of the hotel wing. The room was OK, a bit dated and with the usual poor lighting, no good for reading, and with no double glazing so a bit noisy. What with the street noise, the alarm clock radio going off at midnight (note to housekeeping, make sure the alarm is OFF) and a noisy crowd at the convention centre just 2 doors down the hall, the first night was not very restful. The second night will be better we thought but no, another convention/party even louder than the first one with groups of revellers whooping it up just outside our bedroom door late into the night. I was getting wiser by then and asked reception if there was going to be another function on that night. Yes, I was told so I asked to be transferred to another quieter room. This they did and for the last night we enjoyed a lovely big, sunny, quiet room in the tower block. It was like two completely different hotels and for much the same price. So, for what it is worth, don't on any account accept a room on the 7th floor and go for the tower block. It is much more modern comfortable and quiet. I must just mention the breakfast which was one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had. They promote The Good Food project which commits to fresh, healthy, sustainable food, much of it vegan, raw food and organic. It is absolutely delicious, try the coconut yogurt, compressed fruits and nutty, seedy granola. One more moan, please hotels, how about free wifi? Just build it into the price. No-one likes paying big prices for one hours worth of wifi; it should all be included.

Room Tip: I had to tick noise level loud because of the first two nights but after that, it was fine and I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirondelle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Hirondelle09,

I was disappointed when seeing the title of your review after your recent stay. I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations.

We did have a number of dinner events over recent days in the Grand Tea Room, which is located on the 7th floor of the Hotel wing. These dinners all ended at 11pm, with all dinner guests gone from the Grand Tea Room by 11.30pm at the latest. I was pleased to read that when you raised your concern that our team moved you to the Tower wing and I’m pleased that you enjoyed this wing of the hotel. The Tower wing does offer a different experience as you’ve noted, with the Hotel wing being more historic and full of character and the Tower being more contemporary in look and feel. It is fair to say that that it is very rare for the hotel to have as many dinner events in a row as you encountered during your stay; I would like to recommend both wings of the hotel for different stay experiences – however I would encourage guests to let us know if they’re not happy for any reason, to allow us an opportunity to provide a better experience.

I will certainly address the alarm clock issue with our housekeeping team; I understand the frustration of an alarm clock going off at midnight.

Thank you for your positive comments about breakfast, we receive a lot of positive feedback, with a wide range of dishes available, including our unique RAW Bar breakfast option, which has been extremely well thought out by our Executive Chef, Jinu, who is focused on delivering balanced menu options.

We are looking to including internet in the near future; however in the meantime I would keep an eye out for our great package offers, which do already include internet.

I would again like to apologise that we didn’t provide the level of service that we pride ourselves on. Thank you taking the time to place such in-depth feedback and share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Good hotel for work, I got up graded to the executive suite in the tower which was pretty amazing, and way more than I needed by myself! Staff friendly, morning breakfast selection good, rooms warm and quite, good central location, only about 5 minute walk to the wharf precinct.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear FamilyTraveller1012,

Thank you for your positive review after your stay. I was pleased to read that we met your needs for work and that you enjoyed the room upgrade to a suite. It was also good reading that you found our team to be friendly and that breakfast offered a good selection, to help kick-start your start your day. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you’re visiting Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent location in Auckland's city centre. Our room was spacious and perfectly clean, with probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever encountered. This is such a good value place to stay -- the price is excellent, considering how nice the facilities are and how perfect the location is.

The hotel's biggest flaw was that it doesn't offer much wifi... guests can use 60 minutes of free wifi a day, but after that you need to pay. Ask for the free code at the concierge desk!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Sally E,

It was pleasing to read your feedback after your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I’m glad that you found the hotel to be lovely and that your room was spacious and clean, with the most comfortable bed you’ve come across in a hotel. We get a lot of fantastic feedback about our beds, we’re really aware that the sleep experience is such a key part of any hotel stay. We are currently looking to increase out internet offer to all guests in the near future, certainly keep an eye out for our great package offers that include a lot more than 60 minutes of internet access. Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Once again, we were very impressed with the service from the team at the Heritage Auckland. They went out of their way to make us feel like queens! Thanks for a wonderful stay. Only bummer is that the roof top spa is now gone - which was one of our favorite spots but fortunately they have another pool and spa indoors, which we used several times. The buffet is again - fabulous and has some great features like raw food snacks and fruit.

Room Tip: Book online with the 'Show package" - so you can get a great deal on a room, valet parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluecheese144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Bluecheese144,

Thank you for your great review after your last stay at Heritage Auckland. It’s so nice to read that you were, again, very impressed with the service from our team and that we managed to make you feel special. We are disappointed that we had to remove the roof top spa, we are however looking into options to replace this spa pool. We do expect this will take sometime, as we need to ensure that we have a spa pool that is able to cope with the extremely high level of use that it gets. Thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to having you stay again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here on business and had a large room in the older building. Two queen-sized beds, with a door between and a huge bathroom with a bath (with lovely products). It was nicely appointed and well serviced but the original wooden floor and lack of double glazing meant it was noisy at night. Service was good and the valet parking appreciated.
The downside? We were there for the Auckland Food Show and just missed out on the show special, with free breakfast and carparking. Breakfast was really expensive - $28 each, so we ate our own breakfast in the room, carparking was a huge $35 a night and, on top of a $1000 bill, they charged $15 credit card fee. As this is the company's preferred hotel while in Auckland, perhaps the show special could have been extended to one of their loyal corporate clients.

Room Tip: There is a choice between the heritage former Farmers building or the newer Tower building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t_s_matla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear t_s_matla,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. It was nice to read that you enjoyed the size and style of your room and that you found the bathroom to be a good size with lovely amenities. I was sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy the character of the wooden floors in our historic building, we do understand that not all guests enjoy this feature; however when the conversion to a hotel was done, a number of years ago, the decision was made to keep true to the style and character of the building. Our breakfast receives a high level of positive feedback for the quality and quantity of food available. The buffet option at $28 allows you to choose from the full range of menu items including; continental, our unique RAW bar, juices, tea/coffee, toast & pastries and of course a cooked breakfast. We do also offer an a la carte breakfast menu, which allows you to order and pay for just the items you’d like to eat (just like going to any café). Our car parking charges are comparable to other Auckland hotels and more affordable that the parking buildings that are close to the hotel. We do have 1.5% credit card surcharge, as is noted on our front desk – other payments options are available that don’t incur this charge. I would have been really happy to talk to you personally about the packages offered to The Food Show exhibitors. Thank you for submitting your feedback.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing