We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Stay”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I would recommend this Hotel tyo fellow travellers as it is centrally located, the rooms are excellent
the dining room meals are very good though service a little slow.
Check in for a group could have been a little better but overall I recommend this property.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and choice will depend on individuals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BegoniaNewZealamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and your recommendation of our property. We take great pride in the facilities and service we provide and I will make certain to investigate why the service in the restaurant and reception were not to our usual high standards. Please feel to contact me at the hotel if you wish to discuss details on the service encountered. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Recent weekend away to Auckland with another couple, the 2 Bedroom/2 bathroom Executive Suite was fantastic. We each had our own space then the lounge to hang out in. One of the most comfy hotel beds I have slept in!!! I am a light sleeper and was a little concerned about other comments to do with noise. You have to expect a bit of noise from any downtown hotel in Auckland but found this quieter than others i have stayed at (were on the 8th floor). And to top it off really nice friendly staff. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are most certainly happy that you enjoyed your weekend away with us. We take great pride in our new beds and staff and your comments have further reinforced our faith in our facilities and service. Thank you again for sharing T.H.E Heritage Experience you received and we will look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The CityLife is a beautiful hotel with very clean and spacious apartments. We had a two bed room apartment that was a good size for three adults. It is located really close to the Harbourfront which was a nice walk. I would recommend the fish market, great fresh seafood there! The only down side to this hotel is the amount of noise at night from outside, there was music and people shouting into 2am every night, middle of the week not just no weekends. So if you're a light sleeper, this may not be the hotel for you. We were on a higher floor as well. Also confusion between concierges, one said he could book us Wicked tickets then when we went back to book there was another concierge there who said he couldn't. We walked down to the theatre and booked which turned out to be better since we could see the seat chart and ask questions at the box office but still dissatisfied with the concierge confusion. Cody at the front desk was very helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picky_travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this helpful feedback which is an essential tool in monitoring our hotel standards. It came as a surprise to hear of the confusion faced with our concierge team and I would like apologise for the experience you received. It is our mission to ensure every guest has an enriching experience and on this occasion we failed to deliver. With regards to the noise, being an inner city hotel does present its difficulties but we are currently investigating options for double glazing which will significantly reduce the amount of external noise experienced.Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again and exceeding your expectations. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here on a work trip and enjoyed the stay. It was in a great location and since I didn't have a car I had to walk everywhere. Tons of places to shop and a bunch of local bars and restaurants. I recommend asking for one of the highest floors so you can get the best view of the city.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank JayRud911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we most certainly enjoyed hearing of your positive experience here with us. Our location is definitely one of our many highlights and I am glad you took full advantage of it. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is the best inner City hotel. The staff are lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean and the location is convenient right in the heart of it all. My husband and I tried the lamb and beef on the early bird menu and it was cooked to perfection. Our meal also included a wine/beer and also a starter. Great value for $28 perfect before going to see "WICKED"

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding the hotel staff and the Zest Restaurant Pre-Show dinner - I have shared these with the team. We are delighted that you enjoyed T.H.E. Heritage Experience and that we achieved your expectations. It is our mission to ensure every guest has an enriching experience.Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback which is an essential tool in monitoring our hotel standards and comfort levels. We enjoyed hosting you and would like to welcome you back to the CityLife Auckland again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was the best inner city stay I have had in AKL in years, middle of Queen St great for shopping, the hotel was buzzy, the staff were so accommodating and the rooms were comfortable, the bed was heavenly, robes were provided, we had a wonderful view of the sky tower - despite being told by the reservation team we would have to pay an additional $45 to confirm a room on a high floor with a view!! however it was noted in the computer and achieved by the hotel staff with no additional charge. Parking is typical inner city $35 per night however the car was taken in and out several times a day with a friendly smile and even a fresh bottle of water for our trip home!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takamitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding our facilities and staff - I have shared them with the team - we are delighted that your thoroughly enjoyed T.H.E Heritage Experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have stayed at CityLife many times and it is one of our favourite hotels to stay at when in Auckland as it is so central.

This time we booked a weekend special with CityLife for the long weekend which included a one bedroom unit, valet parking, breakfast, late check out & free WiFi for $189 a night.

The room was clean & tidy and the bed very comfortable. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The included breakfast was ok but had limited options. The full breakfast menu had additional options for an extra cost.

Overall, very happy with our stay and we'll be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank NZ_Mazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback - we are delighted that you enjoyed T.H.E Heritage Experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $117 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing