We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #51 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice location”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Copthorne is very well located, in the waterfront. The rooms are comfortable and the view is great. Nice staff and good service. Taxis are available.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Dyson D

Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you back soon.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    159
    207
    101
    41
See reviews for
86
232
49
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel was well situated with a quick cab ride into the heart of the CBD without being in town and suffering from all the noise. The room was well appointed, cleaned thoroughly each day and the bathroom was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukaszZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Lukaszz
We hope to see you back soon and please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your return stay more enjoyable.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just stayed over the weekend and left overall happy. The staff were excellent and friendly. The room itself really needs to be upgraded. The furniture looks like it has been there for 100 years and needs to be replaced. The room was quiet though. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear JVR_27
I am delighted to hear you found the staff helpful and friendly nad enjoyed the breakfast on offer. We are in process of completing our refurbishment to remaining 3 floors and have already completed levels 4,5,6. We hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Second stay at this hotel whilst in Auckland for a concert and mini break. Firstly its in a great location for the Vector Arena, whilst also being tucked away from the main hustle and bustle. It is next to a reasonably busy road but the soundproofing is pretty good overall.

Slight issue when we first arrived with the Air conditioning not working and the room was quite hot. However when we came back later on that night it had been fixed so credit where its due there.

The hotel does its job and provided us with a place to rest and a great base to explore. It probably needs a bit of an upgrade in places as it looks a little tired but its pretty good value for central Auckland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachwelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Rachwelshy
We truly appreciate your return business and agree we are conveniently located for concerts at vector arena. We have installed Hush glass throughout the hotel as well as private balconies so guests have a good nights sleep as well as an opportunity to get some fresh air and take in the views. I am happy to hear your airconditioning was fixed and apologise that this was not as it should have been on arrival. We completed a refurbishment to levels 4,5,6 in July 2011 and are doing the remainder floors this year. We hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Although we had stayed several times before we were disappointed that the room was smaller. I complained and we were put into a bigger room (similar to what we had always had before) without fuss. The staff were always courteous and helpful in all aspects. The breakfast seemed disorganised especially with groups in, when staff seemed unprepared and overawed. Food was scarce and supplies not topped up as they were required, this was milk, juice, butter, and food items on the buffet. This would have been the most disappointing thing to us. The evening meal was always superb and of a good quality. I would recommend the dining experience. The parking fee was a new thing that was unexpected but still worth the $10 to park, but one should be guaranteed a spot if paying it rather than 1st in best serviced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazncsnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Kazncsnaz
I am happy to hear your complaint was dealt with efficiently and thanks for taking the time to inform us, which ensured we had an opportunity to react. We have used your feedback about the restaurant breakfast as an opportunity to relook and set benchmarks within our F&B department, ensuring we roster effectivel and standards are maintained at all costs. I am delighted to hear the dinner menu which is a new winter menu with home comfort options suited your taste. We have seen an improvement in retentions and menu is proving to be a huge success.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is our fourth stay and previous stays have been great. Disappointed this time with room a bit shabby. A rip in the bed base with stuffing coming out which was obvious when you walk into the room. Bed has the old wool blankets and tired bedspread. The reception said all floors above the third floor have been renovated so we should have chosen one of those? How on earth would you know that when booking. On arrival they informed us Parking is no longer free and would cost $10 per day. This was not advertised or advised when booking.

Room Tip: Book a room above the third floor as they have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ipodrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Ipodrova
Thanks you for your comments. I am disappointed to hear about the issues you highlighted in the room and stay and apologise that we did not meet your needs and expectations. We have taken these on board and actioned appropriately. We do strive to ensure everone leaves the hotel recommending us, I apologise that we did not get it right for you on this occasion. I apologise that the way we handled the information about the refurbishment was relayed in a way that left you feeling disappointed. We completed levels 4, 5 and 6 in July 2011 and are completing the remaining rooms this year. We do charge $10.00 for parking and this is advertised on 3rd party sites and our website.
If you are prepared to give us another chance please feel free to contact me direct and I will ensure your stay is a memorable one as well as guarantee a newly refurbished room overlooking the harbour, which as you know as all rooms comes with a private balcony.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Arrived after a long day of travelling and were greeted with smiling faces and a nice cold cider in the hotel bar. Room was pretty basic but had an awesome view of the water front. Staff were excellent. Can't say anything bad about this place, was a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Hi Kristie

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement, I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel, found the staff friendly and views good.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing