We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had absolutely no problems with this hotel. The location was fantastic, just a short walk to the harbour, Albert Park, Sky City and right amongst the shops of Queen street. I stayed in a deluxe suite, and the large room was well worth a bit of extra money. The flat screen TVs in both the lounge and bedroom were a bonus, as was being able to open the balcony door (even though it's not a balcony you can step out onto).

I had no problems with any noise at all, and had a great view from the 15th floor over looking Albert Park. The bed was super comfy, and the amenities were fantastic. The 60 minute free internet voucher was fantastic, and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. I would stay here again on my next trip to Auckland.

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade to a deluxe or one bedroom suite, and ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTouchstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    488
    93
    40
    12
See reviews for
214
461
73
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night at the Citylife. The room was great and was in a great location. We were on the 11th floor; i am a very heavy sleeper and can sleep through anything but i have to say the noise coming from the nightclub on the next street was crazy. i understand when you stay in the city you are going to get noise and i am happy with this. This was out of the ordinary. Even with the TV up full you could still hear the music. It wasnt just the base; you could hear every word of the songs and even the woops of the people - it sounded like we were actually in the club. It finally stopped just before 4am. I was told on check out that it was to be expected staying in the city but i encourage the staff and GM to spend a night in one of the rooms and see just how bad it is. As i mentioned i 'could' sleep through anything - now i have to change my statement!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved this place, we stayed for 3 nights, it is brilliantly well placed, the staff are superbly helpful and our room was excellently equipped- dish washer, washing machine and dryer. My only moan would be that they charge a credit card surcharge. I can't think of any other hotel I have ever been charged this before. Sure for some purchases but not a hotel. They require a card for the booking so it feels a little dishonest in not making this charge clear.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Overall exceeded my expectations in terms of overall service, location and room but thought it was a little tired and in need of some TLC. Great value if you purchase through wotif or similar last minute room deals.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pros: Great location (on Queen Street, walkable to anywhere), new and modern decor (hallways and hotel room interior have all been updated since I last stayed there), very clean, friendly & professional staff (the car valet guy refused to accept his tip!), room was spacious by city standards, came with kitchenette and in-room washing machine and dryer, has gym facilities.

Cons: No view from the room because it's next to other high-rise buildings (even on the 16th floor), no street parking.

Overall, this hotel is really wonderful and I would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Paid a very reasonable price for a room, and we were very surprised. Great location, excellent room and fantastic service. Walking distance to everything. The bar also served some complimentary snacks which were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetourist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights Feb 2013. Booked through WOTIF, got a really good deal on Deluxe Suite (full kitchen and seperate bedroom) including full brekky and parking. (Parking can be expensive if not included in a deal). Excellent location, 10 mins stroll to Viaduct. Friendly helpful staff, quiet rooms, opening windows. Rooms a bit tired, but no complaints. Only negative (which we knew about beforehand), was the shower over the bath. We prefer a seperate shower. Easy to get to (I dont enjoy driving in big citys, and this was just off the motorway), valet parking was a drawcard for us also. Oh, and Bed was extremely comfy..and best brekky

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing