We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights,Great hotel,good views of harbour,easy walk to harbour restaurants shops and cruises.
Room clean and all staff were helpful and friendly,the bathroom tho clean needs to be refurbished and retiled.The cooked breakfast was not evenly cooked and looked unappealing but the continental was ok, There is internet access in the foyer for a small fee.If i go back to Auckland i will defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 850 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

the view from the room (despite the ANZ building) was almost worth the price of the room - right across the harbour, and looking down on the sailing ships. The decor was certainly a bit tired, but clena and acceptable - the king sized bed was very comfortable.
Noise from the main road outside was not too bad but the noise from the bar opposite at 3.00 am was somethng else, even on the 9th floor - the aircon didn't seem to be working, so the window had to be open.
Breakfast was the usual buffet style, with a good choice of cooked food, cereal, fruit etc but could have done with being replenished without needng to ask - staff were very busy, but tables were not cleared very quickly, making it difficult to find a table that was laid up on one occasion.
Lack of free wi-fi was irritating - if I pay $200+ for a room, I don't expect to have to pay for wi-fi when I can walk down the road to a coffee shop and get free wi-fe for the price of a cup of coffee.
The location is excellent - viaduct basin just round the corner, and the ferry terminal over the road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in 1998 for a few days and remembering its great location decided to book this hotel for six of us. The sight of thousands of yachts sailing in the evening was evergreen in my memory and since we were all tourists it made sense to stay at this hotel. Alas, now the ANZ tower opposite the hotel has killed the view. However, the hotel has been totally refurbished and looks very elegant and plush. The rooms are spacious and very aesthetically furnished. The lobby is awesome. Breakfast served is well spread with eggs, cereals, etc. The view from the restaurant is great. Tours, airport shuttle operate from opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Rajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a centrally located hotel, by the waterfront. I booked to attend a concert at Vector Arena, which is approximately 10 minutes walking distance. The hotel decor is tired and it could do with being refurbished. The room was clean and tidy, and the beds were comfortable. I did not hear any noise from the road. There is parking available at the hotel which cost $24 for the night. The breakfast was included in the price of the room. There was a good selection of food, both cereals and cooked items, and a variety of fruit juices and hot drinks. There is a charge if you pay by credit card, and this applies to each transaction. I had paid online for the room, which had the charge applied, and then when I went to pay for the parking with my credit card, there was another credit card charge. The staff were OK and provided information when asked. This hotel's saving grace is its location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewlzcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Hotel was very central with beautiful views but was very old and needs a facelift. The staff was excellent and helpful. The first night we were there the A/C broke down and the lift was unpredicable. The carpet in the rooms were stained and the taps in the bathroom was very noisy. Due to the Hotel facing the main road if can get very noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors was much quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here with my family and we found it nowhere near as good as the photos, and many elements were dirty, mostly reflecting staff who didn't seem interested in doing anything extra. On arrival late at night, the staff noted how tired we looked, but offered no help getting our luggage up the idiotic stairs in the lobby to the lift.

On the way out the next morning, we noticed a cigarette butt in the elevator, it was still there at 7pm.

We also has staff come and fix a leaking toilet, but we had to complain to reception to get them to clean up the water on the bathroom floor!!

Location is fine, but you'll get a lot more for your money elsewhere!

Room Tip: try somehwere else.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

As many previous reviewers have stated, this is a tired old hotel in need of a makeover, but situated in a perfect location, so you'll need to decide whether decor or convenience is more important to you. The lobby is clean and modern, but the rooms are in need of an update. In the room in which I stayed (#608, if Management is paying attention), the carpet was well past its prime and there was a great deal of black mold on the tile grout in the bathroom. The tub faucet leaked and had apparently been doing so for a long time, as shown by the green copper oxide stain in the tub, and the base of the toilet had a small leak, producing a puddle of water each day. The bed was clean and comfortable and the TV was a large flat-panel model. The breakfast was just OK, except for the dreadful Nescafe instant coffee, but definitely not worth the NZ$27 per person. You’ll be charged a few dollars extra if you pay your bill with a credit card (this is not a standard practice in NZ). On the other hand, the hotel is located near the Auckland Harbour and is very convenient to the ferry and airport bus. The biggest disappointment was with the staff. I was told at check-in that Internet access was free for the first 20 minutes each day, then a NZ$12.50 charge would apply. On checkout, I was charged for the access and was told that the free 20 minutes applies only if the wi-fi is accessed from the lobby. Usage from the guest rooms immediately begin to incur a charge - something that was not stated at check-in. I'm not sure if this misunderstanding was a deliberate bait-and-switch tactic or just due to an indifferent staff member, but I didn't appreciate the additiional and unexpected cost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
#48 of 66 in Auckland Central
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $171 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing