We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spent one night here in October 2012. Nothing bad to report. The place won't blow you away, but for the price we paid it was good basic accommodation with a central location. The Superior room was on the snug side and the decor was a bit tired with scrapes and scuff marks on the walls. Good layer of dust on the desk though, but everything else was ok and the shower was definitely one of the more powerful I have used. Bit of road noise on a Weds night, which could be worse on a Saturday night. Staff were cheery and efficient. The buffet breakfast was ok. The Sausages were not the best I've eaten, but not the worst. The Danish's were not the best I've eaten, but not the worst. The Tea was not the best I've drunk, but not the worst. You get the picture. Car Parking at $10 per night was the cheapest I've found in central Auckland, which was a bonus. All in all, hard to get too excited about, but hard to criticize. Just Ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worcester_Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Good morning, thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the service you received from the staff here. I am sorry to hear that we didn't exactly wow you on this ocassion and would welcome the opportunity to have you back to experience a more memorable stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    157
    201
    101
    41
See reviews for
84
230
48
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed the night in September at this hotel, and were quite pleased with our stay. The staff were friendly and checked us in promptly. One criticism is that the 'King' bed we booked was actually 2 singles pushed together - but they happily moved us to a room with a queen sized bed. The restaurant was mediocre at best, but as our dinner and breakfast came with the package deal we weren't too bothered. Parking was $10, but it didn't get you a reserved park - when we went out in the evening and came back, there was no space available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena91nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, this is always appreciated. Our king beds are zipper kings which enable us to have a twin configuration if required and I'm sorry this wasn't the most comfortable option for you however I'm pleased to hear the staff were able to find a solution for you and offer you a room with a queen bed. Our carparking is limited as you would have seen and this is why there is a charge of only $10 which is the cheapest in central Auckland. We do make every effort to get as many cars comfortably parked as possible and I'm sorry to hear that on your return there were no spaces available, I hope the staff were able to assist you in finding a parking space close by the hotel.
Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to having you back to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a very relaxing and awesome overnight stay at Copthorne. We purchased the winter warmer deal and it was worth the money you paid for. Receptionist was very accomodating, i arrived 1330 and even the Check in time was still 1400 she allowed me to check in asap without hesitations. Lovely room perfect for couple like us. The only thing is that we dont have a bath tub but everythings perfect i love the balcony and the view was stunning..refurbishment of the room was fabulous..very calming ambiance..dinner and breakfast was perfect!! I enjoyed the buffet brekkie the most! Highly recommended and thank you

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, I'm really pleased to hear you had a great stay with us recently, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September to attend the Home Show.We've stayed here before -- and it's still a great place today. There's now a charge for parking - $10 per day - a cost we were happt to pay, as secure parking is limited. We enjoyed the generous buffet breakfast - which was included in our Moments to Treasure deal. We also enjoyed an evening meal deal in the Restaurant- Winter Warmer . I had the Venison Pie - which was truly delicious , and my hubby enjoyed the Pork belly. So YES - would certainly recommend the Copthorne.

Room Tip: IF you're a Railway enthusiast - ask for a room with a view to the Railway lines. My hubby IS an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback, I'm really pleased to hear you had a great stay! Agree that for railway enthusiasts the harbour view rooms are the best! Great to hear you enjoyed the meals in the restaurant too, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Handy access from Anzac Avenue. Ground floor lounge bar and restaurant convenient for short stopover. Breakfast offer of cooked or continental satisfactory. Dinner in Zoe's Restaurant a sad mix - very good menu and food but service quite poor and hard to understand - staff need a lot of training on how to cope with small numbers and a lot more if it was a busy night !
Rooms average size but very well appointed. Excellent shower. And the bedeside alarm clock worked.

Room Tip: From what I could gather from others in our party, all rooms must be very good - can recommend 4th l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay however I am disappointed to read your comments about the service in the restaurant. We do appreciate your honest feedback and this has been passed onto the relevant head of department. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this hotel as a Secret Sale and was pleasantly surprised with the A-plus customer service we received. Easily the best we have ever experienced in New Zealand. As for the room and bathroom: clean. Decor a bit outdated and I believe there are some refurbished rooms so it might pay to ask. The carpet in the corridor is really in need of total replacing as it is stained beyond repair. Not a good look at all. If I had to pay full price for this hotel I would expect much more.
We had dinner at the restaurant and cannot fault the food or service. Once again it must be the best service we have ever experienced. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast the next morning.
The hotel is situated a bit of a walk from the inner city. For older or unfit guests the walk back to the hotel could pose a problem. We made use of taxis twice at the cost of $8.00 and $10.00.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Judith
Thank you for your glowing review about our customer service. It is very refreshing to hear that our staff have given A plus customer intimacy. You are correct we have completed 3 floors and have 3 remaining. We look forward to welcoming you back and please get in touch should you need accommodation in the city again.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice Clean rooms, Restaurant had delicious foods. The only problem we had was the bed was right across from the main door and all the light came through at night and was hard to sleep with the light shining through. Other then that i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alorisella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alorisella

Our winter menu has been very popular and I am delighted you enjoyed the offerings available. I am disappointed to hear about the issues you had and we are sourcing options to fix this. If you are returning please ensure to get in touch so we can offer you a complimentary upgrade and ensure you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us in the city of sails.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing