We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night and can only rate the hotel as excellent. Check in literally only took 3 minutes, on site parking was available overnight for only $10, very reasonable. Room was on the 6th floor and was clean and well appointed, large flat screen tv, great bed, large clean shower, no complaints at all. Easy walk to Queen St and city centre, low traffic flow on Anzac Ave meant for a good nights sleep as well. The two main courses we had for dinner, chicken and steak, were simply outstanding, breakfast buffet the next morning was also very good, staff very quick to top up food trays, everything hot and well presented. I used to work in the hotel industry, so can be a little critical at times, but well done Copthorne, this a clean, efficient and well run hotel, certainly ticked all the boxes, compared to a recent hotel experience in Surfers, this was way ahead, great value, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldFellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for such great feedback, this is really pleasing to read and I have passed your comments onto all the staff. I'm pleased to hear you had such a great stay with us recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    162
    214
    101
    41
See reviews for
86
236
49
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in room 517. Whilst the hotel is in the CBD, Anzac Avenue in the weekend at least doesn't seem to suffer from huge volumes of traffic which meant a good nights sleep was possible. The hotel room was very much the standard hotel room. The bathroom had a large shower, (possibly in the space originally containing a bath). The room had a large 42" TV, a small desk and a comfortable king sized bed. The room we stayed in had issues with both the internal and external door. The interior door was very hard to close due to poor fitting within the door frame, the exterior doors didn't seal properly which was strange for what looked to be a reasonably new set of aluminium french doors. The room had a very small balcony (standing room only). Whilst the room was on the smaller size, no problem to find space for everything, we didn't feel cramped. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Queen St. As the hotel's website states they have very limited onsite parking. Arriving on a Saturday evening it was possible for us to find a free car park on the roadside opposite the hotel (street car parking free from 18:00 on Saturday and all of Sunday), there is a nearby Wilson's car park building with very reasonable weekend rates. We had the full cooked buffet breakfast in the hotel which offered a very good selection of food. We purchased a package from Wotif including breakfast which at $89 including breakfast represented fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor means a better view and probably a little quieter, hotel has 6 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilmore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, this is always appreciated. I'm pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay and I thank you for bringing the issues of the doors to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei Heads, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is very average. Dreary from the outside, hallway carpets in desperate need of a clean and generally needs updating. We stay in a lot of hotels and there are numerous in Auckland for the same price that are superior. That's just my opinion! Buffet breakfast was nice, hence 3 stars. Rooms are ok but small.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback, we do appreciate this. We have spent a lot of money on the hotel recently including refurbishing all rooms and painting the exterior of the hotel so I'm sorry to read you felt the hotel was dreary. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the breakfast. Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback, this is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staff were very helpful when I arrived early and no room was available. They made me a cup of tea and gave me a room as soon as it was available. Restaurant is average looking, food reasonable, but not cheap. Good shower head strength in rooms, beds very comfy. Location is quiet and out of the city rush.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyHGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear you were well looked after when your room was not ready. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

this is the 2nd time i have stayed here, the rooms are nice and the location is brilliant.
Can park the car and walk all of central Auckland.
I used their website directly to book, and found a good offer with parking included.
Will come and stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and it's great to hear you've stayed with us a couple of times now and would stay again. We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed two nights. 6th floor room was very clean and serviced daily. Very nicely appointed rooms, mine had a small balcony. Food good although the dinner was a little overpriced and small. Breakfast was good and plentyfull. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D00gle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback, I'm really pleased to hear you had a great stay recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room wasn't big, but it was a good size. The buffet breakfast was ok too. The corridor was a bit noisy but once I got inside the room it was nice and quite. Good value for money. The car-park was a bit limited though, they said I could park in a parking building down the road and they will reimburse it or something, but I was too lazy so I parked across the road (free because it was Sunday). :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INdra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
thanks very much for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear you had a good stay with us recently. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing