We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, modern, nice with 2 BR suites”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, modern, nice with 2 BR suites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We picked this hotel as we stayed with relatives in Auckland and wanted a 2 BR adjoining room. It has a good location, near Sky Tower. The rooms were great and comfortable including kitchen with appliances and laundry washer/dryer. Great base for Auckland. Only thing I didn't like was check out time was so early 10 am, the late checkout was 11 am. If you are driving, the hotel main entrance is on a side street and you can miss it driving down Queen Street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we do appreciate it and agree our 2-bedroom suites are perfect! Regarding our check out time - when business demands allow we do extend our check out time to 12 noon complimentary however this is subject to room availability at the time. We look forward to hosting you again in the future, kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    488
    94
    40
    12
See reviews for
214
461
73
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Location is what it is all about, and the Citylife Hotel has got it. Add helpful staff and clean and comfortable accommodations (a great shower, always appreciate that). One caveat, it is probably true that the higher your room, the better. We were on the 13th floor - they don't do that in the USA - but it wasn't unlucky for us.

Room Tip: didn't use spa, so no rating. see comment about higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and feedback - we do appreciate it - we look forward to hosting you again soon, kind rgeards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

City Life provides a dependable and comfortable haven with a fanatastic location. Staff are always friendly and courteous, valet parking is reliable and good value and the beds are super-comfortable. My favourite hotel in Auckland. Most visit for me are business but last weekend was a romantic weekend away with my wife. Excellent for all occasions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for your wonderful review and it has definitely been a pleasure hosting you. Your comments regarding the staff, beds and service in general were most pleasing and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon to CityLife Auckland.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel right after a 5* luxurious ultra modern hotel in Aus. This is not ultra modern aesthetically but it was so much better!!

The lounge/kitchen are a great size which our 4yr old and 1yr old needed to have a run around! The washing machine, dish washer and dryer were needed home from home necessities with children. The beds are so comfy! The bathrooms not ultra modern but adequate for your needs.

We rang house keeping to get a high chair for in the room, it was there in minutes! A cot was ready waiting in the room on arrival.

It is a really good place to stay. Walking distance for harbour and shops. A mini supermarket next door for all bits needed for your room.

My only "dislike" was walking up the "alley" at night. It would of been better to go in from the Main Street but they had escalators there and we have a pram so couldn't access that really, shame there wasn't a lift.

Would stay here every time if we return to Auckland, really enjoyed it.


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Karen G,

Thank you for your fantastic review and choosing CityLIfe Auckland as your accommodation provider. It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was especially good to hear that your children enjoyed the freedom. Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Booked in for an overnight apartment, room wasn't ready on arrival. When we got to the room on the top floor the beds hadn't been separated as per our request, we asked for this to be done again while we were out and wasn't so separated them ourselves later. No milk was provided and toilet paper was 1ply, at least the beds were comfortable and the view from the balcony was lovely. Staff were very helpful with taxis.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Tanisha H,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at CityLife Auckland, unfortunately we do not have your details to investigate what happened on this occassion as its not a true reflection on the high level of service we provide. Please be assured that we only provide 2 ply toilet rolls at our hotel for the comfort of our guests. Thank you for your comments on our staff and beds, this was very pleasing to hear.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I love staying at the City Life in Auckland, it is always clean and tidy. It is really handy to downtown shopping, the Ferrys to Waiheke Island, Devonport and also the North Shore. It is a short walk to the Harbour Area where there are lots of great restaurants. If you are going to Vecta Arena it is a short pleasant walk. It is also a short walk to Britomart train station.

Room Tip: Rooms are all of a good size it really depends on how many people you are travelling with
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Ginga2,

Thank you for your recent review and choosing CityLife Auckland as your place of rest and relaxation. Our location is definitely one of our best highlights and I am pleased you utilised it. We hope you visit us again on your next trip to Auckland.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Four of us stayed here for a business trip. We booked 2 x 2 bedroom apartments and were upgraded to the top floor to 2 x 3 bedroom apartments. The apartments were top quality, the beds were amazing to sleep in. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us. Would definitely stay here again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy19612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Wendy19612013,

Thank you for your wonderful review and sharing your experience with our readers. I am pleased you enjoyed the upgrade and yes our beds and staff are amazing! Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing