We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfort and style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed in the older hotel wing and were lucky enough to get a harbor view room.
The bed was excellent and the room spacious.
The included breakfast was first class and could be taken in the dining room or in you room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Bill P,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed your spacious room with a harbour view and an excellent bed added into the mix, for a comfortable sleep. Breakfast is a key focus for us, your comment that you found it to be first class helps us to know that we’re heading in the right direction with what we offer.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    645
    178
    56
    24
See reviews for
337
703
80
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Really helpful and friendly staff. Great buffet breakfast at Hectors (best Eggs Benedict around town) . Stayed here 5 times now over the past 2 or three years. Definitely will return.The higfhest standards all round.

Room Tip: Both Towers are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Greg L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Heritage Auckland, it was pleasing to read that you’ve stayed with us 5 times over the past couple of years. Your opening comments around our really helpful and friendly team are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is extremely well located. The staff is very warm & friendly. The hotel has a special section for vegan travellers. being a vegetarian I strongly recommend this hotel to all vegetarians. The best variety of vegetarian options on the breakfast as compared to any other hotel in newzealand.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Karan T

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It’s always enjoyable reading about positive guest experiences. I was really pleased to read your comments about our menu selection, with our option for both vegan and vegetarian travellers. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

W stayed here again recently, after we got a early morning text on our way to airport to say our flight was cancelled. The service was great as we had to check in at 5am in the morning with 3 kids. The room was great too.. very clean and nicely done and the POOL area on the rooftop was fantastic. We also had dinner here and again could not fault.

Room Tip: Didn't have a balcony this time round, but will be asking for one next time. Makes the room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Jacqui P,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. What a shame your flight was cancelled at such short notice, that would have been frustrating. It was good to read that even though you were back at 5am to check-in; the service you received was great. Our outdoor pool and deck facilities are fantastic, and probably just what was needed to help relax after your flight was cancelled, and to keep you children busy and entertained. We hope to be able to host your family again if you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful property. All the staff seemed interlinked and knew what was happening and you moved from a smiling receptionist, past a smiling porter who had introduced himself by name to us, through to the maître d who was also very welcoming. One of our party was a vegan and they were in 7th heaven with the exceptional vegan menu at dinner and the breakfast that had a dedicated area for raw food. I am not a vegan and I found all the options for me also outstanding. I also loved that the porter had delivered our luggage to our room before we opened the door, and yet the check in process was very speedy - it was like magic!! Well done, Heritage - I think you are truly separating yourself from the rest of the Auckland market. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear travel766,

Thank you for positive review after your stay at Heritage Auckland in April. Your opening comment that you really enjoyed our Hotel has been well received. It was very nice to read that you found our team offered a seamless level of customer service. Our food offering, through both Dinner and Breakfast, has been extremely well thought out with our Executive Chef, Jinu, focused on delivering a balanced menu with plant based items combined with seasonal, local produce. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was my second visit to the Heritage and the service has been very consistent and of a very high standard. Rooms are very clean, well appointed and the beds are absolutely wonderful. The front of house team deliver in every way and i cannot fault this hotel. Location is great, being an easy walk to downtown and the theatres.

Keep up the great work

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Parround,

Thank you for your positive comments after your 2nd stay with Heritage Auckland. It was pleasing to read that once again you found your stay to be of a high standard, and the rooms were clean with comfortable beds. Our front of house team have a key focus on delivering positive guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Fantastic location, facilities and amazing staff who went the extra mile without having to be asked to help us deliver a truly amazing event for our guests.

Pre and post communication was outstanding. The team made everything easy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Jennifer C,

It was great reading you feedback. I am pleased that you loved our location and enjoyed our facilities. Thank you for your positive comments about our amazing team, who went the extra mile to make your event a success. We hope to be able to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing