We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Taste of New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Hertford
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First Taste of New Zealand”
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Picked up from Airport with Tour Agent with Mercedes. Ace. And was able to get into room before midday, which was nice. Clean and spacious and staff were very helpful,
Breakfast was not worth it. Get up and go and find somewhere else for breakfast.
For Vegetarians recommend Raw Power Cafe (excellent and details are on the net)
The hotel is 15 minute walk from town centre and 20 minutes to harbour.
For a crazy 90 minute excursion try the town tour bus.
Sky tower is great.

  • Liked — Proximity to town centre and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Btreakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    165
    220
    103
    41
See reviews for
88
242
50
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We stayed in Auckland for a 2 night post-cruise visit to explore the city. Our ship docked early and we were able to check in and get our room before noon. That was very nice. It is clean and the room was large with a fridge and coffee maker. The A/C in the lobby was not working and it was very uncomfortable there and in the restaurant which shares the space. Hopefully that is just temporary. The continental breakfast was $15.00 which we thought was expensive considering we get it free in the USA at most hotels. We were allowed a later check-out which was convenient for us also. The staff was EXCELLENT!. We were very happy with the hotel and location. While it is a 15 minute walk to the CBD, we managed easily and we are in our mid-60's. There is a bus stop across the street if you don't want to walk. Rear rooms have a bit of a harbor view. Quiet location.

  • Liked — It was clean and a good location.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mmetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I often stay at the Copthorne Anzac Ave for business and have always found the front reception and restaurant staff friendly and helpful. Last time I stayed, there was a problem with the phone and TV, both fixed immediately and with a smile from a very helpful front desk staff member, who practically flew to the room to assist.

Won't stay anywhere else in Auckland - good value for money (watch out for special offers) and has 'safe feeling' within hotel. Being a large city though, you need to take the usual safety precautions when out and about.

Free Parking is behind (and under) the hotel and generally available - a rarity in Auckland! Limited number of spaces but I've never had a problem, (and no access problems, if you have a larger vehicle - just drive in)
although later in the day - sometimes parking spaces can fill up quickly.


The "beach road" side of the hotel seems to be the quieter side, only stayed on the anzac ave side once and could hear the traffic speeding up the road, but if you are used to traffic noise this probably won't be a biggie (home has no traffic noise) Also some of the rooms on the beach road side have views - one evening watched a large ship come into the harbour.

  • Liked — friendly, helpful service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bigglesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

The Copthorne Hotel Anzac is located right downtown a short 10 minutes walk to the Auckland Ferry Terminal. Its a downhill walk to the centre, and then uphill back but it isnt as steep as some think. You can always take a bus from the Brittomart to get back to the hotel.
The hotel is a regular business hotel - had two double beds and it was clean. View of Anzac Avenue and has free parking which can get full but the Manager obliged when I came back and vacated his spot so that we could park. The breakfast buffet is good value for money and all in all a good location for sightseeing. Would recommend the Tamaki Drive out to Achilles Point great views of the city and Mount Eden - Volcanic crater was a short drive from the hotel. Driving around Auckland is easy and a breeze. A quaint town and Ponsonby, Viaduct and Parnel are all in relatively short distance from each other.
I would definitely recommend the Copthorne Anzac Avenue over the Copthorne Harbour View as the Anzac location has been recently refurbished.

Peter, Toronto, Canada

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
15 Thank Panache4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

I stayed here for a week as part of a conference held at the University of Auckland. At only half a block away, it was a great location for the university. But it's at the top of a steep hill from anywhere else in town, and the red light district is only a few blocks in the other direction (if that sort of thing bothers you). The hotel itself was very nice; large room, nice facilities, more than clean, attentive front desk staff. But the Internet access was quite expensive (over fifty cents a minute), as was breakfast in the downstairs restaurant ($15 for cold buffet). I would stay here again as a conference goer, but just as a tourist, I think I would try to find a cheaper, more accessible place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank JCidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#23 of 67 in Auckland
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing