We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and met our needs, although it was odd there were only 2 glasses, and cups and saucers which wasnt enough as we'd booked 4 people. Air con is old and not particularly efficient, particularly on a very humid Auckland night. Parking was bordering on stupid, with the only park available to us a tiny space that required everyone but the driver to get out before parking. Very yummy breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback and I'm pleased to read that overall you had a great stay and enjoyed the breakfast that we have to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    165
    220
    103
    41
See reviews for
88
242
50
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is a typical city centre property, we experienced problems with the security of the room, however it was dealt with very professionally and we were credited with dinner due to the issues surrounding the faulty door lock.

The restaurant is pleasant for both breakfast and dinner although the harbour area offers a great selection of bars and restaurants

Overall the Copthorne met all our expectations, but if we returned we would stay at the sister hotel on the harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and I'm pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay and we managed to resolve the security issue for you. I'm pleased to hear that you would return to our chain of hotels again, wel look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was very hot and humid in Auckland the night I stayed there and the air conditioning didn't work in the room. After trying to fix it, they moved me to another unit, which would have been fine if it had been the same type of room. I went from a Standard room with a queen sized bed and large living area/bathroom to a corner unit with a full/double bed with everything sort of squished together. At least the air worked!

Room Tip: Staff were very helpful so speak up if something is wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that we were able to move you to a room where the air conditioning was working correctly. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eindhoven
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was okay and the staff friendly. The air conditioner is old and the fan settings do not work. I left my jacket in the room and they found it. But they insisted that I would have to send a pre-paid envelope to them. It is a pity that they cannot just send it to me. What a hassle.

Room Tip: On the north side of the hotel you have a view over the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, this is always appreciated and it's great to read the positive comments about the staff.

In regards to the jacket you left behind, I have followed up with the staff member that dealt with this for you and she was of the understanding that you were happy with the outcome so was surprised to read this feedback.

Whenever a guest leaves an item at the hotel we are more than happy to send this back directly to the guest and will charge the cost of this to the credit card provided after confirming with the guest.

The information I have is that we offered to courier this jacket to you but you didn't want to take up this option and requested that we go to the post office and arrange for a grey post bag. This is not a practical option for us and so it was agreed that you would send a prepaid bag up for us to send the jacket back to you.

I'm sorry if it came across as unhelpful, that was certainly not the intention and I believe the staff were trying to come to the most practical solution given that you opted not to have the item couriered to you.

Thanks again for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 22nd Feb 2013 for 2 days, room looked out to back of Hotel and harbour. Beautiful view of mornings sunrise but a little noisy with traffic below.
Bar expensive with no draught lager only bottles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear you had a great stay and made the most of the beautiful views we offer looking out to the harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just as it says, not a bad little hotel, small and in a relatively nice area.

Very little surrounding the hotel other, the university is a short walk away and the city centre about 20 mins downhill.

Breakfast very expensive and not great, you'd be better off having a wander to a little cafe in town!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear you had a great stay and I'm sorry to read your comment about the breakfast but this is good to know and we always appreciate feedback. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here twice in February. Rooms were a good size and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant was good for breakfast and dinner.

Drawback is the location: a twenty minute walk to the harbour, shopping centre, restaurants etc. The other Copthorne (Harbour City) is better located.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I'm pleased to read the comments about the staff and the restaurant. Our location is not as central as our sister property however we still have easy access to all that Auckland has to offer from a nice quiet location. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#23 of 67 in Auckland
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing