We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not get a better place to stay”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Simply outstanding hotel and represents real value foir money. We stayed in an executive one bedroom apartment which was spacious, modern, clean and much better than a one room hotel room. We have stayed at "better" rated hotels which did not match up to this place. It had a real 5 star feel about it. It is also in a tremendous location, right in the heart of Auckland and only a short stroll to the harbour, shops etc. Apart from all that, the service was sensational, with nothing too much trouble at all. The concierge deserves to be paid more as he went the extra mile for us on a couple of occasions including ringing around different rental car companys (of his own accord) to get us the best deal. Can not recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: If you can, pay the little bit extra for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzyLeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed at CityLife on New Years eve just passed. We were very impressed with the room, it was a one bedroom executive suite with an ensuite, kitchen facilities and lounge area.

The bedroom was decent size for a hotel and had its own separate wall mounted tv.

The ensuite was lovely and clean with a modern shower.

Kitchen we didn't use as we were only there for 2 nights but we had a look and it provided everything necesarry to cook.

Lounge was great with a nice sofa bed, sliding door with a view, nowhere to stand on "balcony" but it is nice to be able to open the door.

That is it for the room, the restaurant was yummy. Staff were good but there are a couple of things you have to keep in mind. We had some friends in the room for a couple of hours as it was new years eve, and when we went out and came back at 11 up to the room for the celebrations, we were denied any friends from returning to rooms past 10. Not even exeption for new years which is all about 12am. So please check rules on guests as nobody mentioned it as we went up.

There is a lovely pool and gym but no signage as to when it opens/closes. So when we went for a swim at 10pm it was all closed and no signs. So be sure to check things when you arrive to avoid disappoitment.

All together this is a fabulous hotel and I will definitely return next time I stay in town!

Room Tip: Would definitely stay up high to avoid traffic/town noise. We stayed in a room on the queen street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Room was great more like an apartment. Lounge, dining room , big kitchen, bathroom and separate bedroom. Staff are really good to deal with. We recently stayed with claridges in London but the surprising thing is that the service at citylife was so much better .....crazy. Anyway city life well done , love your work. Breakfast very good. Room number 1709. Bed was very nice slept all night. Check in and out was fabulous . We will be back

Room Tip: 1709, best room I have had in Auckland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andmarWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I always enjoy my stay here in Auckland - its a great Location right in the heart of the CBD. These apartment style rooms have good facilities, nice amenties and are close to great shopping, restaurants, supermarkets and a quick walk to the harbour. Staff are friendly and the pool, gym and room service always good here too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent one night here during an Auckland weekend trip. We had a deluxe room and it was large and clean. The bed and pillows were really comfy and I was glad for our late checkout! The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful. Our only issue was wondering how on earth we park as we drove past the hotel on Queen St. Turns out the parking is on Durham St. The location is right in the heart of Auckland CBD and the rooms are back from the road so we had a very peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleRiblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at the Citylife in July for a business trip.

I was on the 16th Floor and had a room with a view out across the street. I checked in late so didn't really spend much time. The bathroom with clean, there were Tea & Coffee making facilities etc. Bed was comfy (nice & firm). Room was slightly small, but plenty big enough for a few days stay for a couple.

There was a gym & swimming pool downstairs. The gym had the usual equipment you'd expect.

Didn't eat breakfast, so can't comment there. The reception team were polite.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJButler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe suite for two nights.
The suite is nice and big, staff are really friendly - tip top on service. However some of the smaller things made the experience just average and not outstanding for starters the bed made a squeaky sound every time I moved at night, the bed is also a bit small only being a double, I was told by a very cheerful housekeeping lady that they're just in the process of exchanging all the beds in the hotel.

The other downside was the state of the suite, there were burn marks on the kitchen bench and we got two TV's a nice flatscreen tv in the lounge, but only a small tube tv in the bedroom. Also i failed to find the Ipod docking station they advertise on the website.

All in all not too bad, I've stayed here before and I must say I found the first suite (same room type) a lot nicer.

I will probably stay here again as its literally right on Queen Street and close to everything, I was facing Queen Street from my room (not the most magical of sights) and was afraid of the noise, but pleasantly surprised when there wasn't any noise.

All in all I would give the hotel 3-4 Stars, facilities and staff are tip top, room should be updated a little and it would be perfect like the first time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $125 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing