We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time lucky - an excellent stay”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second time lucky - an excellent stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at the CityLife Auckland back in 2007 and my review was less than favourable. However, a senior staff member that responded to my original complaints asked me to contact her directly should we return to Auckland, I did this and we had a great experience.

Booking:
We booked direct with the hotel and communication was excellent. The booking process was easy.

Arrival:
We arrived in Auckland straight from the airport. It had been a long day having travelled from Hong Kong, so it was great that the check in process was smooth and efficient. Are details were to hand. We were given a special rate and upgraded to an Executive Suite on an upper floor. My parents were travelling with us, and they were also allocated the same grade of room, which I thought was a nice touch. We went up to the rooms and the bags were brought up shortly after.

The rooms/facilities:
The executive suite is great. It has a large room containing lounge/diner and kitchen, a bathroom and a bedroom. The accommodation is very comfortable and from the upper floors has a great view over Auckland and the harbour. There were nice toiletries in the bathroom, tea/coffee facilities and TVs in each room. There is wireless internet in the reception.

The location:
The location on Queen Street is perfect as a base for exploring Auckland. A short walk down to the harbour, easy access to buses and lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

Check-out:
We left the hotel - sadly after only one night. We did not need to store bags as we left in the morning.

Anything else?

Our original booking was for April 2010, but an eruption of an Icelandic volcano meant that our trip was cancelled and rebooked for September. Despite being under no obligation to do so, the hotel were happy to move our booking without charge.

Summary:
A very nice hotel in the perfect location for Auckland. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors less exposed to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    497
    97
    40
    13
See reviews for
218
468
75
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GOA,india
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Located in the heart of the city and on queen street , it's the ideal location to be in , except that we were paying about 35 $ as car parking charges per night, other than that the hotel was value for money, friendly staff and a breakfast spread that's seen in very few hotels in new Zealand . I stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was a great experience . Would definitely suggest this hotel to whoever wants to see Auckland city on foot

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeshcounto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We need to be in Queen Street for a Seminar each month. City Life has good valet parking, the check-in is always friendly and after only 2 visits we feel we are welcomed like a friend.
Clean tidy rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for king size bed - for $165 includes valet parking - good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bepaElivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel was gorgeous the rooms lovely. The staff amazingly friendly. I've never felt so welcome in a hotel before. Would highly recommend it to anyone. Great location in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: HIgher up rooms away from the noise of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

2 friends and I stayed at CityLife Auckland for a girls weekend. Two days before we arrived I emailed and asked if we could change our room from 1 queen to twin beds and this was dealt with really promptly and with ease. The check in staff were very friendly. Our room was well appointed and so centrally located. The only negative was they offer plunger coffee refills but no actual coffee plunger. Also the chopping board was missing and it would have been nice to have one nice platter for cheeses etc. Part of our room package was 2 free drinks and when we advised the staff that there were 3 of us in our party they were only too happy to give us all a free drinks. All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Have stayed here several times before.From the reception staff to the valets to the room staff am always impressed with the way Citylife look after their guests . Well done.

One note of warning Citylife are now charging you to use your credit card. Disappointing!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jocway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in good central location for walking to all the sights. Nice to get a full kitchen with all the utensils etc if you want to cook at night or breakfast. Even has washing machine & dryer which was great. Bathroom a bit on the small side, but did have a good shower. Front desk staff were all very helpful. Free wifi in reception but we had difficulty connecting to this on both days of our stay, but could connect to the wifi with the option to pay. Rooms quiet at night & very clean.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing