We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, smoky "non smoking " room, difficult check out.”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Noisy, smoky "non smoking " room, difficult check out.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed at Citylife with family on more than one occasion but will not stay again. There are good points; the apartments are central to Auckland restaurants and nightspots. Therein lays one of the problems. Soundproofing is poor so the rooms (staying on the 8th floor) are noisy, the sound of revellers not abating till around 3 am.

Generally they are clean, but one of the non smoking rooms reserved for my children reeked of cigarette smoke.

I booked because of a package offered for free breakfasts. This was confirmed upon booking and by 'phone the day before arrival. Unfortunately , reception staff then insisted that we pay for all breakfasts saying that the deal was only for children. This had not been conveyed to us at any time.. It left a taste worse than the sub par breakfasts themselves.

Room Tip: For sleep quality, a property with better soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 284Blatter284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your family with the issues you encountered on your recent stay including the noise from the surrounding bars and clubs, I agree this is very frustrating. We are working with the council to try to make some headway with these bars and clubs - this is a long and arduous process and will not be resolved overnight. We have started the process of installing retro-fitted double glazing to our bedroom windows - we aim to have the entire hotel completed by the end of winter and we are confident this will drastically reduce the amount of noise and ensure a more restful nights sleep for our guests. We are a non smoking hotel, however some guests do chose to ignore this and we do insist on a extra cleaning fee for those guests who ignore our requests. Once again we appreciate your comments, we certainly strive to achieve excellence in every aspect of our business and it is really only with feedback from guests such as you that we can improve and maintain the high standards in which we pride ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    502
    99
    40
    13
See reviews for
218
472
75
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at this Hotel The service and food were 1st Class.

Tip: When booking look at the hotel website for specials including breakfast. In our case it was cheaper than using the internet hotel room booking websites

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback and comments - we certainly appreciate it! It is wonderful to give ourselves a pat on the back for making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland again in the near future - keep an eye on our website for some extra special deals coming up throughout winter. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The location of this Hotel is fantastic.Perfect if you are wanting to be near everything when in Auckland. Very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are nice and very spacious. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous feedback and comments - it is appreciated! We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff who deliver exceptional service day in, day out - so it is great to give ourselves a big pat on the back for making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future - keep an eye out on our website for some fantastic Winter deals. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirongia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

When in Auckland we stay here with grandparents and kids - staff are always more than accommodating are very polite and friendly. They also have a great knowledge of sites to see, eating out places and local transport. The pool is great for the kids - love the free parking. Rooms are spacious (for a hotel), clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are staying for longer than one night I suggest not using the couch bed in the lounge for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments - it is appreciated! We agree that our rooms are the perfect set up for families, with 1, 2 and 3 bedroom options. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future - keep an eye out on our website for some fantastic Winter deals. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A nice place for a business stay in a very convenient location. The counter staff and concierge were all very helpful and friendly. Rooms clean, bed comfortable. Restaurant good. Some items left behind were returned efficiently thank you! Will come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankD883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments - it is appreciated! We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff who deliver exceptional service each and every day - so it is great to give ourselves a big pat on the back for making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here with my friend(female) for one night over the weekend, we stayed on the 7th floor, in a 1 bedroom suite, we got the five freebies package which meant we recieved Free Parking, Free 2x drinks from the bar - only house wine or beer(please note this wasnt actually in the package description), Room Upgrade, 500MB Wifi and also late checkout of 12pm, I emailed in advance and got told if i had a credit card on arrival i wouldnt be charged a bond, On arrival i was told on weekends they do take a bond..., We recieved 100MB of wifi that only lasted for a period of an hour(we never got told this unfortunately) Hallway did smell of smoke as said in other reviews but the room didnt smell at all which was awesome, The rooms spacious and clean, Please note the balonies are not accessable, you can not actually go outside and sit on them :) We used the gym and pool both days which was awesome :) Loved the facilities, Its conveniently located, and has an entrance that goes straight onto queen street, The bar was also a lovely place to hangout and meet a few friends, also the staff were friendly :) Valet services were excellent, Also ordered late night wedges for 10.50 which were delicious :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank You - we appreciate your comments, we certainly strive to achieve excellence in every aspect of our business and it is really only with feedback from guests such as you that we can improve and maintain the high standards in which we pride ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a high quality hotel in a great location. Right on the main street of downtown Auckland, but set back from the street and well insulated for noise, so it's nice and quiet. The lobby is located at the back of the property too, so you don't get that busy public thoroughfare feeling that some hotels have. The rooms are decent sized, modern, well-apppointed and very clean. Beds are super comfortable. The times I've stayed I've had rooms with opening windows, it's nice to be able to get fresh air. Our deal included an excellent buffet breakfast and valet parking, the valet guys were prompt with our car. There's a supermarket very nearby, and a convenience store and Japanese restaurant right outside. We stayed for leisure this time, but I've previously stayed for business and would highly recommmend this hotel for both.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porkpiegaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing