We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful view of marina”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

All of the Heritage hotels are first class,we stayed at them ll during our nine weeks in New Zealand
Auckland was superb with its great views of the "City of Sails". The rooms were perfection and the food first class. Margaret Abingdon on Thames U.K

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret-oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear margaretsakled,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with our readers regarding your recent stay with us. With our central location and higher floors we do enjoy excellent views of the Auckland Harbour. I have also shared your feedback with our food and beverage team as well.
We would look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland sometime soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is such a special hotel with its beautiful unique decor, big spacious rooms, and fantastic location. The Deluxe Double room was perfect for my husband, son and I, with lots of space, a kitchen (not that we used it) with a sliding door that divided the space into a separate room at night for my husband and I. Unfortunately the roof pool was under going repairs but we still had use of lap & spa pools.

Room Tip: I would recommended a room with a view looking out to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegsNZ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear MegsNZ64,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your fantastic comments about your recent stay with us. I have passed your feedback on to our hard working team.
I am happy to advise you that we have commenced repair work on our rooftop pool area and will have this operational as soon as possible.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic place. A beautiful historic building encompassing the detail of a time when we built masterpieces. We had our children with us and were able to walk to the Wynyard sector at the waterfront and Sky tower in one hit. The roof top pool was being maintained however the lap pool and spa entertained them for hours. One of the well equipped gyms was right by the lap pool. We had the full buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant which kept us going for our day at the Auckland Zoo. The staff at the Heritage were so polite, helpful and friendly. We are looking for an excuse to go back to the Heritage and stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicoelloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Chicoelloco,
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience of staying with us at Heritage Auckland with our readers. When I read through your kind words (which have been shared with my hard working team) it was a bit of a WOW moment as we work towards ensuring we are hosting all of our guest to this very high standard. We do look forward welcoming you back to our place very soon to ensure we continue to exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for one night with my family after seeing a show. Excellent location meant that we were able to walk to the venue and do some christmas shopping in central Auckland without having to think about parking as it was taken care of by valet service. Our room configuration was set up at my request with separate beds for 2 children in our room separated by a divider. Staff were superb, were extremely obliging and a pleasure to deal with. The art Deco decor and artwork in the Hotel wing gave a classic comfortable feeling while providing modern facilities. A great location that I would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnW280266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, Front Office Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear JohnW280266,
Thank you very much for sharing your excellant feedback with our readers. I will ensure that this feedback is shared with our team. I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and we would look forward to hosting you and your family again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Heritage "Towers" hotel has apartment style units with a fully functioning kitchen but limited utensils to use in it. The hotel was in the process of renovating the rooms and our room was clearly one that needed some work. It was generally a bit tired, particularly the bathroom. The room had a balcony and if your pleasure is looking at the top of a roof and the surrounding apartments then this is for you. The reception staff were good and in terms of location it was very good. If I come to Auckland again though I think I’ll be trying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossco90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Rossco90,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your feedback about your recent stay with us. The refurbishment work of our property will ensure that we are maintaining our very high standards and meeting our guest expectations. We would look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed three nights for a work engagement, Just fabulously quiet and yet close to everything, went to a show at the Civic, a movie, Great dining in house with really tasty healthy options. Cheerful staff..
This hotel is very good value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Maree M,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with our readers on how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us I am really pleased our healthy dining options were mentioned in your feedback. Heritage Auckland has been at the forefront of developing healthy dining alternatives for our guest from exciting vegetarian and becoming more renown for our Vegan menu development. Our Executive Chef recently won New Zealand’s Vegetarian dish of the year from over 200 entries. We do look forward to hosting you again at Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is an older hotel which has been substantially modernised, but still keeping features such as wooden pillars and polished plank floors. Someone told me it was originally a department store. The rooms are unusual - I was in the original side, and the room had a sliding divider in the middle so it could be split into a two bed unit. It came with a kitchenette as well. The beds are much softer than in most modern hotels. The hotel is quite low and there wasn't a view from the room, though you can see some of the harbour from the (currently out of service) rooftop pool. There is an equally out of service tennis court on another roof, but there is also a (very narrow) lane pool in the neighbouring Tower block. The restaurant is in a glass roofed atrium, and had some nice touches on the menu as well. All in all, with its location 5 minutes from the Viaduct Basin with its waterfront bars and restaurants, and the Skycity tower, this is a pretty good bet.

Room Tip: The Tower side would have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Nicolas C,
Thank you for taking the time to provide excellent feedback about your recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. I would like to up date a couple of points for you and our readers as follows: The tennis court is being resurfaced and will be fully operational by the end of this week. The roof top pool project is a significant replacement project and will commence very soon with a finished product sometime in the early next year and will be one of Auckland’s most stunning roof top pool locations for our guest to enjoy. We would look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Please have a great Christmas and a very safe New Year.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $168 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing