We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #53 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired and noisy”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were disappointed by this hotel which was booked for us by a travel agent. The location was great with lovely views but the hotel was very dated, room was noisy, breakfast average and staff unhelpful. Even the background music came from a bygone age!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    92
See reviews for
137
360
75
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
749 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was unpleasantly surprised how BAD this hotel is, given it has such a fantastic location
and truly gorgeous outlook over Auckland's Harborfront.

Where to begin...how about the good start? I arrived @ 7:30am from AKL having come 13 hours across the Pacific on my SF originated flight. The hotel front desk person offered to check me in immediately --( since there were empty rooms the night before) this was really appreciated.

The room however, with a GREAT waterfront view was SO, SO SO tired -- seriously I do not think that the furniture or drapes have been upgraded from the 50's or the 60's. The wood was all scratched or marred, the walls were scuffed and simply dirty, the bathroom tile was grotty & the lighting was horrid. I should have simply checked out immediately.

However, I was only in for 1 night, I had schlepped my luggage to the farthest room down the hallway on the floor and a shower was looking and feeling really more necessary than the alternative of checking out and in again. Plus, I was meeting friends for brekkie in an hour.

So, I was out all day and sort of forgot how bad it was...I bought a lovely salad nicoise that I popped in the fridge @ 4pm and was off to enjoy late-light on the Viaduct for an early evening given my pending jet-lag.

I returned at 8pm to discover that my dinner in the fridge was frozen, the temperature up way too high...I turned on the TV and discovered that the one channel I wanted to watch, TV3 - the sound was totally out of sync by 10-15 seconds. There was no bottled water, even to be billed for. I started to think that this hotel room was actually eerily cursed and the hotel itself never bothered to send management to deal with it -- only the room cleaners...occasionally.

Weary and frustrated, I pulled back the covers and lay down, the bed was actually lumpy...a fixture from another era - overused and past it's expiry. However, I fell asleep despite my dissatisfaction.I awoke with the light and decided to check out and tell the front desk of my negative bordering on horrible experience at the Copthorne HarbourCity.

I did, nicely. The employee behind the hotel desk listened as I relayed my review and then said "I'm sorry to hear that". Then he asked for my credit card to pay the bill. $149NZ dollars. No credit offer, no anything related to customer service whatsoever! Rip -off! Really awful feeling.

I could have stayed at least a dozen other CBD hotels at the same price or even less and had a better stay. My recommendation -- I have been here for you...you do not have to suffer now.
Avoid this property unless you like low-end backpacker accommodation @ real hotel prices.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaljoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We needed two rooms - the first one was a smoking room and was very smelly and there was no way we could have stayed there! Yuk!

Second was cleaner and smelt much better, but we still needed the window open for fresh air and it was consequently fairly noisy all night. All rooms face the harbour and the view is fabulous.

But the decor is tired and it's all a bit grubby, and make sure you don't get a smoking room (I didn't realise that hotels in NZ would have smoking rooms still)

I would not return.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HilsTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very tired decor and very noisy if your room faces the harbour. Hard to sleep with the noise.
Great location though for shops and restaurants and great view from the harbourside rooms. Breakfast is fine.

Room Tip: Harbourside for view if you dont like the noise. Otherwise the other side. Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We agree with previous comments about this hote. It is in a great location overlooking the bay, but needs a lot of money spending on it. The room we were in was in need of redecoration. The telephone point was broken off the wall and had been covered up by a small unit. The wardrobe had a sliding door, that needed someone with the strength of a giant to open it. Noise from outside was a problem, but so was the air conditioning, so you could win either way, either listen to the drunks with the window open, or close them and listen to what sounded like a 777 taking off. Yet again, similar to our experience in Rotorua, individuals are not catered for (unless you are Oriental). The duty manager (John) has a serious attitude problem when dealing with customers

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wap363636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great location, however I had a flash back to the 70's whist staying here. Service is appalling and unless you are of Asian decent it is all too hard for them. They cater to Asians and not Caucasians. Rooms are old, tired and really stuffy. Still cant get my head around the carpet in the bar toilets, yes carpet right around the bowl. I would hate to think what is soaking in it and how long it has been there. Wouldn't waste my time eating there as the food is awful, I mean how can you stuff up breakfast. I could go on and on but I wont recommend and I wont be back. I was happy the day I moved accommodation, then got stuck giving directions to the taxi driver but that is a whole other story.

Room Tip: Couldnt recommend any that are good, as all are very tired and need a facelift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outbackislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The view from our 11th floor room was fantastic Shame I couldn't say that about the rest of the hotel. The room was 'tired'. It needs updating. Steps in reception to the lifts with no ramps makes case lifting and disabled access difficult; this alone indicates the need for a refurbishment. The breakfast room is very cramped. The hotel is in a good location with easy access to the harbour, bars and restaurants. WiFi is NZ$25 for 24 hours. We were there for less than 48 and they tried to charge me NZ$75,!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_St_Helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing