We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dump...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #53 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“what a dump...”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

couldn't believe this was a 4 star hotel - felt like a backpackers, with a dingy incredibly basic room, age old grouting in the bathroom. add to that $40 charge for parking which is at the upper end of the price range. uggh, i SO won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    92
See reviews for
137
360
75
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is on the waterfront in Auckland so I had a beautiful view of the ocean. It's a bit older and simply worn down. It's clean, has a small gym, a complimentary breakfast and friendly staff - this is why I gave them the average rating instead of poor. You can get a limited amount of free wifi in the lobby, but not in your room. Wifi is expensive. Hop, skip and a jump to shopping, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrowFlyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here to go to the Beyonce concert. Was close to the venue and the price was reasonable, but felt "ripped off" for most of the stay. Rooms were tired. The bathrooms were grubby, the tiles need replacing. There was a stain on the bedspread on one of the beds in the room. I went down to ask for a newspaper and the staff offered to "go across the road and buy one" for me for a 100% mark up. I said that I would go over to the shop myself and pay retail. The $18 deal for breakfast was good, but did not like being charged $4 to use my credit card to pay for it. Don't think that I will be staying there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Morrinsville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed 1 night it is in a great location on water front .The room was clean and tidy good reception and parking .We got a good price and got what we paid for but it is only average accommodation. Will stay again if price is right

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Avoid room 301. Wind whistled through the window and couldn't shut it up. Very tired looking could do with some money spent on it. Great location. Receptionist hard to understand. Lift was very slow and I was worried I'd be stuck in it. Not used to staying inner city but parking was $25 a day, bit steep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked here a few weeks prior to arrival. I stated that I work in the industry and it is a special girls night out for us. The rate we paid was $192.

Upon arrival the lobby seemed ok, but boy did we got a big surprise when got up to the room!
(first of all they asked for $50 bond..not sure what that was for as there is no minibar and honestly nothing valuable to take from the room)
In our room:
Filthy bathroom, broken tiles, Mould in the bath and in the rooms themselves, either pubes or hair in the shower from the previous guests or the staff.
Dust covering nearly all the surfaces and the mirror looked like it had never been cleaned.

We immediately called down to reception to ask for a different room.
the second room was not better, it got worst so we wanted to leave. The manager did not seemed surprised at all and wasn’t really apologetic. He showed us a third room..oh boy this just got worst..

End of the story he wanted us to look another room but we just said "look you didnt got it right the first three times.."

We asked for our money back and left..
Ended up paying less money for a five star hotel..

I been working in the industry for the past 12 years and been in 3 to 5 star hotels but never seen anything like the Copthorne, Im surprised that they still in business.


The location was the only good feature
I cant rate the service as we never got to that far..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very sad to see such a well branded hotel in such poor condition. The only good points were the location and the bar. That said it was very noisey with the noise from local bars and clubs going until 4am due to such poor double glazing. We stayed on the 4th floor and the condition of the room was appauling. Dirty grout. Scuffed carpet. Dated decour. Tv kept freezing. Extension lead rammed with plugs shoved down the side of the bed. Such a shame.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshdonovans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing