We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
428 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotel needs some serious renewal. Only saving grace is location. Tired and dated. Wireless is very expensive, not competitive in current market. Bar is not attractive at all. Should have read the reviews before I booked.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank itsBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    91
See reviews for
137
360
74
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

For this price, I won't come back again for sure.

The location is great, but the hotel itself is so poor. I was wondering when the last time it was renovated. Old toilette and bathroom. The bed definitely need to be upgraded. Old bulky TV without any good channels. No cable TV.

The front desk staffs were relative nice and helpful.

In short, not a good value of money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keylogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

auckland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed one night on tenth floor room 1018 yes room is a bit dated but clean and tidy, and the views were just fabulous over the harbor out to Stanley Point on the North Shore, plenty of action on the water with ferries coming and going to the islands just a pity there was no balcony. Bathroom small but adequate and being on the end of the building perhaps our room was bigger than the rest but very nice. Double glazing so little noise at night. Breakfast included in package a buffet with everything you could ask for. Quite enjoyed staying there but you need to be up high to get good views. Handy to viaduct basin area so lots of restaurants around, close to Skycity and Queen Street. We brought deal on WOTIF cost only $99 for the nights stay and breakfast - you can't beat that for a deal. Yes we will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the end of building, think they may be bigger and wide views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a dump! From the moment you are handed a key on a big chunky key ring you know this place is out of date. Up to the 7th floor and down the hallway passing a row of battered old wooden doors. Into the room which had been updated superficially. Newish carpet and peices of furniture but everything else was terrible from the stippled plaster ceilings to the rubber bath mat and shower curtain. There was one powerpoint that i could find in the least convenient position. I had to decide whether to charge my phone or laptop or dry my hair! Although this "hotel" is in a great location it really is awful. The view straight ahead is into the ANZ building at the viaduct but there are no net curtains in the room so you have to keep the big curtains closed until you leave the room! There is some sort of air con/heating system which did nothing to alter the room temperature. It was a boiling hot night so i had to open the window and listen to the noise from the street below. Go onto Wotif or another hotel booking website and find yourself a better place to stay.

Room Tip: To find a good room- go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodTriptips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights while my wife attended a conference in Auckland.

The room was dated and could seriously use a refurbishment. The bed spreads are very ugly and appear to not get washed very much at all. It was a very in appealing place to sleep, but there were at least no insect bites to report. The carpets and curtains were also pretty bad.

The bathroom was equally unimpressive. The bath was old and stained, and the rubber bath mat to stand on to use the shower over bath was mouldy.

We decided to pay for an upgrade because of the terrible standard, but were informed by the grumpy receptionist that we had actually already received a free upgrade and there was nothing better available. It's hard to believe there were worse rooms in the hotel that we had luckily missed, but apparently there are.

The hotel advertises 20 minutes of free wifi, which is far from generous. It is slow and could not be accessed from the room.

The breakfast was poor. Standard hotel breakfast buffet fare, but executed really badly. Tasteless and lukewarm. Not worth bothering with.

The only saving grace of the hotel is its location. Very close to the harbour and some nice restaurants, and Bly a short walk into central Auckland. The location of this hotel is wasted on the Copthorne.

Room Tip: The lower priced rooms are pretty awful. We didn't try anything more expensive than their two lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed one night here with my daughter whilst visiting Auckland. Had an upgrade to a superior room which was nice, but the bathroom was a big letdown in need of a renovation. Room was much quieter than previous visit, seems they have double glazed so that is an improvement. Breakfast buffet was good. Overall for the price this is still hard to beat, and with some work on the bathrooms would get a much better rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Booked for 1 night as the hotel is handy for the viaduct. The view is great, however the hotel is tired and needs updating, The rooms have thin walls and we could hear every word said in the room next door and the location is quite noisey. The cooked breakfast was passable but basic. For the price we paid I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors get less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing