We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location perfect”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Visited weekend after Xmas for 2 nights with husband and miss almost 4. Room was well appointed and staff great we had buffet breakfast included in package and it was fantastic. Only negative was the bed for our daughter was a fold out couch in lounge area and it didn't fold out very well so was a bit lumpy.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank circe391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Circe391

Thank you for your recent review and it is great to hear from a Senior Contributor such as yourself. It sounds like our service and facilities were in line with your expectations and it was great to read of your positive experience with our staff. With regards to the sofa bed, we do apologise for this experience and we hope to rectify this issue with a new innovative mattress which we are trialling at the moment.

Thank you again for sharing your Heritage Experience with us and we hope to host you again in the near future. We wish you all the best for the New Year.

Kind Regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Good location, great onsite restaurant too. Very small gym and not all the equipment was in working order. Not great views but good size rooms for 2 bedroom apartments including two bathrooms and all the facilities required. Comfortable beds and very clean. Not so quiet on a Saturday night due to location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billi_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Billi_BNE

Thank you for sharing your recent Heritage Experience and we are delighted to hear that it was a positive one. Hope your return journey to Australia was a safe one and we hope to host you again in the future. Thank you again for your review and we wish you all the best for the New Year.

Kind Regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My self and my 12year grandaughter went to Auckland for a break the City Life was a great location in the center of town very clean the staff were extremely help full We stayed there last year and wouldnt hesitate to do so again.VERY GOOD THANKYOU

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Lynda H

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay here at CityLife Auckland. It was with great pride to hear that you and your grand-daughter had a wonderful time with us and we most certainly hope to host you again in the near future. Hope you have a safe trip back home to Christchurch and all the best for the new year.

Kind Regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Right in the centre of Auckland within a 10 minute walk to the Quay/restaurants. Rooms clean and comfortable. Concierge knowledgeable and friendly. Parking is expensive at hotel ($35). Wi-Fi only free in lobby, chargeable in room which is somewhat archaeic. They also charge 1.5% on credit cards.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Permatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your Heritage Experience. We certainly believe in our product and we are most happy with the experience you had. With regards to the area's you pointed out, we will definitely have a look at the options we have for making improvements on this. We are looking forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights..on the way back to Auckland airport. Very good location but not so good view from our hotel room (it is okay since we stayed only 2 nights). Room is interconnect with superior twin. Large sitting and dining area with all the kitchen facilities including dryer and washer which would be great if you stay longer. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room facing Queen Street is great...- room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacardi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your review and we very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We are most happy to hear that you will return to us in the future and we are certainly looking forward to it. Wishing you all the best for the New Year.

Kind Regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Thank you City Life hotel for a very comfortable and pleasant stay. This is our second time staying. The staff were top class and so helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. It is so convenient for the shops and public transport. We took the ferry to Waiheke Island on a beautiful summer day. The next time we go to Auckland we will be staying at City Life Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villaheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words they are appreciated very much. It is our mission to ensure every guest has an enriching experience. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future; Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at the City Life on Thursday 5th and Friday 6th December. We stayed in room 1707 on the 17th Floor. The hotel was welcoming and provided all of the facilities expected for an inner city Hotel.
We used the Valet parking option for the car which was reasonably priced and efficiently arranged. The entrance to the road off which the Hotel parking is located is quite hard to find but all good once you do.
The room itself was clean and modern. Bed was comfortable and there is a 'pillow menu' if required. Our room was quiet in terms of outside noise but we could hear the "nocturnal activities" from the adjacent room!
The staff in this hotel deserve a particular mention. Every interaction with the staff over the 3 days was a great experience. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy and nothing was a problem. It is a testament to the Management of this Hotel that they have created an excellent culture among the staff.
Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to couples or business people visiting Auckland City who want to be well located in easy walking distance from the action in the city and waterfront.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be less noisy?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justine555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and recommendations for our hotel and staff – we certainly appreciate it. It is our mission to ensure every guest has an enriching experience. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future; Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $131 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing