We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice stopover hotel”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good location. Yes, the rooms are a bit dated but we were only staying one night as part of a New Zealand Tour with APT. Breakfast was adequate. Wifi was very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased to read the great comment about the service and the staff. We are in the process of completing a refurbishment on our bottom 3 floors which will improve the look of these rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    162
    213
    101
    41
See reviews for
86
235
49
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

So the rooms were clean and functional but could do with an update. The wifi is ridiculously expensive, even the reception advised us to go to the 24 cafe to grab a drink then free wifi. The reception was really helpful and friendly. Does what it says on the tin but needs to come forward in time to appeal more to travellers

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I'm really pleased to hear the great comments about the staff and the service. We are completing a refurbishment of the bottom 3 floors at the moment which will improve the look of these rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,889 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I picked this up as a wotif Mystery 4 star deal for about NZ$85 per night for a two night stay. The staff were very friendly however everything else in the hotel looked and felt very tired. I was on the 6th floor at one end of the hotel. The room was clean but showing extensive signs of wear - chipped vanity, worn fittings, tiny bathroom, very noisy air conditioning and generally tired. Same for the public areas of the hotel. The Bed was a double, which surprised me as normally they are queen or king size beds (even if advertised as doubles).
Still, not an unpleasant stay and staff as friendly as you will find anywhere

Room Tip: The rooms on the harbour side are very noisy due to it being a major road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback and I'm really pleased to read the positive comments regarding the staff, however I am disappointed to read the comments regarding the room, please note all rooms on the 6th floor are king or queen beds, our double beds are located on the bottom 3 floors in our twin rooms only. Thank you again for taking time to provide feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, NZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were here for the half-ironman event so the location was very good. The moment we walked in it was frought with problems. We had been allocated a room and the porter took our bags up and was waiting for us to unlock to take them in. 20 mins later we were at reception still waiting as that room although on our check-in papers as 514 had all of a sudden been passed onto someone else and they had checked in. We had friends in 515 and both parties had checked in at the same time. We settled in at 517...great. It was very tidy, small and dated but would do. Carparking was $10 per night on a first-in-first-served basis and although we could only find a vacant one on our first night we had to park the car up on the road the next day & night, however they tried to charge us two nights as they "assumed" that we had parked there again. There was a tray of food outside 519 plus one on the floor by the lift which sat on the floor on Saturday morning right through to early hours sunday when we left for the race at 5.45am. Both trays....disgusting, both had gone when we returned to our rooms on Sunday at 1pm. Our friends had not been offered a $50 food & beverage voucher with their booking when they checked in, however when they looked through the paperwork they discovered the offer for each night you stayed at the hotel and could not get a credit for the friday, disappointed but the let it go. Then they asked us if we had been offered ours, so when we were at reception we asked the girl if we get the same deal that they did, who checked on the screen whilst all four of us were standing there. My partner said "it just sounds too good to be true, there must be a catch it just can't be that easy". After a few minutes she said yes of course but anything over and above $50 we had to pay. As we had an electric frypan in our room plus our chillybin of food upstairs we thought great, we don't have to cook tonight in a very small room, so we all turned on our heels and went straight over to the restaurant which is about 15 metres from reception, it was empty with only us there and we had dinner. My partner said "something is not going to be right about this I can just feel it". The meal was fine, it was great. Sure enough, when checking out we had a problem. Charged for two full meals and the supposed free drink each, charged two nights carparking and the girl who was on Danielle completely denied telling us that the meals were free as part of the booking of accommodation. All four of us were standing there in front of her as she confirmed that yes it was included, then we went straight to the restaurant and they were at reception watching us during our meal, really????.....why didn't she just admit that she made a mistake, or maybe when questioned on the phone she forgot who we were but it became a drama. I must say, although we stood our ground as we could have easily have cooked our meals if we were turned down.....Jorge who was on the desk at checkout, did eventually sort it out and was very professional under the heated circumstances and also admitted we could do things better as sometimes there is a lack of communication between staff on different shifts. I applaud him, he is a great asset to the business, he did what he said he was going to do and get the manager to call and we thank Sarah for listening and then finally accepting our compromise to the situation. Based on that, unfortunately we will not be returning, but I hope they sort out their reception woes and housekeeping with the trays being left on the floors for a day...not good.

Room Tip: Rooms over the road are very noisey when the doors are open, but the ventilation is good as the airc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank your for your feedback and again, I am sorry to hear of the issues you faced during your stay with us recently. I appreciate the comments you made about the room service tray being left outside the room for so long, this is not acceptable and something I will ensure is not repeated. Again I apologise for the issue in regards to the f&b credit and after talking with you on the phone regarding this I am pleased that we were able to sort the situation. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, I know you have stated you would not return again but I would like to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future so please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to give us a second chance and I would be more than happy to assist. Kind regards, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Wanganui
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Four of us stayed for one night as we had a concert at the Vector Arena. Ideal location for this. Reception were friendly and helpful. Pleased that parking was not too expensive at $10. The rooms were clean, but very tired. Old TV,s with limited channels, furniture tired and worn, carpets are bit stained and the air con was rattly. The beds were comfortable though and it was a pleasant enough stopover point. Good glazing so very little noise from the city itself. Breakfast was reasonable with a good selection and included in the room package we had. No minibar in our room, but option was available, didn't mind though as it took the temptation away from the teens. Would stay here again if going to another concert.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariceNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback and I'm pleased to hear you made the most of central location and close proximity to the Vector. We are in the process of refurbishing our bottom 3 floors which will improve the look of these rooms and flat screen TVs will be installed throughout the hotel in the coming weeks. It's great to hear you will return to stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Satisfactory accommodation. A clean, efficient enterprise. I appreciated the double glazing which significantly eliminated noise so peaceful repose was achieved.

I did look for fruit juice in the mini bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear you appreciated the hush glass we have at the hotel which blocks out so much of the noise. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked this hotel through an agent without knowing much about it. As a family of five we needed to book two rooms and requested interconnecting rooms. After booking we were told that no such facility exists at this hotel but they did book us next door to each other. This was difficult because we had to go out into the corridor each time we wanted to go into each other's rooms and the door would lock behind us, so constant knocking on doors was annoying. Having said that, the rooms were clean and reasonably comfortable. The cleaners were lovely and restocked items we used the most on request. The parking charges were most reasonable; however there isn't much parking space, but we were told about the local alternatives if we couldn't get a place. As we stayed 7 nights in total, we worked out ways around the separate rooms problem. It was never ideal, but we would certainly consider staying at the Copthorne in the future, and feel that it was good value for an inner city hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakview30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm sorry that we were not able to offer interconnecting rooms however I am pleased to hear we found the best solution we could for you. It's great to hear you made the most of our central location and that you would look at returning to stay again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing