We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laundry facility poor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“Laundry facility poor!”
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We use this hotel on the recommendation of our travel agent.... Even though it is centrally located within walking distance of most attractions, I would NOT use this hotel ever again. When you send out laundry to be done you do not get all your items / clothing back and No one seems to care. We came within 30 minutes of missing our flight trying to get the hotel to locate our laundry. To NO prevail our laundry was gone!
This hotel needs employees and management who care about their customers and will go that extra step to see that most needs are met.
For the cost of this hotel, you would hope that their services in general would be better than the false advertisement of being a four star hotel, which it is not...
I can only advise that I would consider another hotel and let this be my very last choice, if I should ever get the opportunity to visit New Zealand again.
Quinn's In Greenwood,MS.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuinnfamilyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,726
    1,784
    495
    154
    72
See reviews for
715
1,708
268
981
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Overall, I would say this was a decent 4 star hotel. Comfortable as a city base for a couple of days exploring Auckland. The indoor atrium is really nice, makes for a nice atmosphere in the hotel. Check in was efficient and friendly. But as other reviewers have mentioned, do not expect an early check in here! Despite being the largest hotel in Auckland, our room was not ready when we arrived at 12:30pm off an international flight, and we were asked to come back at 3pm. They did store our luggage of course, which was a help. The young guy who delivered our bags to the room was really friendly, the best staff member we encountered in the hotel.

The indoor pool and Gym are really good. Clean and spacious. The garden deck just near the pool is also quite nice. Request a room on a high floor (we were on 8), the lower floors had zero privacy facing the garden deck on that side of the hotel.

The rooms are quite spacious. The bathroom was great, shower and separate bath. My bed was uncomfortable though, almost rolled off a few times due to a steep slope on it! And the room is a bit drab, dull brown decor a remnant of the mid 1990's. But it was clean.

During the day, I asked the head concierge/doorman what time the lobby bar closed, for a nightcap after dinner at Orbit. He said 10:30 or 11:00. I got to the bar about 9:30, the service was uninterested and unfriendly. At about 9:50, last drinks were called. There were still about 15 customers in the bar, so perhaps the unfriendly bar girl had a party to go to. It was a Thursday night. But I would recommend this hotel to friends, check out the net for best rates, we paid NZ$110 for our room. Great price.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brocko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We live in West Auckland, and often get a cheap room when we want to go out in town, rather than taxi-ing home. We stayed at the Rendezvous using a package deal (I think including breakfast, a drink, and self-parking?), which we thought was pretty good value. It's not flash, and I'd say definitely not five-star, if that's how it advertises, but the room was huge, and the bathroom enormous (I'm a bit over pokey hotel bathrooms). We did, however, book early and specifically requested an upper-level room because of earlier comments about noise. Unfortunately the pool was closed, but looked good. The bar where we had our complimentary drink wasn't really pleasant at all - the main bar had a function going on, but we drank there after dinner, and it was quite nice. Things could do with a bit of updating, especially the foyer-level bar, and the use for conference groups does mean things (like the bar toilets) get a bit trashed. However, overall it was pretty good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

No problems with this hotel. The room was large, clean, and quiet. The hotel was walking distance from Sky Tower and downtown.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdwatcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed for 2 days in this hotel. The staffs were ok (not as friendly as Mercure HOTEL), but the quality of the room, mattress, bathroom (everything was excellent). The buffet breakfast was quiet good. It's about 15minutes walk to the centre of the city. This is the best hotel during our stay in North Island.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

I found a very good price on internet and booked 1 double room for 3 nights. I was actually surprised to find such a price for a 4 stars hotel.....and guess what?? What they gave me definitely was not a 4 stars hotel room. It was very old, linen dusty, the television came directly from the 80's . the overall service was below avarage and the aisle to my room was under restauration....smelling of paint everywhere.
The room was quite big but the quality was the one of a basic 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We landed in Auckland and spent a night at this hotel before heading on our journey into the northland. The hotel had huge spacious rooms, and the package gave us free parking, free complimentary drinks upon our arrival and free full buffet breakfast. Check-in was quick and efficient. The only problem we had was that the parking entrance not clearly marked forcing you to circle the block one more time (amongst several one-way streets) in order to access the underground parking. When you are trying to get used to driving on the other side, one would rather eliminate any additional driving in the city if possible.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoCdnabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing