We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Fabulous - Even After 10 Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Still Fabulous - Even After 10 Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I spent our first wedding night here 10 years ago and then last week stayed over night for our 10th wedding anniversary.
I always expect something to go wrong - from anything like mispronouncing our surname to not giving us enough bath towels - but absolutely nothing went wrong.
It was a perfect night.
All the staff were attentive, polite and professional and the lovely lady who delivered our room service said she had been with the hotel for 14 years, so she would've been there when we were first married.
As a lovely surprise the hotel upgraded our accommodation and there was a personalised letter and delicious box of boutique chocolates in our room on arrival.
We enjoyed cocktails in the bar and were given complimentary canapes and all the food (including breakfast) was delicious and impressive.
Thank you and well done the Heritage Auckland for making our special anniversary super special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear ShellyP,
Thank you very much for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. My team was very touched that you were able to celebrate your 10th Wedding Anniversary in luxury. I am personally very pleased that each touch point of your experience was memorable and we do look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
My Kindest regards and warmest congratulations.

Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    645
    178
    56
    24
See reviews for
337
703
80
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Strange to have a hotel with 2 receptions and you have to walk round the tennis court to get to the bar. But generally it's well located, good value and the staff are friendly. Few more words to get to 200

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_J_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mark_J_G,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay with us. I do note that we have exceeded most of your expectations other than the distance between The Heritage Farmers Building and our more modern Tower accommodation wing. We make every effort to explain the location and style of each wing through our website. We would be delighted to welcome you back sometime in the future, Please let me know and I will ensure that you are welcomed into our Farmers building entrance and guest rooms.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in the Heritage for only 1 night, it is very central to both shopping and the Viaduct and the bedroom was very spacious and clean.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but the entire hotel seemed tired and dated.
The hot water took about 5 mins to come through the shower faucet, I almost gave up and the pool and gymnasium area are desperate for an upgrade. I know these seem picky but if you are rated as a top hotel the facilities need to reflect this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_M480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Traveller_480,
Thank you for sharing your comments with our readers regarding your recent stay with us. I have noted your comments about the building presentation and while we have invested significantly in the refurbishment our guest rooms and public areas it has to be put into perspective that our Heritage building is nearly 100 years old and some of the rustic charm of wooden floor boards and high ceilings are not modern and have to been seen in the spirit of the buildings charm. I have asked my team to review the water issue you have raised.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

i Regularly stay in the Heritage! Its location is second to none.. A two minute walk to Queen Street or the Viaduct , its location is great and the Standard of the rooms are superb. the service and food there is also excellent, and when they have there special deals, the whole experiance is the Best in Auckland.

Room Tip: If you wish to go for a girlie weekend or with children then have the Deluxe Suite as it has 2 queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear TraceyR,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. It is pleasing for my team to be able to read these comments that assist in motivating us all to continue to work hard on improving our product for you all to enjoy.
We look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Heritage is well located within walking distance of most attractions. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is magnificent! Ask to stay in the older section of the hotel. The rooms have 15 ft. ceilings. We had a room with a kitchenette and a view of the Auckland Bridge. The outside pool was under renovation, but there was an inside lap pool that was quite nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatima58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Fatima58,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with our readers about your recent stay with us. It is pleasing that our team were able to exceed your expectations. The Old Farmers building is about to celebrate 100 years in 1914 and the high ceilings and wooden floors are a real feature that we are very proud of.
We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night before heading to the airport to fly home at the end of our holiday. This was our second visit, having done the same thing on our previous NZ trip five years ago. We were impressed then; we were equally impressed this time. I would describe it as comfort personified, and the attitude of all staff members we encountered further confirmed my belief that all New Zealanders are congenitally incapable of being inhospitable.

Room Tip: It's worth taking the valet parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Payasoru,
A very warm welcome back to Heritage Auckland and I am delighted you have shared with our readers your excellent feedback relating to your recent stay with us.
My team will be delighted to read your thoughts on our guest service and we continue to strive to improve our guest experience each and every time.
We do hope you have enjoyed your trip to New Zealand and would forward to welcoming you all back sometime very soon.
My Kindest Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during my visit to Auckland. The view of the harbour was amazing from my room in the tower. Service was excellent. Rooms and balcony are spacious. They have provided most of the amenities required by travellers. Location is also good. Breakfast was good. All in all a good value for money and a very nice experience. Would surely stay here again for my next visits to Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoghRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Amogh Run,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your wonderful comments relating to your recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. We have noted your positive comments about our breakfast experience. We have worked very hard to ensure that we have a great balance of fine foods and warm and attentive service. We look forwarding to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing