We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Dame Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Chicagoland, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Grand Dame Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Heritage Hotel is loaded with old charm and provides updated accommodations such as WiFi availability. Rooms are large and bathrooms are more than ample. Buffet breakfast served in the hotel dining room offers fresh and varied options. The Heritage is well located. It's only a five minute walk to the Sky Tower Complex. Be sure to a visit St. Patrick's beautifully restored church less than a block away from the hotel. I found staff to be friendly and accommodating. I was comfortable at the Heritage Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Traveler2Q,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations of comfort and dining options. Our generously sized guest rooms with recently upgraded bedding helps to create a strong point of difference when guest are selecting accommodation options while visiting Auckland. Our team will be very pleased to read your comments about our fresh and healthy food options offered at breakfast. We hope the rest of your trip through New Zealand was enjoyable and memorable
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    646
    178
    56
    24
See reviews for
337
705
80
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel would certainly deserve 5 star rating. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with an amazing view over the harbour. The furnishings and the extra touches eg bath robes were of such high quality. The staff were friendly and very professional. Hotel well positioned for shopping. restaurants etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear EileenE,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations of comfort and quality. Our generously sized guest rooms with recently upgraded high quality bedding helps to create a strong point of difference when guest are selecting accommodation options while visiting Auckland. Our team will be very pleased to read your comments, we look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My friend and I had booked and paid well in advance the Heritage hotel for New Years eve and the 1st of January knowing that hotels book up fast this time of year. We rang up two weeks prior of our stay to confirm our reservation to be told everything was in order. Unfortunately not one week later we get a phone call to get told the hotel has been over booked and we were to be moved to another hotel. Really disappointed as the other hotel was much further away from where we would be celebrating, did not have the kitchen facilities we had booked and was only given the option of one queen bed not the two singles we had booked. Ruined my New Years. Not a great start for the year. Will not book with the Heritage again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0llyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Hollyay,
Thank you for your feedback and sharing your concerns online about your relocation. While it is not generally our policy to relocate any guest we made an error and took every step once we understood what our issue was and was very proactive in advising reserved guest well in advance of arrival the situation and made suitable plans that in general meet those guest who had to be relocated with additional bonus offerings to make up for the inconvenience this relocation had caused. I am very happy for you to contact me directly to discuss in person your disappointment and see how we can best recover from this situation.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on our first and last nights in New Zealand and wished we had booked for longer. The rooms were first class, especially when we were upgraded on the final night to a room with a balcony and harbour views. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kharbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Kharbon,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again very soon when you return to Auckland.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were upgraded to a large executive room with kitchenette, dining table, separate bedroom and lounge area looking onto the central atrium. Nice room with a very good modern bathroom. Would be perfect for long stay guests. Rooms facing out to the street at the front didn't have much of a view (I believe the rear does) so the rooms facing the central atrium seemed a better choice and quieter. Convenient location and very friendly and helpful staff. Good value in a lovely old converted warehouse building.

The restaurant was a lovely surprise for its food quality and service. We had a light pre-theatre dinner and were delighted with the creative and very tasty vegetarian selection (see pic) and recommendation of well matched wines by the glass. Breakfast was also very good with great eggs benedict (my favourite!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear PrincessMaz,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations of comfort and healthy dining options. Our generously sized guest rooms do create a strong point of difference when guest are selecting accommodation options while visiting Auckland. Our team will be very pleased to read your comments about our fresh and healthy food options as well. We look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

All of the Heritage hotels are first class,we stayed at them ll during our nine weeks in New Zealand
Auckland was superb with its great views of the "City of Sails". The rooms were perfection and the food first class. Margaret Abingdon on Thames U.K

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret-oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear margaretsakled,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with our readers regarding your recent stay with us. With our central location and higher floors we do enjoy excellent views of the Auckland Harbour. I have also shared your feedback with our food and beverage team as well.
We would look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland sometime soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is such a special hotel with its beautiful unique decor, big spacious rooms, and fantastic location. The Deluxe Double room was perfect for my husband, son and I, with lots of space, a kitchen (not that we used it) with a sliding door that divided the space into a separate room at night for my husband and I. Unfortunately the roof pool was under going repairs but we still had use of lap & spa pools.

Room Tip: I would recommended a room with a view looking out to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegsNZ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear MegsNZ64,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your fantastic comments about your recent stay with us. I have passed your feedback on to our hard working team.
I am happy to advise you that we have commenced repair work on our rooftop pool area and will have this operational as soon as possible.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing