We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed for one night in a room on the fifth floor that had a single queen bed. Both the main room and the bathroom were on the small side but still quite workable. The room was reasonably furnished and the bed was comfortable but not fantastic which is about what I would expect from a hotel of this level (self rated at 4 stars). There was a nice small balcony with a view of the harbor and we could hear a little bit of city noise during the day but was not noticeable at night.

There was free on-site parking which was a big plus given the costs at other Auckland downtown hotels. I would note that there are not a lot of parking spots and I would guess that their availability would be less during a busy season.

Overall this was one of the best hotels on a value basis that we stayed in during our two week visit to the north island of New Zealand. It's not the SkyCity Grand but it's also about half the money as well.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GrantCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 619 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

This hotel does not live up to the "Copthorne" name! Having stayed in other Copthorne hotels around the world, I expected a certain standard and this hotel failed to impress.
The rooms were very small and within an hour of being in our room the toilet broke! We were eventually moved to another room (when I say we were moved....actually, we moved ourselves!!). We asked if messages could be passed onto other people in our party, and this wasn't done!
And as for breakfasts....what can I say, but SHOCKING!!! The buffet service was bare! Bacon was requested and it came out undercooked. Other food was so scarce, it was incredible! One poor waitress ran around trying to satisfy a busy sitting and although the hotel didn't charge us for the breakfasts (after we complained!), it still was a very poor show and quite disappointing. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly would never stay there again!
On one positive note, a member of staff who was very helpful saved us money on excursions and we were very grateful to her. I hope she finds a job in a better hotel as she was far too good for the Copthorne on Anzac Ave!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank suzmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

This hotel looks nothing on the outside but has attractive modernised rooms. I have stayed at this property several times and have always found the staff friendly and helpful. Many of the rooms have a balcony with views of the harbour or sky city. I prefer the rooms on the harbour view side of the hotel as there is less traffic noise at night. At around $120 a night this is a good value hotel with free off street parking also available on a first come first served basis

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Picked up from Airport with Tour Agent with Mercedes. Ace. And was able to get into room before midday, which was nice. Clean and spacious and staff were very helpful,
Breakfast was not worth it. Get up and go and find somewhere else for breakfast.
For Vegetarians recommend Raw Power Cafe (excellent and details are on the net)
The hotel is 15 minute walk from town centre and 20 minutes to harbour.
For a crazy 90 minute excursion try the town tour bus.
Sky tower is great.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We stayed in Auckland for a 2 night post-cruise visit to explore the city. Our ship docked early and we were able to check in and get our room before noon. That was very nice. It is clean and the room was large with a fridge and coffee maker. The A/C in the lobby was not working and it was very uncomfortable there and in the restaurant which shares the space. Hopefully that is just temporary. The continental breakfast was $15.00 which we thought was expensive considering we get it free in the USA at most hotels. We were allowed a later check-out which was convenient for us also. The staff was EXCELLENT!. We were very happy with the hotel and location. While it is a 15 minute walk to the CBD, we managed easily and we are in our mid-60's. There is a bus stop across the street if you don't want to walk. Rear rooms have a bit of a harbor view. Quiet location.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mmetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I often stay at the Copthorne Anzac Ave for business and have always found the front reception and restaurant staff friendly and helpful. Last time I stayed, there was a problem with the phone and TV, both fixed immediately and with a smile from a very helpful front desk staff member, who practically flew to the room to assist.

Won't stay anywhere else in Auckland - good value for money (watch out for special offers) and has 'safe feeling' within hotel. Being a large city though, you need to take the usual safety precautions when out and about.

Free Parking is behind (and under) the hotel and generally available - a rarity in Auckland! Limited number of spaces but I've never had a problem, (and no access problems, if you have a larger vehicle - just drive in)
although later in the day - sometimes parking spaces can fill up quickly.


The "beach road" side of the hotel seems to be the quieter side, only stayed on the anzac ave side once and could hear the traffic speeding up the road, but if you are used to traffic noise this probably won't be a biggie (home has no traffic noise) Also some of the rooms on the beach road side have views - one evening watched a large ship come into the harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bigglesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

The Copthorne Hotel Anzac is located right downtown a short 10 minutes walk to the Auckland Ferry Terminal. Its a downhill walk to the centre, and then uphill back but it isnt as steep as some think. You can always take a bus from the Brittomart to get back to the hotel.
The hotel is a regular business hotel - had two double beds and it was clean. View of Anzac Avenue and has free parking which can get full but the Manager obliged when I came back and vacated his spot so that we could park. The breakfast buffet is good value for money and all in all a good location for sightseeing. Would recommend the Tamaki Drive out to Achilles Point great views of the city and Mount Eden - Volcanic crater was a short drive from the hotel. Driving around Auckland is easy and a breeze. A quaint town and Ponsonby, Viaduct and Parnel are all in relatively short distance from each other.
I would definitely recommend the Copthorne Anzac Avenue over the Copthorne Harbour View as the Anzac location has been recently refurbished.

Peter, Toronto, Canada

Stayed: January 2007
15  Thank Panache4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#15 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $89 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing